Have Brown And Knox Actually Got What It Takes

CLASSIC tactic to gang up on millertime

i wasnt complaining, as i highlighted

i merely said the guy doesnt half have some off games and he NEEDS a pacey partner

simple

Cool - then nobody is complaining about Vernon then.

• Replies 303

Same as Kris Boyd - these guys come along very rarely in Scottish Fitba, especially to a club like ours - our last was Billy Dodds (you could say Arild I suppose).

You can't explain it but its there in Scott Vernon. Everything else is unimportant.

I want us to sign Chris Porter - because he has it as well, that mysterious phenomenon.

Same as Kris Boyd - these guys come along very rarely in Scottish Fitba, especially to a club like ours - our last was Billy Dodds (you could say Arild I suppose).

You can't explain it but its there in Scott Vernon. Everything else is unimportant.

I want us to sign Chris Porter - because he has it as well, that mysterious phenomenon.

agree, boyd, vernon (and the likes) have an ability to be in the right place at the right time, its just natural.

Vernon needs a strike partner in the mould of kenny miller, it would add another 10 goals next season if we do

Can't believe that this thread has so many responses. The opening post shows lack of respect for the management team, and a lack of knowledge in matters of football.

Maybe the fact that it has had so many responses shows a degree of concern. I didn't raise it out of lack of respect but a question relating to the management team's powers of motivation after Saturday's "unacceptable" display.

We'll see what tonight brings, and whether the usual suspects show more commitment or not.

Maybe the fact that it has had so many responses shows a degree of concern. I didn't raise it out of lack of respect but a question relating to the management team's powers of motivation after Saturday's "unacceptable" display.

We'll see what tonight brings, and whether the usual suspects show more commitment or not.

I think we've got the answer to that now

What's the stats on Brown's game v's McGhee's this season?

You can say end of season - player's leaving.... but then, would the likes of Diamond, Aluko etc, have given a crap at the beginning of this one, as they both knew they weren't staying.

Brown certainly has a job on his hands... by christ he has.

What's the stats on Brown's game v's McGhee's this season?

You can say end of season - player's leaving.... but then, would the likes of Diamond, Aluko etc, have given a crap at the beginning of this one, as they both knew they weren't staying.

Brown certainly has a job on his hands... by christ he has.

League wise

McGhee

Won 3 drawn 1 lost 11

Hearts 5-0 in between

Brown

Won 7 drawn 4 Lost 10

Most of that team from tonight can GTF right now as far as i'm concerned, no mental toughness or drive at all. Only pass marks for me were Jack and Milsom (well i won't count the youngsters Robertson, Grimmer, Fyvie obviously) but the other regulars can f**k off.

Only 2 of tonights team been released. The rest will either be under contract next season or have been offered.

And Young or not, Robertson and Grimmer at this stage look well out of their depth even as bad as we are. These lads are not ready and should be doing their learning outwith first team and not thrown to wolves which may actually set them back.

Only 2 of tonights team been released. The rest will either be under contract next season or have been offered.

And Young or not, Robertson and Grimmer at this stage look well out of their depth even as bad as we are. These lads are not ready and should be doing their learning outwith first team and not thrown to wolves which may actually set them back.

Aye that's what i was kind of getting at K-9 about the young lads, can't be too critical as it's a learning curve for them. Imagine playing alongside idiots like Paton, Diamond etc

Brown will likely put these guys on loan. One thing that has to be done is to bring back the reserve league, i mean for f**k sake what a farce that was binning it in the first place.

I actually thought Robertson didn't look to bad. He's got the height if he can work on headers, he can properly clear a ball instead of just 8 foot in the air landing in the same place and he can place a decent ball.

Grimmer is only 17 and is learning a new position. Under the circumstances I didn't think he was awful. At least he's heard of an overlap unlike half way line Smith. Special praise goes to 19 year old Ryan Jack who actually looked to help Grimmer defending, and getting the ball out of tight spaces. Thought he showed exactly what our SENIOR players should have done with the younger members.

I actually thought Robertson didn't look to bad. He's got the height if he can work on headers, he can properly clear a ball instead of just 8 foot in the air landing in the same place and he can place a decent ball.

Grimmer is only 17 and is learning a new position. Under the circumstances I didn't think he was awful. At least he's heard of an overlap unlike half way line Smith. Special praise goes to 19 year old Ryan Jack who actually looked to help Grimmer defending, and getting the ball out of tight spaces. Thought he showed exactly what our SENIOR players should have done with the younger members.

Yeah i thought Jack had a decent enough game, certainly stamped more authority on it than normal, was actually surprised it was him who came off.

I actually though Grimmer dealt with that McGowan boy better than McArdle, Jack and Ifil have in previous games this season. Not that hard a feat, but given it is his first senior game at right back, and I can't remember him being beaten by the guy to put in a cross once tonight. Also thought Robertson did a good job today, given not is natural position. Him and Vuja generally seemed more secure than Diamond and Vuja have.

Big job this summer. Depending on further departures to be announced (I expect Langers and Aluko, probably Hartley, thinking Paton and/or Magennis and not a clue on Maguire) there are a lot of squad positions to be filled. 2 goalkeepers, 2 centrebacks, 1 left back, 1-2 wingers and 1-2 strikers minimum. With a lot of players out of contract, hoping that players of the standard of Milsom can be attracted by Brown and co. If we are not begining to look like an attractive footballing team by the end of August, I can see it being the end for many.

Well, Langfield has not accepted his offer as yet, so hopefully that's a good sign as to his departure.

Smith - probably won't return

Aluko - offski

Maguire - think everyone acknowledges he's offski too.

