daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Got my Champix tablets a couple Months ago but just got round to taking my first one today, no side effects thus far, anyone else ever tried them? My willpower is pathetic, will these help a good bit? Been a heavy smoker for 25 years now, time to stop!! tia for the encouraging posts that are likely to follow. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Norwegian studies have shown that fowk that use Champix develop homosexual tendencies. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Mate tried them a few years back - said they worked well. He still smokes Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Author Share Posted October 6, 2011 Norwegian studies have shown that fowk that use Champix develop homosexual tendencies. Get yooooo, you saucy minx! Link to comment
Marty13479 Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Got my Champix tablets a couple Months ago but just got round to taking my first one today, no side effects thus far, anyone else ever tried them? My willpower is pathetic, will these help a good bit? Been a heavy smoker for 25 years now, time to stop!! tia for the encouraging posts that are likely to follow. I managed with willpower after my kids gave me a hard time. Got to want to stop before you try. Good luck with it as the first 2 weeks are a nightmare. Try to stay away from other smokers. Link to comment
tup Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Honestly, no willpower, pathetic. Mind over matter, ditch the fucking poisonous tablets. Link to comment
GK55 Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Champix has been linked with depression and many suicides over the last few years - good luck dt! In all seriousness, it has, so do your research properly on it. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 The lesson here is - Dinna fucking start in the first place! Smoking is for quines. Link to comment
Down Under Sheep Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Tried them a few months ago, lasted a few weeks and had to stop them, side effects with me were a nightmare. Now off smokes by using willpower alone. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 The only thing I don't have the will power to stop is sex or ! But then again, why would I want to? If they didn't want to see they could look the other way, or go to the other park! Link to comment
tup Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 The only thing I don't have the will power to stop is sex or ! But then again, why would I want to? If they didn't want to see they could look the other way, or go to the other park! Do you want to see? If so, cut down on tossing your salad min. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Do you want to see? If so, cut down on tossing your salad min.Thats a myth...unless of course you get it in the eye! Link to comment
phoenix Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 If your will power is weak , strengthen it by using it. If you don't use it , you lose it. They are happy to sell you shit that you think is working.....and all the time it was your own will power that you never thought you had. Don't give Big Pharma any money. They are cunts ! Link to comment
tup Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 As well as that their products dinna work as I'm tired of telling folk. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 They keep putting wee pictures on the packets with descriptions of how bad it is for you...why not just BAN the fucking things then? They have absolutely NO value to humanity at all. If cigarrettes had been a brand new thing, it would have never have been allowed to sell and would probably end up fizzling out and nobody would even remember what it was even called. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 They keep putting wee pictures on the packets with descriptions of how bad it is for you...why not just BAN the fucking things then? They have absolutely NO value to humanity at all. If cigarrettes had been a brand new thing, it would have never have been allowed to sell and would probably end up fizzling out and nobody would even remember what it was even called. Dunno. Would make it harder to skin up... Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Author Share Posted October 6, 2011 Don't give Big Pharma any money. They are cunts ! I didn't give them any money, the tablets were free on prescription. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Author Share Posted October 6, 2011 Tried them a few months ago, lasted a few weeks and had to stop them, side effects with me were a nightmare. Now off smokes by using willpower alone. What side effects did you get? I think my cigs have a slight mettalic taste, after one day i'm probably just imagining it. I can handle slight naseau and slight depression, I do draw the line at suicide! Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 I didn't give them any money, the tablets were free on prescription. Durrrr. This bothers me. In a time of supposed nae cash in the economy, why pay for people to remove tax income from the exchequer? A bit of a double-whammy. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 What side effects did you get? I think my cigs have a slight mettalic taste, after one day i'm probably just imagining it. I can handle slight naseau and slight depression, I do draw the line at suicide! Is the point of them not to make you feel nausea when you smoke? If you can handle it, you're wasting your time. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Author Share Posted October 6, 2011 Is the point of them not to make you feel nausea when you smoke? If you can handle it, you're wasting your time. No, they reduce the craving, the part of your brain that says time for a tab no longer gives out the signal, nothing to do with making you feel sick. I think a tablet like that exists for alcohol. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Author Share Posted October 6, 2011 btw I'd happily pay for prescriptions, it's nonsense that folk who can afford it don't pay. Link to comment
seanthesheep Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Got my Champix tablets a couple Months ago but just got round to taking my first one today, no side effects thus far, anyone else ever tried them? My willpower is pathetic, will these help a good bit? Been a heavy smoker for 25 years now, time to stop!! tia for the encouraging posts that are likely to follow. I used Champix to help me quit. I haven't smoked since July last year. Champix worked great for me without any side effects until I had to up the dosage then I began to get very strange dreams (which I refuse to go into on here). I continued to use it though as it really was helping. I also attended the smoking groups once a week which also helped support me through it. After about 3 months on the champix I started getting very paranoid as well and at this point I decided to stop taking the champix. I began using ordinary chewing gum. I'm still on the gum now but it's a hell of a lot cheaper than fags. Link to comment
virtualmontana Posted October 6, 2011 Share Posted October 6, 2011 Good luck DT - I stopped over a month a go and feel better for it. Was a pain because other than being jacked up on Nicotine, harder habit to break than crack / smack etc. I actually enjoyed smoking. Still Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 6, 2011 Author Share Posted October 6, 2011 Cheers chaps, good to hear of those who had little side effects, the internet is littered with horror stories! My daughter is one of the reasons I want to give up, don't want her ever to start smoking, waste of your health and money although I do enjoy a smoke. Out of my trust deed at the end of this Month and will hopefully be a non smoker too, that's Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 The first 3 days were a breeze, easier than I thought it was going to be. Dunno, Wednesday was 5 days ago, so yer concept of time is obviously fucked. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Well done Roberto you ex smoking bastard. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 well done! :thumbs: as a perpetual quitter (and re-starter), i'd say the first while is actually the easiest. the hardest part comes for me after about six months or so, when i think i've got it licked, and something happens and i just give into having one. and that's the start of it again. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I find it pretty easy to quit until I have a drink and then I find it virtually impossible. It really pisses me off cos I can go weeks without one but then as soon as I've had a few I can't not smoke. It's a horrible habit I wish I'd never tried it in the first place, once you do it's game over. Link to comment