Mcinnes: Bringing In A Defender In January Window

• Replies 140

As I said, I hope we can get a defender who can defend in. My implication and tacit addendum was... unlike Hector. I don't rate him.

Either way, we need more, and it would be great if it's not just 'cover' but someone who can fit in and improve the team, even if it's just a loan signing.

Aye, ADIO, hopefully Mcinnes has someone targeted who can do a job.

Thus far, McInnes has brought in some decent signings and his wheeling and dealing has been good.

In Deek we trust.

Hector has been a bit sporadic - good game one week mediocre the next but he's still a young Loon and I'd give him some time as there are times he's looked a class act albeit not often enough.

If Reading want him back though so be it - just as long as Deek gets someone in who is better.

Sounds like Consi will be out for a wee while as is Robertson.

Hopefully we will get someone in soon so that we don't have to resort to playing Chris Clark (I was going to add "in defence", but I'll just leave it as ......"don't have to resort to playing Chris Clark").

How's your Chrimbo going ADIO?

Time is it with you?

Are you slouched on the sofa yet having eaten too much chook?

Aye, ADIO, hopefully Mcinnes has someone targeted who can do a job.

Thus far, McInnes has brought in some decent signings and his wheeling and dealing has been good.

In Deek we trust.

Hector has been a bit sporadic - good game one week mediocre the next but he's still a young Loon and I'd give him some time as there are times he's looked a class act albeit not often enough.

If Reading want him back though so be it - just as long as Deek gets someone in who is better.

Sounds like Consi will be out for a wee while as is Robertson.

Hopefully we will get someone in soon so that we don't have to resort to playing Chris Clark (I was going to add "in defence", but I'll just leave it as ......"don't have to resort to playing Chris Clark").

How's your Chrimbo going ADIO?

Time is it with you?

Are you slouched on the sofa yet having eaten too much chook?

Oh jesus (topical)... the thought of it being Clark we rely on. :suicide:

We're terribly short of cover, and Shaughnessy is a central defender covering at full back and he does "ok" against not better players but his lack of experience and ability in that role was hammered home at the weekend, again. I think he's a good player just being misused which is unfortunate and a sin we seem to do as a club no matter who is in charge.

Robertson... is just more limited but we don't even have him either.

Considine and Reynolds are two big losses and Anderson is not going to be a first pick for much longer.

Hector totally reminds me of Touzani. You can see he's got class in there but damnit dude, do the simple things right. He gets the simple things wrong too often imo and a spectacular goal won't make up for that.

It's 2:30pm here and Chrimbo is going too hot by half here and too much food too. Eating done for now (cold bbq chook, ham off the bone, prawns, salad, stuff like that) and on my third cider for the day... slumped not on the sofa but on the PC. Thinking I'll get some FM in, or some Starbound.

Whatever happens, the next few hours are digestion time. :cheers:

We have been crying out for decent full backs for years. For too long we have been sticking centre backs out there, or magennis !

Mccardle had that misfortune under broon/McGhee and I think it's the main area to improve on to get 2nd and also win a cup. Just as long as its not a Richie Byrne or grassi differ. We really have signed some shite over the past few years. How much egg nog had been sunk prior to thinking those fuds could play football.

Mcnnauton and for a brief wee while Maurice Ross are the only 2 half decent full backs we have had in past few years. Maybe mulgrew but again he isn't a full back. He is a forgetful dad though

If we could get that Taylor-Sinclair loon from Partick I'd be absolutely delighted. Local Aberdeen lad too. Apparently the rumours about him being off to Celtic were a load of pish.

These are the kind of rumours that get started just to stop the likes of us signing such a player.

In the past these kind of rumours were to bump up the price but all they do now is prevent us actually signing players that still have time on their contracts.

Maybe get him on a precontract

Celtic have switched their attention to Armstrong at United which is why they have cooled on Taylor or Sinclair (I refuse to use these stupid double surnames).

Cannot see them spending the money Utd will be wanting for him.

Not when they'll be looking to replace Ledley & Smarmyass as well.

They might be after McGinn

Maybury? Did what he said on the tin, no more.

Mulgrew - hid being a pish left back behind being a terrific dead ball striker.

Won't win me any friends but a ridiculously cheap Foster wouldn't be a disaster if his head was in the right place. Suspect it wouldn't be, of course, he'd think he was johnny big balls coming back as captain so any other option preferable, as long as they're a full back. (and before anyone else says it I always thought Foster's best position was actually sweeper, so what do I know!

Maybury? Did what he said on the tin, no more.

Mulgrew - hid being a pish left back behind being a terrific dead ball striker.

Won't win me any friends but a ridiculously cheap Foster wouldn't be a disaster if his head was in the right place. Suspect it wouldn't be, of course, he'd think he was johnny big balls coming back as captain so any other option preferable, as long as they're a full back. (and before anyone else says it I always thought Foster's best position was actually sweeper, so what do I know!

Even if he'd somehow turned into a fantastic football player & not just a pacey (& pretty good) man marker. I still wouldn't want that poisonous little cunt anywhere near the team (& team spirit) we are building.

Have a +100 FnD.

Shite attitude when he was here and seeing him smirking in thon deceased Huns Xmas hat a while back sums him up for what he is.

I'd rather we introduced some of the youngsters into the team than pay thon little rat one AFC pound.