Aberdeen 2 - 1 Dundee

Team still gelling but getting there. It's going to get much better.

Maynard, May, GMS, Stewart all showing signs of having not been regular starters for a while. The latter 3 all know the spfl so finding it a bit easier, Maynard is going to need a few games but is going to be an important player for us. I'm absolutely astonished that any fan could simply right him off after about a game and a half of football in a new league and not fully match fit. Bizarre.

Good to see Rooney back on the pitch.

I agree with the above however Rooney better step up as he looked like an amateur player yesterday.

. Ok they won. Got 3 points But sign of a good team ? Sign of pure luck as last week and week before. If they don't get their shit together and super Mcinnes keeps f------- Up his team selections. Some team is going to give them a thrashing. Sign a decent full back.

I'm sure it's probably been asked before but what team do you actually support?

'Sign of pure luck'...hahaha buy yourself some plastic sheets. Maybe the sign we've a good team and got players who can produce a goal like the winner?

Overall I just don't think the team has gelled yet. Hopefully it does before we go into the tough run of fixtures. However Christie just had a shocker, poor touch, passing and decision making. Just a poor day for him.

Clearly jealous of all the attention May is getting.

That's a good few times I've watched Cammy Kerr deny the opposition wingers any chance to beat him be it against us or Celtic,he's turned into a very good player we tried 3 different players plus Rooney! and no way past him.Bring him to Pittodrie after Shays finished I say

Good to get the win after a so so performance. Can't argue with 9 points from 9 but we've had a relatively easy start (compared to the likes of Hearts). The real tests lie further down the line.

McInnes seems to be trying to shoehorn certain players into the team which means the likes of Christie playing out of position. If Christie is to be a regular starter this season (which surely he must) then he must play as the number 10 behind the striker which realistically means the manager dropping one of Tansey or McLean. On current form the man who should be missing out is McLean.

I also really want to see O'Connor and Arnason play a few games together. Reynolds not really cutting it at the moment and he hasn't for some time now. As good as our attacking options are defensively we are still very vulnerable. Hopefully a fully fit Arnason can shore things up a bit. LB still a major weakness though especially against the better teams. We just don't have many defensive options which is why I'm hoping at least one more player will come in before the end of the window (with maybe the likes of Stockley and Storie going out on loan to balance things out).

I'm sure it's probably been asked before but what team do you actually support?

. I'm sure I've probably answered the question before. I like to see Aberdeen winning and playing good football like everyone else on this discussion board. But some on hear are in denial. How can so many players underperform in front of 15000 home supporters Be realistic. They have been lucky these last 3 to four games. Ok they have won But they need to plug the left side of their defence. Plus what I don't go along with is all these mouth peices who mouth off about how Aberdeen are going to thrash Dundee etc And Dundee are going down. They should shut the f----k. Up. Let's see what they do against Patrick and Motherwell. Plus the cup game. !!!!!!!!'

See McInnes has been wearing a suit on the touchline the last three games and now the players are suited and booted for their post match interviews. Club hired an image consultant or something?

Oh aye also saw the team bus going down Market Street at about half nine last night. McInnes taking them away for some intensive training somewhere?

Fucking awful performance.

These cunts looked like they were playing together for the first time.

Bottom line is the 3 points though.

Due to that, the total shiteness on show can be forgotten.

Thank fuck for Stevie may.

What a fucking strike.

His header was just as good. Fucking beauty.

Glad to be in one piece after an 11.30am - 4.30am quaffing shift.

seem OK at present. Perhaps still pished.

I was soaked right through to my punts.

Punts is a brilliant word.

We need another logan as lb then move considine to cb. Im nae writing off maynard but he's not impressed me yet, he seems lazy as fuck always walking whens he's not got the ball. Odd sub playing rooney on the wing.

Maynard is gradually starting to show his true colours.

Brown.

Like a steaming turd.

May & Rooney will be our top scorers this season (in that order) & Maynard will be a bit part player behind Christie in the goals tally

I doubt Rooney will score many.

When will he get into the team?

We play one striker. Stevie May is that striker.

Only way Rooney gets a start is if May is injured.

Or perhaps at home the odd game against cannon fodder. Though even skeptical aboot that possibility.

Mark Reynolds is shit. AOC good, again. dk why he took off GMS over Christie cause he was tripe. All added wee bits though, cant complain with a 2-1 after playing so shite.

Reynolds was fucking awful. Looking forward to when AOC and Arnason can be that CD partnership.

What is up with Kari anyway?

Christie was woeful. GMS didn't play well either, but not as bad as Christie.

Bizarre sub to put Rooney on to LM / LW when Scott Wright is gather ingsplinters in his doak.

Awful decision from McInnes. Rooney looked cumbersome as fuck.

Also thoroughly enjoyed him getting torn into the English during his interview they showed at half time

"Sums the English mentality up.

They think they are much better than they are.

Most over rated team in the history of football.

That was the most comfortable game we had."

Would laugh but canna. a blunt assessment and absolutely spot on.

Thought Greg Stewart was ace when he came on , very good feet and never lost possesion

Aye Stewart did well.

