amancalledbuck Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I thought somebody would have stuck the BBC story up. I'll look for it and stick a link up. Here's a choice quote - "Each club gets around Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 10, 2011 Author Share Posted August 10, 2011 http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14467953.stm Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 TV Money = More Money for bigger clubs = Bigger Clubs getting into Europe = Even more money for the bigger clubs = less competition in the leagues due to lesser clubs having a lot less money than the bigger clubs = lower crowds TV Money = Higher wages for players = best players going to the "big" clubs for more money = lower standard of players going to smaller clubs = less competetive and less entertainment = lower crowds TV Money = higher wages = higher ticket prices = lower crowds. The more money thats gone into football, the less rich football has become. In the end, it's always going to be the fans that pay the price for players and clubs greed. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I thought somebody would have stuck the BBC story up. I'll look for it and stick a link up. Here's a choice quote - "Each club gets around Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 No surprise, bums on seats is still the major revenue driver, Hearts arent doing to badly re crowds , Hibs are going in wrong direction, we are in deep sh*t if this trend continues , average attendances , SPL below 08/09 Hearts 14398Aberdeen 12929Hibernian 12684 09/10 Hearts 14484Hibernian 12164Aberdeen 10461 10/11 Hearts 14185Hibernian 11756Aberdeen 9129 Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 10, 2011 Author Share Posted August 10, 2011 Aye I'm surprised nobody posted this earlier. Oh they did. f**k off. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 No surprise, bums on seats is still the major revenue driver, Hearts arent doing to badly re crowds , Hibs are going in wrong direction, we are in deep sh*t if this trend continues , average attendances , SPL below 08/09 Hearts 14398Aberdeen 12929Hibernian 12684 09/10 Hearts 14484Hibernian 12164Aberdeen 10461 10/11 Hearts 14185Hibernian 11756Aberdeen 9129 Almost 4000 less than 08/09 Any board running a club professionally would be worried about that. Call it an average of 15 quid a ticket with concessions taken into account. That's 60,000 quid a game lost without catering and merchandise taken into account. Worrying times if they were worried. They aren't though so carry on. Link to comment
tup Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I've said it before, scrap the TV deal and get people back into the stadiums, f**k the armchair or pub supporters, most of them are w*nkers anyway, more interested in drinking than football. Football needs to be given back to the fans who actually attend the games, it's hardly value for money right now. 30 years ago we had one of the strongest leagues in Europe. What's the difference? That's right, live TV football. Get rid of it. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Almost 4000 less than 08/09 Any board running a club professionally would be worried about that. Call it an average of 15 quid a ticket with concessions taken into account. That's 60,000 quid a game lost without catering and merchandise taken into account. Worrying times if they were worried. They aren't though so carry on. AFC - I'd actually expect the club to be shitting themselves and do something drastic to try and reverse the trend , but no. This seasons average will be down on last seasons I predict. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I've said it before, scrap the TV deal and get people back into the stadiums, f**k the armchair or pub supporters, most of them are w*nkers anyway, more interested in drinking than football. Football needs to be given back to the fans who actually attend the games, it's hardly value for money right now. 30 years ago we had one of the strongest leagues in Europe. What's the difference? That's right, live TV football. Get rid of it. I agree, TV has f**ked football. We all know that (except our resident dutchy). If the SPL had no live games, armchair fans would just watch the Premiership instead, sad, very sad. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I agree, TV has f**ked football. We all know that (except our resident dutchy). If the SPL had no live games, armchair fans would just watch the Premiership instead, sad, very sad. This isnt down to solely to TV, a lot of it is due to the pish that is put in front of them, and the fact we have been sh*te for 3 years Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I've said it before, scrap the TV deal and get people back into the stadiums, f**k the armchair or pub supporters, most of them are w*nkers anyway, more interested in drinking than football. Football needs to be given back to the fans who actually attend the games, it's hardly value for money right now. 30 years ago we had one of the strongest leagues in Europe. What's the difference? That's right, live TV football. Get rid of it. I agree, TV has f**ked football. We all know that (except our resident dutchy). If the SPL had no live games, armchair fans would just watch the Premiership instead, sad, very sad. Ah but if we had no Live TV games all the games would be on at 3pm on a Saturday when there are no games to watch on telly. That rule was designed to get people to games but it fails miserably now due to the saturation of football on the telly. Armchair fans would have to get out of their chair and go to the match to see their team. (Live streams not counting in this debate) Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Yet some clubs are showing stready or even increasing average attendaces, a lot of this is skewed by the reduction from Celtic. I still say if we were playing attractive fitba and contesting at the right end of the league we would have healthy attendances Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Easy enough to blame sky etc for folk not going to games, but sky has been on the go now for 15 years + Why not look at the fact that ticket prices have more than doubled and folk just cant afford it anymore. Link to comment
