Kilkito Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 as a perpetual quitter (and re-starter), i'd say the first while is actually the easiest. I'd agree with the above, and I'm a perpetual quitter and re-starter also. At the beginning you are motivated to do it, and know its going to be tough, so your able to do it. The mistake I have made over and over, is to think when out, and pissed, that having a fag wont do any harm, then I'm on to a few at the weekend wont do any harm, then back to everyday again, but its always the booze that gets me started. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 .........here we go again! Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 IFUCK ALL YOU SMOKER BASTARDS SMOKERS ARE JOKERS!!!!! are you one of "those" annoying ex-smokers? Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 All smokers are cunts. Link to comment
tup Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 But not all cunts are smokers. Me for instance. Link to comment
Jones Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Not what I meant loon. Apparently everyone says 'the first 3 days are the hardest' - and I'm saying it was a breeze. Yesterday I never had urges to smoke, whereas today I keep tasting smoke. It's bizarre. 72 hours is the length of time it takes for the physical addiction to pass, after that it's all psychological.. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 I like smoking. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I like smoking. as much as a good rumble at 4:45pm on a saturday afternoon? Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 as much as a good rumble at 4:45pm on a saturday afternoon? Can I do both at once? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Can I do both at once? well i'd imagine de niro or bruce willis could. but i'm nae sure about your credentials tho. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Can I do both at once? i should hope so! Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I only smoke between the sheets The friction fae yer wanking? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I only smoke between the sheets and duthie park bogs Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 well i'd imagine de niro or bruce willis could. but i'm nae sure about your credentials tho. and mark wahlberg. and vin diesel. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 and mark wahlberg. and vin diesel. And Daytripping. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 I see my old thread has been merged with this new one........don't try Champix, it makes you feel ill and so tired you can barely make it through the day. I still smoke. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I still smoke. you wouldnt see men in the 1950s giving up on ciggs. men these days are poofs. too much influence from the likes of becks and alan carr. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 Day 3 of stopping smoking after 23 years of puffing like a dragon. Gave up the weed 4 weeks ago (which wasnt as hard as it was the last couple of times I stopped ) so now its time for the fags. Going cold turkey, fucking killing me at points, sweating like a phedo at a Sunday school picnic!!! Who has tried, who has stopped and how did you beat it? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 Day 3 of stopping smoking after 23 years of puffing like a dragon. Gave up the weed 4 weeks ago (which wasnt as hard as it was the last couple of times I stopped ) so now its time for the fags. Going cold turkey, fucking killing me at points, sweating like a phedo at a Sunday school picnic!!! Who has tried, who has stopped and how did you beat it? Stopped a few times and started again. Working offshore and through in ABerdeen Monday - Friday was the killer for me. WIfe thought I'd stopped buit I used to smoke while away offshore or in Aberdeen. Ridiculous really as I could be at home for 4 weeks and not have one. FInally packed them this time last year. Cold turkey is the only way. Using gum, pills, pretend cigs etc is only kidding yersel on you've stopped. The gum won't help you quit it'll just delay you starting again. Same goes for other "nicotine replacement" methods. If you were a smack head then swopping to methadone won't get you clean. Same goes for tabs. Cold turkey is the only way. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 I was a 40 a day man, cut that down to about 30 for the last few weeks before quitting on Saturday morning. The day is killing me though, first day at work not smoking and it was an hourly ritual. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 I was a 40 a day man, cut that down to about 30 for the last few weeks before quitting on Saturday morning. The day is killing me though, first day at work not smoking and it was an hourly ritual. That's the tricky bit. I thought I could just go out to the smoking shelter and not have one but just enjoy the hourly banter. I couldn't. You have to change you're habits. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 Day 3 of stopping smoking after 23 years of puffing like a dragon. Gave up the weed 4 weeks ago (which wasnt as hard as it was the last couple of times I stopped ) so now its time for the fags. Going cold turkey, fucking killing me at points, sweating like a phedo at a Sunday school picnic!!! Who has tried, who has stopped and how did you beat it? Gave up the weed a week or so ago, which was pretty easy this time- last time.I went a month without, alcoholism as was a serious concern. Not stopped smoking altogether yet, but managing to get by on a couple of rollies a day now- less chemicals and less addictive than the readymades. Only.smoking in the evening helps, as trying to hide it from the wee man. Eventually, I'll get bored of that and just stop, I reckon. My main problem is half time at pittodrie and the pub, but I go to both less than I used to these days. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 Gave up the weed a week or so ago, which was pretty easy this time- last time.I went a month without, alcoholism as was a serious concern. Not stopped smoking altogether yet, but managing to get by on a couple of rollies a day now- less chemicals and less addictive than the readymades. Only.smoking in the evening helps, as trying to hide it from the wee man. Eventually, I'll get bored of that and just stop, I reckon. My main problem is half time at pittodrie and the pub, but I go to both less than I used to these days. Shame as half time at Pittodrie these days is generally the only time that something exciting happens. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 i got one of those electronic cigs, they're not bad as well, you get the bite at the back of the throat and smoke when you have a puff! i might smoke a marlboro light after a greasy meal and when i'm bevvied. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 Gave up the weed a week or so ago, which was pretty easy this time- last time.I went a month without, alcoholism as was a serious concern. Not stopped smoking altogether yet, but managing to get by on a couple of rollies a day now- less chemicals and less addictive than the readymades. Only.smoking in the evening helps, as trying to hide it from the wee man. Eventually, I'll get bored of that and just stop, I reckon. My main problem is half time at pittodrie and the pub, but I go to both less than I used to these days. Think the older you get the easier it is to stop smoking weed. Used to be I couldnt sleep for weeks when I tried stopping, this time though it only took a couple of days to get over the worst. Hardest thing was I was substituting 1 j with 3 fags. Thats why I packed the weed in first. Good luck with stopping! i got one of those electronic cigs, they're not bad as well, you get the bite at the back of the throat and smoke when you have a puff! i might smoke a marlboro light after a greasy meal and when i'm bevvied. When it comes to cigs if I smoke 1 I'll smoke 20. Dont see the point of the fake fags etc, just makes it easier to start again. Link to comment
Jones Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 I remember giving up weed when I went from smoking a fair amount every day to nothing. Horrible night sweats for weeks, crazy dreams, general all over fuzziness(not in a good way), was pretty brutal. Still have the occasional toke if pissed but would never go back to those days. Pretty pointless looking back. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 16, 2012 Share Posted January 16, 2012 Why not just switch to the E-Cigarettes? You can still look like a cool motherfucker, but without the carcinogenic side effects. Actually considered STARTING smoking them, just for the cool factor. Greensmoke Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted January 17, 2012 Share Posted January 17, 2012 Stopped and started more times than I care to remember. Right now got no interest in stopping. Good luck to all that have stopped of late Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 17, 2012 Share Posted January 17, 2012 going outstanding for me Day 3, school night, still sitting up at 1.12am unable to sleep. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted January 17, 2012 Share Posted January 17, 2012 All in the head spam. Get some kip. Link to comment