Paton - will undoubtedly get farmed out.

Young - offski

Vujadinovic - offski

Blackman - offski

Howard - offski

So that's half of last night's squad who hopefully won't be here next season, along with departing Diamond and close to hanging up his boots Hartley.

Well, Langfield has not accepted his offer as yet, so hopefully that's a good sign as to his departure.

Smith - probably won't return

Aluko - offski

Maguire - think everyone acknowledges he's offski too.

Paton - will undoubtedly get farmed out.

Young - offski

Vujadinovic - offski

Blackman - offski

Howard - offski

So that's half of last night's squad who hopefully won't be here next season, along with departing Diamond and close to hanging up his boots Hartley.

Look what's left. More promoted youths (the ones who got taken apart from Turriff United last week) and a half dozen new faces at best. Same again next season although maybe slightly better.

This is the more relevant place for this message.

Do the management team have what it takes?

Well, they want to keep:

Langfield, Aluko and Maguire

They've re-signed:

Clark Robertson

and they have bought:

Smith, McNamee, Anderson, Milsom, Blackman

thats 9 players, 2 shy of a proper team

so if they rate them and weve STILL had the abject "performances" since theyve been in charge...do they not deserve some blame?

Bought???????????

Didn't buy a single one of those players?

Smith & McNamee loan deal with Norwich paying part or all his wage & the later a short term deal to see if he could regain some fitness & get over his injury truobles.

Both were gambles & reasonably good/experienced players that we needed in the SHORT term (to help us fight off relegation first & foremost) to play in their recognised positions of RB & LB.

Anderson a strange one that none of us understand fair enough but as we think it may have been done as a sweetner to help seal the Blackman loan & Brown was quoted saying he was NOT signed for the team now but for the future (so just a tria basically) but then if Blackburn want a player, they will get him ahead of us any day of the week & who cares right now, as he may turn out sh*te.

Milsom, through Browns contacts & links to Fulham we got him on a short term (probably cos that's all the board allowed him to sign for the moment) & then after impressing in that time. Brown & Knox were the main reasons for him deciding to sign an extra 2 year deal, even though other SPL clubs & English sides were interested.

Blackman, Any one of us (or most of us) in the same position would have tried to get him on loan after the return he'd already given Brown at Well & few if any of us could have predicted Blackman to be such a poor signing but then, are we paying his full wage also?

Also you mention Clark Roberston, what do you know about him? was he a bad RE-signing?

Clangers for all we know has been offered peanuts with a view of being number 2 & this is the reason for his delay in signing, after all he's said he'd love to stay at Aberdeen, so why the delay in signing?

Aluko, offered a deal otherwise we get no compo if someone else takes him.

Bebo, offered deal for same reason as above but now being offered more, as he's "maybe" seen as someone the "may" turn out to be of sell on value in future.

Bebo is the only possible mistake in my view, as I wouldn't want him taking too much wages away from our budget for the return he gives but if he "finally" did start to produce properly Or by some miracle we sell him then fair doo's.

PS. JC would probably have gotten us relegated had he taken over at the time Brown & Knox did.

first of all....HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAH...RIDICULOUS comment

as for the rest, the point wasnt that he bought them...purely that he signed them, therefore he rates them

so....we have 9 of a possible 11 who brown rates?

Your logic & how you come to conclusions baffles me. You must be well smart byraway.

Your 9 he rates (I assume) are

Milsom, a given seen as he extended his deal (a good move)

Smith, He said he wants to keep (& he's proved to also be good)

McNamee, He has NOT said he wants to keep & I doubt he will (he was a cheap gamble)

Anderson, He didn't say he wanted him any longer than the 6 months he signed for, just that he was for the future possibly (hence the 6 month 'trial')

Robertson, I don't know enough about him to comment & you (I'd bet no less) but will trust all at Pittodrie on that decision before your foresight.

Clangers, he's said he wants him but at what price? I'd say less than he's on, seen as Clangers has stated he wants to stay at Aberdeen but has strangely not signed the deal he's been offered.

Bebo, this outcome is anyones guess.

Aluko, I see no problem in him wanting to keep him if on same money but no more.

Diamond, who gives a fk about him? I am struggling to believe that Brown really does want to keep him.

Ps.JC has found his level (but I'm sure he'll whore himself for the Brentford job that McInnes knocked back)

Keep this thread on topic, i.e Brown and Knox rather than another tedious Calderwood debate.

Totally agree. Calderwood is history. We need to move on and focus on the problems we have NOW. No good blaming figures from the past who are now irrelevant.

I hope Brown and Knox have just temporarily lost the plot, but we can't dispute the fact that things have gone from bad to worse recently.

It's they who need to provide the excuses for us to evaluate, not for us to provide them.

Calderwood, McGhee, brown and Knox are a bunch of patsys for an incompetent board. (tho McGhee was a useless c**t)

We were told one of the reasons miller got brought back was to revamp the youth system, yet our youths, those that were not playing at Toryglen having been released, got spunked off Turriff utd last week.

Yet that clown miller still draws his 150k per year.

Calderwood and McGhee were millers appointments yet he is still drawing his salary long since they have been paid off. Ridiculous.

So who appointed Brown and Knox? Are you saying the cycle will continue?

Well it's not looking too good so far....

My point was that changing managers every 18 months or whatever is going to achieve nothing unless the fundamental problems with the club are addressed.

first fundamental problem I can see is where we can't afford to sign players of the required standard, yet we can afford to pay a failed manager and businessman a six figure salary to feed the club duff advice.

What the f**k do Archie knox and crAig brown need football advice off of willie miller for?

Or Duncan Fraser - why would he need advice off a failed businessman?