The Boofon Posted September 9, 2012 Share Posted September 9, 2012 EPK. When I visit next week do you just want me to park the car outside and then give the car horn a toot and come in? Or is that tomb much to ask? What does everyone else sphynx about these puns? 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 9, 2012 Share Posted September 9, 2012 Cancel that. I cannot make it. I've to visit a Cairopractitioner that week. 3 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 9, 2012 Share Posted September 9, 2012 I keep telling folk I'm not sarcastic but they tell I'm in de-nile. It's just a fez you're going through. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 9, 2012 Share Posted September 9, 2012 Cheers, But would need to be a drinking establishment, as otherwise I would need the full apparatus of copper pot long handled thingy ma bob, and I am also solely missing the key requirement, an open fire / stove. Although, I could go on a MT type adventure, "how do i get an open fire into my chimney-less living room" and the following week " how do you get coffee + smoke smell out of Cuban cigars" My Irish mate has one of those copper pot long handled thingy ma bob things so you could just hire O'Glifics one for the day. 1 1 Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Not sure about coffee shops as in drinking establishments but there is a cracking coffee and tea shop that sells coffee beans just off of Belmont Street. Head up Belmont Street from Union street and take a first right. It's on the end corner of that road. MacBeans Coffee Roasters & Tea Specialists2 Little Bemont StreetAberdeenAB10 1JG You're most welcome. :thumbs: No Egyptian puns but I can say that this is the best coffee shop that I've ever bean to. Went to Nargile on Forest Avenue last night, and was reasonably impressed with the meal, even got my Turkish coffee afterwards. Went to MacBeans coffee shop yesterday afternoon to find the fucker was closed on a Sunday, so went next door to Ma Cameron's for several pints, with the cheeky fucking barman persuaded me to try this Weegie lager called West St Mungo pishe water, which was like pishe water, the San Miguel on the other hand was kwality. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I was at Granite Park in Golden Square yesterday evening. Fucking delicious. Was staying in Malmaison. Breakfast not good at all. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I was at Granite Park in Golden Square yesterday evening. Fucking delicious. Was staying in Malmaison. Breakfast not good at all. Park Inn suite for me. Although the Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Went to the Spice Mill in Grandholm on Saturday. Walked out after an hour as the Starter still hadn't arrived. The staff were all running around like headless chickens, it was so disorganised. In the short time we were there, I saw four other tables walk out as well. Really disappointing as we'd been there about 6 weeks ago and the service and food was brilliant, it was a fucking shambles on Saturday. I managed to skull two wines and beer before we walked out though, so the evening wasn't a total bust Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Went to the Spice Mill in Grandholm on Saturday. Walked out after an hour as the Starter still hadn't arrived. The staff were all running around like headless chickens, it was so disorganised. In the short time we were there, I saw four other tables walk out as well. Really disappointing as we'd been there about 6 weeks ago and the service and food was brilliant, it was a fucking shambles on Saturday. I managed to skull two wines and beer before we walked out though, so the evening wasn't a total bust Surprised at that loon, Ive usually had good meals in there. Dont think its as good as the Shish Tandoori in BOD mind you, that place is brilliant. Should give it a try next time you fancy an Indian. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Ken, I was surprised as well min. As I say, we were there not long ago and it was top notch. Will definitely be giving the Brigg Inn curry house a bash next time! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I was in thon curry hoose in Westhill Amaya on Saturday night. Fit a feed.Really nice and had to open a couple of buttons on my jeans such was the portion size. I recommend even if the service is a bit on the slow side. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Went to the Spice Mill in Grandholm on Saturday. Walked out after an hour as the Starter still hadn't arrived. The staff were all running around like headless chickens, it was so disorganised. In the short time we were there, I saw four other tables walk out as well. Really disappointing as we'd been there about 6 weeks ago and the service and food was brilliant, it was a fucking shambles on Saturday. I managed to skull two wines and beer before we walked out though, so the evening wasn't a total bust I bet you didnt pay for the booze. Tup was right about you - your no Mr Nice Guy. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 sizzlers is the best place in town. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I bet you didnt pay for the booze. Tup was right about you - your no Mr Nice Guy. You'd be right, I did not pay for the booze. If that tarnished my nice guy reputation - it was worth it. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Went to Nargile on Forest Avenue last night, and was reasonably impressed with the meal, even got my Turkish coffee afterwards. Went to MacBeans coffee shop yesterday afternoon to find the fucker was closed on a Sunday, so went next door to Ma Cameron's for several pints, with the cheeky fucking barman persuaded me to try this Weegie lager called West St Mungo pishe water, which was like pishe water, the San Miguel on the other hand was kwality. Has that stuff even found it's way up to Aberdeen now?! It's brewed in a big pub/brewery in Glasgow Green, really nice place actually, with a big beer garden overlooking the park. Their beers have now spread to other pubs around Glasgow, but didn't realise it has made it even further afield now. I don't mind it, but then again, I'm definitely no beer snob, all pretty much tastes the same to me. They serve it in 1l steins in their own pub, which takes me back to being at Oktoberfest, which is prob why I like it Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 was in the thai place sabai (sp) last night on union street and i would definately recommend, bloody tremendous. Link to comment
Johnny Mac Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Has that stuff even found it's way up to Aberdeen now?! It's brewed in a big pub/brewery in Glasgow Green, really nice place actually, with a big beer garden overlooking the park. Their beers have now spread to other pubs around Glasgow, but didn't realise it has made it even further afield now. I don't mind it, but then again, I'm definitely no beer snob, all pretty much tastes the same to me. They serve it in 1l steins in their own pub, which takes me back to being at Oktoberfest, which is prob why I like it You get it in heaps of pubs here now and the bottles in various shops. The brewery down in Glasgow is a good visit, nice grub in the restaurant and the building is pretty spectacular too. Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 If that's the one just next to the Rose St junction, I have to agree. Excellent munch. that's the 1, magic. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 15, 2012 Share Posted October 15, 2012 Saturday past we went to the Manzil Indian restaurant on King Street, I am not a huge Indian food fan, but the al la carte menu was plentiful, and it was a decent meal, decent service, huge portions, Tiger on tap and reasonably priced. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted October 16, 2012 Share Posted October 16, 2012 Went to Rendevous at Nargile the other week and the food was excellent. Highly recommend. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 31, 2012 Share Posted December 31, 2012 Was at The Stage Door of Saturday night, food was very good, the service, notably the Irish bint, was not. Link to comment
dervish Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 By the way a place that used to be amazing has re-opened (not been yet... getting fixed next week). I know at least MDAL was a fan. http://www.yatai.co.uk/ https://www.facebook.com/yataiaberdeen Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Anyone eaten at Granite Park? Got vouchers for there over Christmas. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Anyone eaten at Granite Park? Got vouchers for there over Christmas. Aye. It's excellent. Went there a wee while back (3 -4 months ago) Great service and great food. Link to comment
Jones Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Both Yatai(re-opened) and Granite Park are excellent. Wanted to go up to the roof terrace in Yatai but it wasn't open, I believe it opens later on as they are now open into te early hours. Granite Park is just good solid food a la The Stage door and Courtyard. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Granite Park is lovely. Fine dining at a very good price. Love Yatai. Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 Went to howies for a night out with the wife just before christmas, worth another shot as its come on a long way since the last time i was there. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 how is the restaurant scene in aberdeen these days? when i lived there i always thought the city lacked good places to eat, decent cafes etc. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 4, 2013 Share Posted January 4, 2013 not really into that sort of thing rumpy but i hear rosemount is the gay village 1 Link to comment
E-P-K Posted February 12, 2013 Share Posted February 12, 2013 Any recommendations for some fine eateries in Inverness, also some where in Inverness to watch the football on Friday night, city centre area. Link to comment