tup Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Premiership fans, in Scotland, are not football fans in my opinion. They are lovers of razzamatazz and would be better suited going to the opera. Scottish fitba has always been spit and sawdust, and we don't want the English sanitisation here, exacerbated by TV coverage, so that you canna even f**king swear your way through a game any more without getting horsed out the f**king door like a f**king criminal. And players are torn to shreds for swearing by Guardianistas in England, such is the gentrification of it all. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Yet some clubs are showing stready or even increasing average attendaces, a lot of this is skewed by the reduction from Celtic. I still say if we were playing attractive fitba and contesting at the right end of the league we would have healthy attendances Its a combination, the footballs sh*te so folk stop going. We fluke a result and folk think we may be improving, it pisses with rain and they find out its Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Easy enough to blame sky etc for folk not going to games, but sky has been on the go now for 15 years + Why not look at the fact that ticket prices have more than doubled and folk just cant afford it anymore. It's a mix of both though Stoney. Aberdeen v Killie at 3 pm on a Saturday against Man U V Man City at 12.15 kick off means some folk won't bother going to the Aberdeen game because Man U are on the telly and some won't go because the tickets are expensive. Costs of tickets has went up because players get paid more due to the increase in Sky television money inflating salaries across the board. It's all linked together in a vicious circle at the end of the day. Link to comment
tup Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Easy enough to blame sky etc for folk not going to games, but sky has been on the go now for 15 years + Why not look at the fact that ticket prices have more than doubled and folk just cant afford it anymore. Why have ticket prices doubled? Because salaries have increased massively. Why did this happen? Because of the money Sky gave for the TV deal. So it's good that you agree Sky is the issue, even though you never realised you were agreeing. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 10, 2011 Author Share Posted August 10, 2011 Scottish fitba is just cheap, pre match entertainment for the big EPL game. It's the equivalent of a schools penalty competition. Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Tup - Our saleries are coming down season after season. That cant be used as an excuse. I Dont really care about the whole sky debate. I like to watch the football in the pub with my mates before and after games at pittodrie. Its called a saturday. Link to comment
tup Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Tup - Our saleries are coming down season after season. That cant be used as an excuse. I Dont really care about the whole sky debate. I like to watch the football in the pub with my mates before and after games at pittodrie. Its called a saturday. In a nutshell there you have it. Too many with the same attitude. I only give a f**k about one team. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Are match day, and season tickets for adults really double in cost from 1995 till now ? Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 In a nutshell there you have it. Too many with the same attitude. I only give a f**k about one team. You dont have to support a team to watch a game of football. If you only watch Aberdeen than its no wonder you know so little about football Link to comment
Sydney_Red Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Premiership fans, in Scotland, are not football fans in my opinion. They are lovers of razzamatazz and would be better suited going to the opera. I would go further. EPL is not really sport. It is "sport entertainment" in much the same way as WWF wrestling is. A scripted load of p!ss designed to rake pay per view dollars off the masses. SPL may be a gash league, but at least it is proper sport. F'ck sky and f'ck espn. And f'ck the old firm while I'm at it. A league with no ugly sisters and no live TV coverage would do me. Link to comment
baconman Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Scottish fitba as a product and i am afraid thats the way you have to look at it is simply crap. If they want to get bums on seats they have to drop the prices. You will never attract new or disillusioned fans if you keep charging over inflated prices for poor quality which is what it is. Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 Are match day, and season tickets for adults really double in cost from 1995 till now ? I would say definitley Cant speak about adult tickets as didnt pay full price for most grounds till i was 22 But in 1995 i was Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I would go further. EPL is not really sport. It is "sport entertainment" in much the same way as WWF wrestling is. A scripted load of p!ss designed to rake pay per view dollars off the masses. SPL may be a gash league, but at least it is proper sport. F'ck sky and f'ck espn. And f'ck the old firm while I'm at it. A league with no ugly sisters and no live TV coverage would do me. I'm assuming you aren't serious when you say that EPL is scripted like WWF.... Anyway, your final sentence.... this is what I think will end up happing, 10 or 15 years down the line. Rangers and celtic will leave and our top league will become semi-professional, like the league or Ireland or Wales. To be honest, I think it might be better that way. The current SPL is just an utter embarrassment. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I would say definitley Cant speak about adult tickets as didnt pay full price for most grounds till i was 22 But in 1995 i was Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 I'm assuming you aren't serious when you say that EPL is scripted like WWF.... Anyway, your final sentence.... this is what I think will end up happing, 10 or 15 years down the line. Rangers and celtic will leave and our top league will become semi-professional, like the league or Ireland or Wales. To be honest, I think it might be better that way. The current SPL is just an utter embarrassment. That would do me. I'll support Aberdeen regardless of their league position or status. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 10, 2011 Share Posted August 10, 2011 SPL clubs should control their own home games with regards to TV. Pay Per View, online, worldwide. Like Red TV do for overseas. If you want to watch the game, you pay online. For the sorts that don't go. No games live on SKY TV or an equivalent. Aberdeen - Rangers - If a hun wants to watch this they'll have to pay online at afc.co.uk for the privilege. Likewise if the Huns were playing us at Ibrox, we pay a fiver of whatever to watch the game, if we want to ( a game that is not normally available to watch - (legally ) We'd probably make more money. A day like today (pishing down) but 10 degrees colder in December, lead up to christmas, Aberdeen vs. Motherwell... i'm sure a lot of people who wouldnt have went to the game otherwise would maybe pay a fiver to watch the game online. I don't think it would affect the match attendance much, but you'd make more money from online 'sales' you wouldnt have received otherwise. Thin of the money you could bring in from OF at home, thousands of the c**ts paying a fiver worldwide. Only an idea, dunno if it woul work well, but maybe better than the pish just now. Link to comment