s1dnk Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Love my pizza but as it has been a number of years since I lived in town I've no idea where the best place to get a pizza from. Last time I got a pizza in town it was from Papa Johns and I have to say it was brilliant, to me it beats the likes of Dominos and Pizza Hut hands down. Also which type of pizza do people like? I tend to go for a meat pizza, sometimes with a bit of chilli and olives on it. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 I used to love Milano Pizza in Bridge of Don. Used to love Spicy Chicken pizza they had there. I have only had a Dominos once, and it was quite tasty. Pizza hut - nae bad. Papa Johns - never tried it. Of late I've been eating ham and pineapple pizza, which is unusual for me as I'm normally a spicy chicken pizza eater. I hate pepperoni pizza. Got the memory back then? Link to comment
s1dnk Posted August 7, 2011 Author Share Posted August 7, 2011 Milano Pizza did a good pizza, shame they tried to smuggle smack in from Italy. Link to comment
zander Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Dominos for me but ive nae tried half of the rest o them heard papa johns is good. Link to comment
Pot Luck Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Papa Johns is fantastic and when they open there new shop on holburn street they will be able to serve most of the city. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted August 7, 2011 Author Share Posted August 7, 2011 Haha, aye - I recall this. I loved Milano, any time I was hungover - used to give them a call and get them to deliver to BMedz when I lived there. On the subject of pizza, my flat is directly above a pizza shop, Heavenlys - I've only ever had 2 pizzas from there, average. I thought about a pizza tonight, but decided to go for KFC option, a bargain bucket. Trash food, but it'll fill a hole. Missus will pick it up on her way back from the cinema, so away to Football Manage it until she turns up with the bucket. EDIT: Anyone got the gatecrasher pizza from PHD?Thought you lived in Kintore? Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Only place ive had in town is Pizza Hut, average at best. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Just make one. Piss easy. A lot tastier. Link to comment
Dazzler Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Had a pizza from Zizzi's in union square last week and it surpassed anything I've had from Pizza Hut, Dominoes etc. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted August 7, 2011 Author Share Posted August 7, 2011 I do. I am from Balmedie though (folks place), and now I live in Kintore.So there's a Heavenly in Kintore? Link to comment
SNOOPYADKAREDS Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 a doner kabab pizza from one of the kabab shops on bridge street. Dominoes is ok but sometimes to much sauce nae enough toppings sometimes. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Dinnae say I'm no guid tae ye, 500g strong White flooerA guid pinch ae salt. Mix the gither. 325 ml of tepid watterA guid glug of olive oilA pinch of shoogirA sashay o' yeast. Mixed the gither in a jug. Leave fir a cuppil eh minnits. Mix a'hing the gither until ye've got a big ba'. Leave fir hauf an ooer tae an ooer. Divide intae fower portions. Vwala. Pizza dough. Mak yer ain toapins. Bung it in a roastin' hoat uvin fir ten minnits. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Papa Johns is fantastic and when they open there new shop on holburn street they will be able to serve most of the city. Aye I live in the centre of town and they wouldn't deliver. Not a big pizza fan myself, I agree with Buck, better making it yourself. I sometimes have to endure whichever company does two for Tuesdays. As long as I dont have to pay, I don't mind my veggie laden pizza but I could take it or leave it. The only time I've really enjoyed a pizza was when I was in Italy, arsey but true. Link to comment
zander Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Dinnae say I'm no guid tae ye, 500g strong White flooerA guid pinch ae salt. Mix the gither. 325 ml of tepid watterA guid glug of olive oilA pinch of shoogirA sashay o' yeast. Mixed the gither in a jug. Leave fir a cuppil eh minnits. Mix a'hing the gither until ye've got a big ba'. Leave fir hauf an ooer tae an ooer. Divide intae fower portions. Vwala. Pizza dough. Mak yer ain toapins. Bung it in a roastin' hoat uvin fir ten minnits. Type in google "dominos/papa johns/pizza hut aberdeen" get the phone number place an order wait half an hour pay the boy fan he comes eat pizza. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Type in google "dominos/papa johns/pizza hut aberdeen" get the phone number place an order wait half an hour pay the boy fan he comes eat pizza. The delivery boy will hae spunked in it. Or, at least, gobbed in it. Yer better spunking or gobbing in it yersel. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Domino's is probably the best take-away but without doubt the best 'sit in' pizza is Pizza Express. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Papa Johns is good but don't have the garlic sauce. It's horrific. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Heard Papa Johns is good but never got round to trying it. Remember getting takeaway from Pizza Express and it was pretty good value for money. 3 courses for a tenner or something, not sure if it was a temporary deal though. Link to comment
OddJob Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Domino's is probably the best take-away but without doubt the best 'sit in' pizza is Pizza Express.This ^^^ Had the Sloppy Giuseppe the last time i was in the Belmont Street one and it was brilliant Link to comment
Pot Luck Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Had a pizza from Zizzi's in union square last week and it surpassed anything I've had from Pizza Hut, Dominoes etc. Same company as Pizza Express and Ask. The bar at Holiday Inn AECC does good pizzas aswell. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Papa Js ,no contest. Italian sausage is a must. Link to comment
minijc Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Papa Johns is good but don't have the garlic sauce. It's horrific.Tried that sauce and like it, can see why some wouldn't though. Personally i prefer a stuffed crust from pizza hut but because I live along the road from dominos in torry I have that the most, usually something that is hot with extra jalapenos and change the base from normal to dominator which is affa good, just watch when eating it without a tshirt on, it can burn you when it drips oot. Guy i train with was telling me there is a really good Afgan pizza place in glasgow that, according to him does the best stuff crust pizza around and is soo much better than pizza hut and that. Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Papa Johns is good but don't have the garlic sauce. It's horrific.Buy extra ones as it is awesome!! Link to comment
buchanskii Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Snappy Pizzas are horrendous. Agreed, just moved out to portlethen and snappy's are the only ones that deliver, terrible. Is there anyone else like me fa likes just having cheese and tomato, in the belief that a' the extra toppings ruin it? I mean c'mon, Pineapple on a pizza? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Never heard of Papa Johns.Where is it apart from this new unit they're opening on Holburn? Link to comment
zander Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 Never heard of Papa Johns.Where is it apart from this new unit they're opening on Holburn? Great northern road Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 I only eat expensive pizzas from independent companies because im from aberdeen and im really rich. Link to comment
Jones Posted August 7, 2011 Share Posted August 7, 2011 I only eat expensive pizzas from independent companies because im from aberdeen and im really rich. Boutiquzzas? You may be on to something there. Link to comment