tup Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Are you a fan or not? Personally I am a major advocate of mince and tatties. I tried to do a vote but it didna work so ill count them. I ken a mannie who eats nothing but the above for dinner, for 40 years solid, he'scwalked out of many a restaurant because they dinna serve it. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 My wife's forte isn't her cooking, but she does make a mean mince 'n tatties. She also does a decent spag bol. Mince 'n tatties get a big yip from me - probably on the menu in Casa ChutneyLove about once or twice a month. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 After eating out for 8 days in a row, my wife said that she wanted nothing other than mince and tatties when we got home. So that's what she cooked when we got home. The most real meal of the week. Fantastic. Canna beat it. And a fraction of the cost of what we had been eating. Link to comment
Quagmire Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Stovies.Discuss. Stovies. Better than mince and tatties. Appreciated in the early hours of a New Year party or wedding. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 What about corned beef hash, where does that fit in the rankings? Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Corned beef hash is a pale imitation of the real thing. Poverty stovies if you ask me. Stovies from Thains is magical. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 I see your thinking - but I've has some corned beef hash that's better than some stovies. I once ordered stovies somewhere - and guess what? They were made with liver. Gads min. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Someone once tried to fob me off with corned hash as stovies. I no longer speak to that person. Corned beef hash is more of a hot sandwich filler, not to be served as a main meal. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Big fan Tup, peas n carrots mixed in'ana Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 I tell you who's lucky for stovies. Oatcakes. They would be lost without stovies. Who ever has just an oatcake? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 I have oatcakes with cheese, pâté, chorizo Better than crackers Stovies fae Cloggy Hoose are yummy too Weirdo. And as an answer to your earlier poser - mashed. Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 If you ever end up in hospital, Dinna tak the stovies. Mastrick baker - greenfern, used to do ace stovies, haven't been up there for a while though since I broke up with the ex, always used to get served my a bird with the biggest double chin ever, anyone else seen her? She's huge like but her chin is a proper droopy fat lug to lug number, could sleep under it. Link to comment
Master_of_Soulls Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 If you ever end up in hospital, Dinna tak the stovies. Mastrick baker - greenfern, used to do ace stovies, haven't been up there for a while though since I broke up with the ex, always used to get served my a bird with the biggest double chin ever, anyone else seen her? She's huge like but her chin is a proper droopy fat lug to lug number, could sleep under it. Does this said female have short ginger hair? If it is then her name is Ann-Marie and was in my year at school. At the age of 15 she was (around) 20-25 stone. Oh - Mince & Tatties are ace (although to hot at the moment to have them for dinner) Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 25 stone? Ginger skin-heid? She's sounding hot. Does she have any scars? Link to comment
Pash Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Skirlie with mince and tatties also Made with Alford Oatmeal Sometimes Peas +1 Link to comment
Pash Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 If you ever end up in hospital, Dinna tak the stovies. Mastrick baker - greenfern, used to do ace stovies, haven't been up there for a while though since I broke up with the ex, always used to get served my a bird with the biggest double chin ever, anyone else seen her? She's huge like but her chin is a proper droopy fat lug to lug number, could sleep under it. She sounds nice, why did you split up? Link to comment
Master_of_Soulls Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 25 stone? Ginger skin-heid? She's sounding hot. Does she have any scars? Her hair might be longer now - Its been a while since i've set foot in that bakery Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 M&T is best when done in a cottage pie. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Why? What do you do to them? Be fine for someone in with a broken jaw. They use all the stuff they cut off in operations for the meat. 1 Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Veg in your mince: Onion - yesCarrot - there will be blood Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Nae keen on mince that's too watery either. You need to be able to make wee piles of it. I'm nae interested in some soup-like substance on a flat plate. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 My life wouldn't change one bit if red and brown sauce were banned. Gads min, would rather have something plain. Mustard is an acceptable condiment. As is tartare sauce with fish. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Do you pretend it's sperm.No.but I present the maris pipers are your bald fat face when I mash then to a pulp. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Aye HP on bacon, egg and cheese roll. All together.Or mayo Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Trust me. Fried or poarched egg.Bacon with crispy fat.Nice slab of chedder.Loads of butter.And mayo.On white bread. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 Stovies > Mince and Tatties. Stovies + a handful of Oatcakes = heaven. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 28, 2014 Share Posted July 28, 2014 No way Not mayo Try it tonight min. Link to comment