muttondressedaslamb Posted September 8, 2011 Share Posted September 8, 2011 Not sure what happened. I went when it was beside the theatre first of all and thought it was amazing, then when I went to it at Justice Mill Lane I thought I had died and gone to heaven. More expansive menu, good vibe about the place and I used to eat my body weight in sushi. Then it went back to beside the theatre and they changed the menu to Scottish-Asian fusion, which meant no more sushi I didn't go back and it closed down a few months later. On a side note, I used to have this Japanese lemonade that was in a weird bottle with a glass ball floating in it. It was really fine but hadn't seen it since my last visit to Yatai. When in Copenhagen in the summer, I visited a sushi bar and they had it on the menu. So I got really excited about tasting this lemonade again only to be told that no where in the world has it now as the factory got washed away in the tsunami Link to comment
Nelly Posted September 8, 2011 Share Posted September 8, 2011 Went to the Foyer the other night and the food was unbelievably good. Service good too, was a bit sceptical when reading about being #1 on trip advisor but definitely deserves the accolade. Link to comment
dervish Posted September 8, 2011 Share Posted September 8, 2011 Bugger I had that, they kinda like smashed the glass ball into it aye? RIP glass ball bottle lemonade factory. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted September 8, 2011 Share Posted September 8, 2011 Bugger I had that, they kinda like smashed the glass ball into it aye? RIP glass bottle lemonade factory. Yes!!! It was a great little quirk. RIP indeed. Totally agree with you Nelly re: Foyer. It really is something special. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted September 9, 2011 Share Posted September 9, 2011 Not sure what happened. I went when it was beside the theatre first of all and thought it was amazing, then when I went to it at Justice Mill Lane I thought I had died and gone to heaven. More expansive menu, good vibe about the place and I used to eat my body weight in sushi. Then it went back to beside the theatre and they changed the menu to Scottish-Asian fusion, which meant no more sushi I didn't go back and it closed down a few months later. On a side note, I used to have this Japanese lemonade that was in a weird bottle with a glass ball floating in it. It was really fine but hadn't seen it since my last visit to Yatai. When in Copenhagen in the summer, I visited a sushi bar and they had it on the menu. So I got really excited about tasting this lemonade again only to be told that no where in the world has it now as the factory got washed away in the tsunami I could be wrong but I think the problem with Yatai was a change in regulations surrounding food preparation. It effectively made their menu illegal Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 9, 2011 Share Posted September 9, 2011 I could be wrong but I think the problem with Yatai was a change in regulations surrounding food preparation. It effectively made their menu illegal Aye when they banned eating dog it went downhill. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Anyone been to Tropeiro ? Prime Cuts is fully booked for Saturday and some one suggested Tropeiro. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Tropeiro is excellent EPK. Keep your card on green and away you go. Link to comment
jassb Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Tropeiro is ok, but nothing too special when we went. We had the private room so probably missed out on the general atmosphere. If you were planning on Prime Cuts, take your money to Malmaison instead. Best steak in town (in my opinion). Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Tropeiro is ok, but nothing too special when we went. We had the private room so probably missed out on the general atmosphere. If you were planning on Prime Cuts, take your money to Malmaison instead. Best steak in town (in my opinion). Aye, I just fancy a muthar fucking steak of par excellence. Link to comment
jassb Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Stage Door has a good looking steak menu, but only heard its good. Never been. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Tropeiro is excellent EPK. Keep your card on green and away you go. Link to comment
jassb Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Might depend on the amount of wine. Last visit to Malmaison, the service was poor I have to say. Seems to be students employed these days. But still found the food to be excellent. Wherever you go, don't go to Yu in Union Street. It's shit. Still struggling to find a decent Chinese since bastard Sainsburys shutdown the Royal China in Holburn Street. Link to comment
weemackie Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Granite Park on golden square is meant to be really good. Hinna been yet though http://www.granitepark.co.uk/ Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Go to Sam's on King Street, food there is first rate Link to comment
Club5 Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Granite Park on golden square is meant to be really good. Hinna been yet though http://www.granitepark.co.uk/ It's pretty good. Link to comment
