ollie1903 Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Chris Maguire was pish for Aiberdeen. Whatever he goes on to achieve elsewhere then so be it. Link to comment
Tommy Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Chris Maguire was pish for Aiberdeen. Whatever he goes on to achieve elsewhere then so be it. In his defence, he had a cracking game against united.Apart from that, i struggle to remember any others. Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 no, he wasnt he single handedly was our attack in his final season come on ollie...if youre into your youth you should know better than that Yet he accounted for only 17.7 percent of our league goals last year. (and two of those were in the meaningless game at hibs) Link to comment
K-9 Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 no, he wasnt he single handedly was our attack in his final season come on ollie...if youre into your youth you should know better than thatYup his 5 league goals in 35 starts from open play held us together Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Yup his 5 league goals in 35 starts from open play held us together This isn't particularly intended as a criticicm but that statistic says a lot more about our team that year then it does about Maguire. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 no, he wasnt he single handedly was our attack in his final season come on ollie...if youre into your youth you should know better than thatI'm nae really sure what you mean by that to be honest. Maguire, a couple of nifty crosses aside, was pish for Aberdeen. Itso facto Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Maguire was a very good player for Aberdeens standards. There's definitely a case that Aberdeen fans have turned on an awful lot of players in the past. Might get on a bit better if supporters actually supported... Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 He's out on loan and doing well at a struggling club getting plaudits from both the manager and the league picking up player of the month. He may or may not be a Derby next season but he will be in the Championship scoring goals and setting them up. Good player, totally underrated by our own support, mainly because he was a striker stuck out on the right for the development part of his career and never really given a real chance by JC or the fans to claim the striker slot for himself. When he was given that chance by MM he had just as good a season as Goodwillie, a player who everyone seemed to think was 10 times better than him. Well some people and those were the usual door faced cunted AFC supporters. The same ones who are now writing Robertson off and the same ones who had Ryan Jack as being utter shite last season. As MT said, shows how much some folk really know when it comes to what makes a decent player or how to spot potential in a young un. Well said. For the stattos, have a look at Mark McGhee's early Dons career. You'd have had him out the door before he won his first trophy with us. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Cmon min 3 goals and 1 assist in 11 games is nothing to get excited about. The fact that he also managed more bookings at goals again is quite funny though - the wee scamp. 3 goals from 28 shots? Comparable with Craig Bryson who has manged 6 goals from the same 28 shots in midfield. I take it you've watched all his games doon sooth stato to know he hasn't played well or contributed? Or are you just basing your presumptions on a couple of stats and your own view held for years about a young footballer who was still learning his trade (and still is) when he was with us. This is what fucks me off about a lot of so called fans of our club and football on here, so quick to pass judgement on the young players we have. Write them off after a few dodgy games, on their backs for not being top class at the age of 18 and expect them to be the finished article or fuck off. Its never ending, this season its Fyvie is SHITE!, Roberson is SHITE, Megginson can't finish and will never make it. Last season it was Jack that was SHITE, we miss Fyvie he's ace, Robertson will never make it as a footballer... We are a mediocre team in a pish poor league, our players will never be the finished article. If they were then they'd be playing for Arsenal or Chelsea. Instead they are young guys who have potential to make decent players out of themselves and need to have the backing of the fans. If they expect to be hounded as soon as they have a bad pass they'll hide on the pitch... The difference between sitting in Pittodrie and sitting somewhere like the Kyocera Stadion when their own kids are playing is like chalk and cheese. The ADO fans encourage their young players, good or bad pass, shot on target or ballooned out of the stadium. Means their players have the confidence to try things and learn quickly. Ours on the other hand look dire for the time they are there then head to Rangers to be classed as their player of the season or go to Celtic to win Scottish player of the season. Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Nope but watched the bulk of his games up here with my own eyes and formed my opinion based on what i had seen. Agree with regard to fans being short of patience with younger players, but maguire was in his 20's by that time he should have been a lot better than what he was. Im not wasting any more time arguing about the cretin, he will never amount to nothing more than an average league 1 player. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 I take it you've watched all his games doon sooth stato to know he hasn't played well or contributed? Or are you just basing your presumptions on a couple of stats and your own view held for years about a young footballer who was still learning his trade (and still is) when he was with us. This is what fucks me off about a lot of so called fans of our club and football on here, so quick to pass judgement on the young players we have. Write them off after a few dodgy games, on their backs for not being top class at the age of 18 and expect them to be the finished article or fuck off. Its never ending, this season its Fyvie is SHITE!, Roberson is SHITE, Megginson can't finish and will never make it. Last season it was Jack that was SHITE, we miss Fyvie he's ace, Robertson will never make it as a footballer... We are a mediocre team in a pish poor league, our players will never be the finished article. If they were then they'd be playing for Arsenal or Chelsea. Instead they are young guys who have potential to make decent players out of themselves and need to have the backing of the fans. If they expect to be hounded as soon as they have a bad pass they'll hide on the pitch... The difference between sitting in Pittodrie and sitting somewhere like the Kyocera Stadion when their own kids are playing is like chalk and cheese. The ADO fans encourage their young players, good or bad pass, shot on target or ballooned out of the stadium. Means their players have the confidence to try things and learn quickly. Ours on the other hand look dire for the time they are there then head to Rangers to be classed as their player of the season or go to Celtic to win Scottish player of the season. Totally agree. Maguire for example had the second most assists in the league in his last season with us (http://www.scotprem.com/content/default.asp?page=home_Statistics) Ignorance of the highest order to suggest he wasnt a key player for us. Link to comment
Redstar Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Totally agree. Maguire for example had the second most assists in the league in his last season with us (http://www.scotprem.com/content/default.asp?page=home_Statistics) Ignorance of the highest order to suggest he wasnt a key player for us. Which in turn would point to ignorance of the highest order that Broon hasn't make it high priority to replace him in 3 transfer windows... Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Aye and camara was high up that chart with celtic with 4 despite playing less than 90 minutes of football? Whats Weiss doing with himself these days? Link to comment
E-P-K Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Aye and camara was high up that chart with celtic with 4 despite playing less than 90 minutes of football? Whats Weiss doing with himself these days? On loan, but playing regular for Espanyol. Link to comment
oilcat Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 if we had the right manager they'd have stayedBollocks............Aluko was dead set on going the moment that Dingus fell out with him over the Nigerian international row...................Bebo had his head filled full of shyte by his agent and AFC would NEVER have matched the cash he go was offered at Derby Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 he will never amount to nothing more than an average league 1 player. Which sadly is a level above most of our current squad. Thanks for the confirmation! Hasn't he already shown himself to be a capable SPL player, and it might be argued that he's done ok in the Championship also? Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Which in turn would point to ignorance of the highest order that Broon hasn't make it high priority to replace him in 3 transfer windows... Not ignorance. Just that we dont have the funds to sign someone that good. We were lucky that Mcguire came from within . Link to comment
Stoney Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Lucky is not the word i would have chosen. Link to comment