Di Canio

Paolo Di Canio has cleared the air with goalkeeper Wes Foderingham. Di Canio substituted the goalkeeper midway through the first half of Swindon's 4-1 defeat at Preston on Sunday before criticising him after the game.

"Wes has apologised. The situation is now clear and we will move on and work together," said Di Canio. "He is a genuine guy and a strong character.

"The rules are there and he will pay his price for his actions. He has been fantastic for us last and this season, but he didn't behave well on Sunday.

"He will have his chance to be a part of the team and be available for selection against Oxford on Wednesday night."

Swindon manager Paolo Di Canio says Aden Flint was to blame for their 1-0 Johnstone's Paint Trophy first round derby defeat by Oxford.The 23-year-old had just come on as a substitute when his collision with team-mate Darren Ward led to Alfie Potter's 88th-minute winner.

"Flint came in tonight as if he was on holiday and this is not acceptable," Di Canio told BBC Wiltshire.

"He has to take the responsibility. We lost because of him."

He continued: "It was like on Sunday when we lost for Wes [Foderingham]. We lost because of a stupid moment.

"He's a good professional but he has to improve."

Flint, who arrived at the County Ground from Alfreton in 2011, was first-choice at centre back at Swindon last season, alongside Alan McCormack.

But he now faces competition from summer arrivals Ward and Troy Archibald-Henville.

Di Canio added: "Flint's a good guy but he's got a big limit. This is why I brought in Darren Ward.

"I told them 'don't feel hurt when I bring in new players who can challenge your position'.

"Some of my players have to go one step forward if they want to become real footballers. Some of them weren't League One footballers.

"They have to know what they want to do in their life.

Seems like Paulo loves to blame someone else.

The keeper did cost them the game at the weekend as he was pish.

Flint fucked up for the goal last night.

Good he puts pressure on his players to make them better.

The keepers performance wasn't good enough, he'll make that known - telling him, you need to be better than that.

None of this soft shite, 'oh you had a brain problem, here's a 2 year deal - you can cost us goals no matter how many times, but it'll be okay, you're my number 1 and it's okay - you'll be fine'.

Get them told, if you're playing shite and thieving a wage that week, your performance needs to be better the next week.

Great guy.

Great MT bait there Roberto :thumbs:

• 5 months later...

Aye, was the most embarrassing thing ever and not on Di Canio's part.

Winterburn coming over to try and give Di Canio a bit of stick and Winterburn shat it when Di Canio turned round.

:laughing: A fucking mink at Winterburn never have liked him!

Wid like to see Di Canio in oor dugoot someone we a bit of fire, flare & plays good attacking fitba!

Conundrum. If our western world is such a champion of democracy, freedom of expression being a cornerstone thereof, how come the appointment of Paulo is causing such controversy?

Milliband resigned, miners are asking for the return of shit, cunts on the telly saying they died fighting fascism etc., bombs landing on Sunderland during the war - who gives a fuck?

Whether he's a fascist, a communist, a goat-shagging committee member of P2, Mafiosi, homosexual, coke user, whatever, what does it matter?

Hypocrisy on a grand scale, methinks. The boy's colourful. Welcome him to the EPL ye boring English fuds.

Agreed, very hypocritical. His fascist leanings should not even be discussed, it has no relevance.

Didn't have the same shit-storm when he was at Swindon, so why all the fuss now? Think David Preece was saying on twitter earlier today that with this reaction it makes it sound like fascism is acceptable in the Football League but not in the Premier League the way the media are reacting.

Whole thing is just utter nonsense. Most of the journalists can't think of anything to write about in a football sense so just fill their columns with this.