Guisers/halloween

daytripping

• Replies 76

So what do you say when folk answer the door if you are guising?

is that a serious question?

used to be 'penny for the guy' when I was a loon (only silver would have been appreciated though)

I would support 'pound for the guy' nowadays.

While we are on it, what is with this pumpkin shite?

Pumpkins are for lazy americans, if I ever have kids, I'll make them howk oot Neaps.

That's fit I did as a kid, and so what if I bent every spoon/tattie pealer in the hoose dein it.

Hollowing out and carving a neap is something you can be proud off,

any idiot can carve a face/cat/spider on a pumpkin.

used to be 'penny for the guy' when I was a loon (only silver would have been appreciated though)

Pumpkins are for lazy americans, if I ever have kids, I'll make them howk oot Neaps.

That's fit I did as a kid, and so what if I bent every spoon/tattie pealer in the hoose dein it.

Going out to the farmers field and stealing a big neep was a job in its own right, kids these days just don't have the same imagination.

I am 23 so yes it was a serious question!

I have never been out guising so I didn't know and all the kids that come to my door say trick or treat.

It's guising for Halloween. Penny for the guy has nothing to do with guising at all. Totally different thing altogether and Dayts you're just associating the word "Guy" with guising when the two are in no way related whatsoever.

First two letters are the same but that's coincidence and nothing more.

Guy Fawkes Night. :) i didn't know that.

The fifth of November, since I can remember,

Was Guy Faux, Poke him in the eye,

Shove him up the chimney-pot, and there let him die.

A stick and a stake, for King George's sake,

If you don't give me one, I'll take two,

The better for me, and the worse for you,

Ricket-a-racket your hedges shall go.

and according to the internet... "Guy Fawkes Night became a domestic celebration, and children often congregated on street corners, accompanied by their own effigy of Guy Fawkes. This was sometimes ornately dressed and sometimes a barely-recognisable bundle of straw and rags. Collecting money was a popular reason for their creation, the children taking their effigy from door to door, or displaying it on street corners. But mainly, they were built to go on the bonfire, itself sometimes comprising wood stolen from other pyres; "an acceptable convention" that helped bolster another November tradition, Mischief Night."

As a dad of two wee ones what has got me this year is the fact they have been going to Halloween parties since last Friday. House has been decked out in all sorts of scary stuff. Wife bought it and I spent the best part of 3 hours putting it all up.

I prefer the concept of guising but to be fair my two have had a lot more fun over the last 4 days than I ever did at Halloween. So if it

It's guising for Halloween. Penny for the guy has nothing to do with guising at all. Totally different thing altogether and Dayts you're just associating the word "Guy" with guising when the two are in no way related whatsoever.

First two letters are the same but that's coincidence and nothing more.

Guising was going round the doors asking for a penny for the guy and it was done the week running up to bonfire night. On Halloween we used to just have a fancy dress party where you bobbed for apples, tried to eat a donut (or doughring as we called them back then) dangling from a piece of string plus some other games, usually finished with a disco and a competition for best fancy dress. No knocking on doors required.

This neep and pumpkin thing was discussed on here last year where it was agreed that the current scale of neep us far smaller than jeeps of old.

Also I'm sure guising came from disguising. In "olden" days, the nuggets thought ghouls, goblins, trolls, zombies and Gary glitter etc would rise from the dead and steal their offspring, so to trick them, they would dress up the bairns as said scaries so that they wouldn't steal one of their own.

Neeps are far it is at. Instills a bit o discipline dis carvin oot a neep. Richt bastard o a job it is ana. Nae like a pumpkin far yi can use a spoon an be deen in fuckin' seconds.

doughring

Still a doughring roon my hoose. Ony fanny ca's it a doughnut gets a skelp.