360 Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Wherever you go, don't go to Yu in Union Street. It's shit. Still struggling to find a decent Chinese since bastard Sainsburys shutdown the Royal China in Holburn Street. China Town on Dee Street has always been really nice every time I've been. The salt and pepper ribs to start with, superb. :thumbs: Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Granite Park on golden square is meant to be really good. Hinna been yet though http://www.granitepark.co.uk/ Aye it is good. I've been a couple of times. Go to Sam's on King Street, food there is first rateI've been there. It is good. The best one I have been to in aberdeen is the one at the chinese supermarket. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 My usual benchmark for whether a Chinese restaurant is good or not, is to have a look in the window and see if there's plenty chinese dining in there along wi the other punters. They'll flock to the decent places: works 9 times out of 10. Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Mancurian way is best chinese in the toon, always mobbed with chinese folk Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Mancurian way is best chinese in the toon, always mobbed with chinese folkThats the one I mean. Next to the chinese supermarket. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted July 7, 2012 Share Posted July 7, 2012 1341559232[/url]' post='783882']After I was in the Maldives and seen the Chinese personal hygiene - you'll be lucky if I go to a Chinese ever again, absolutely disgusting people. I'll never bad the French for their ignorance ever again after witnessing the tiddlywinks. Spitting in the restaraunt where we were eating, big greeners. Barging infront of folk in the queue, by the end I snapped and gave a few digs to the ribs to a few of them with the elbows, they soon backed off. Their hygiene is disgusting! You'd like to think a certain amount of social conditioning would make this type of behaviour a rarity in Scotland. Was in China in Oct and can only agree wholeheartedly with your observations. And they are taking over the world Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Due to several places being fully booked, or the only available time slot being very early or late, we ended up booking the Albyn, Probably would not go back, food was good, service was good too, but with no change out of 100 quid (excluding wine), I would expect that little bit more, Link to comment
ebbe Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 You'd like to think a certain amount of social conditioning would make this type of behaviour a rarity in Scotland. Was in China in Oct and can only agree wholeheartedly with your observations. And they are taking over the world i also agree with roberto, they are rancid, horrible, barbaric, weird lookin tinks. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Due to several places being fully booked, or the only available time slot being very early or late, we ended up booking the Albyn, Probably would not go back, food was good, service was good too, but with no change out of 100 quid (excluding wine), I would expect that little bit more,Still think the 210 bistro at the bottom of Market St is fantastic, well it's between that and Howies for me as far as normal places go. Best Chinese as I said is Sam's, wi Nazma bein best Indian. Best fast food joint will always be Nando's, closely followed by the Cloggy House Link to comment
Big Man Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Still think the 210 bistro at the bottom of Market St is fantastic, well it's between that and Howies for me as far as normal places go. Best Chinese as I said is Sam's, wi Nazma bein best Indian. Best fast food joint will always be Nando's, closely followed by the Cloggy House Aye, the Nazma is decent like. However i think the Spice Mills chicken tikka masala beats theirs hands doon. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Special mention to the catchy named Mango Pickle which I spied for the first time yesterday. Jimmy Chung deed ? Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Aye, the Nazma is decent like. However i think the Spice Mills chicken tikka masala beats theirs hands doon.Never been there, far's that again? @EPK, Jimmy's isnae deid, think the one at the beach is still goin. BTW, is the Pickle decent? Link to comment
Big Man Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Special mention to the catchy named Mango Pickle which I spied for the first time yesterday. Jimmy Chung deed ? It's been open for about 3 months now. I'm surprised you missed it, it was opened in a blaze of publicity. Over 1.2 billion people watched the opening ceremony live on Indian tv... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c5lDgmeEXm4 Link to comment
Big Man Posted July 8, 2012 Share Posted July 8, 2012 Never been there, far's that again? @EPK, Jimmy's isnae deid, think the one at the beach is still goin. It's in Grandholm Village. It got raided by the immigration rozzers a while back, and it turned out that every single person on shift that day was an illegal. Fuckin gorgeous food though. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-17341735 Link to comment