Great effort to give himself a chance at the end, but slightly confused by multiple postings talking about how he should have scored with his shot.

a guaranteed goal would have came about if he just rolled it across the 6 yard box to the 2 oncoming dandies who were in acres of space.
Woeful decisiom makingn

Mcinnes had better get his defence sorted out l this scraping by with 1-0 2-1 wins. Isn't going to last against the better teams. Aberdeen wide open on the left He had Wright sitting on the Bench puts Rooney on who does sweet f--- all. And again. They fail to perform in front of a big home crowd. Mcinnes your getting the crowds you asked for. Any more of these under performances and it will be back to 10000 at home games. Thank god for stevie May.

Good post.

Addressing most of the issues from yesterday's game.

. I'm sure I've probably answered the question before. I like to see Aberdeen winning and playing good football like everyone else on this discussion board. But some on hear are in denial. How can so many players underperform in front of 15000 home supporters Be realistic. They have been lucky these last 3 to four games. Ok they have won But they need to plug the left side of their defence. Plus what I don't go along with is all these mouth peices who mouth off about how Aberdeen are going to thrash Dundee etc And Dundee are going down. They should shut the f----k. Up. Let's see what they do against Patrick and Motherwell. Plus the cup game. !!!!!!!!'

.I think you've lost. It. !!..

Is this when you say 'delete your account'?

Watched the game and I echo the sentiments made by others on here. I think we still need to develop our teamwork and understanding between players. Our play was hasty and disjointed. It was almost like schoolboy football with players getting in one anothers way and rushing forward without thought. We were better once Mclean moved to midfield. We need someone to dictate our play and orchestrate our movement. We lacked composure.

We won despite our failings yesterday owing much to the individual efforts of May and O'Connor, and that all the team persevered. The side is not quite balanced and Wright would give us more width.

Dundee could feel aggrieved they didn't take a point.

COYR.

A really bitty performance yesterday. A lot of stray passes and general communication seemed to be lacking at times. We were pretty dire in terms of our attacking play between the goals May scored.

May is the type of player that will be able to conjure up something out of nothing for us, as exemplified with the winning goal. Sweet strike.

Anthony O'Connor strolled it for most of the game again. Seems to have really stepped it up since Taylor's departure (or Kari's arrival/).

However AOC's defensive partner is really worrying me. Reynolds extremely fortunate that Vincent hadn't a clue what to do with the gift he presented him with early on in the game. He looked generally shaky thereafter too. Remember one moment near the tunnel where he put AOC under a ridiculous amount of pressure to get the ball up the park when he could have just given it to Lewis or just opened up the play down the left.

Considine seems to be getting exposed very easily at the moment, and I don't just think it's because Hayes isn't in front of him anymore. He seems a bit slower than usual to read what his man is doing next.

Thought Greg Stewart was the man who changed things for us in the game though. Gave Dundee more to think about from time he came on to the end of the match than we had done collectively prior to him being subbed on. He could be key in home games. Capable of taking several out of the game and not even using pace. Very unfortunate with his shot in injury time after a fantastic bit of skill. A great save from Bain.

That's a good few times I've watched Cammy Kerr deny the opposition wingers any chance to beat him be it against us or Celtic,he's turned into a very good player we tried 3 different players plus Rooney! and no way past him.Bring him to Pittodrie after Shays finished I say

I'd go for him now whilst he's still affordable. I wonder if he can play left back.

We should think ourselves fortunate to have won the 3 points yesterday as Dundee were down to 9 men when we scored the winner.

May will (if he stays fit) get 25 goals this season.

O'Connor had a good game but our defence looks as shaky as hell at present. I do wonder though if this is due to our midfield being a lot more attack minded than I can remember in a good few years. Considine was bound to get slower as he gets older while Reynolds is a total bombscare at present. I also dislike the way Logan tends to go wandering away from his right back position at times.

Christie was stinking but we all know thats a rarity from him. GMS doesnt look at all fit yet which is bizarre.

Wright should have come on instead of Rooney and I thought Tansey was unlucky to be subbed off so early as many others were playing a lot worse than him.

A big boost seeing Hibs lose and a draw between Rangers and Hearts as we are nowhere near clicking yet.

Good to get the win after a so so performance. Can't argue with 9 points from 9 but we've had a relatively easy start (compared to the likes of Hearts). The real tests lie further down the line.

McInnes seems to be trying to shoehorn certain players into the team which means the likes of Christie playing out of position. If Christie is to be a regular starter this season (which surely he must) then he must play as the number 10 behind the striker which realistically means the manager dropping one of Tansey or McLean. On current form the man who should be missing out is McLean.

I also really want to see O'Connor and Arnason play a few games together. Reynolds not really cutting it at the moment and he hasn't for some time now. As good as our attacking options are defensively we are still very vulnerable. Hopefully a fully fit Arnason can shore things up a bit. LB still a major weakness though especially against the better teams. We just don't have many defensive options which is why I'm hoping at least one more player will come in before the end of the window (with maybe the likes of Stockley and Storie going out on loan to balance things out).

I'm half inclined to say sell McLean if he isn't planning on renewing his contract and invest in a decent left back. I'd also like to see us let both Stockley and Storie find new clubs and use their wages on a decent centre back.

Only problem with that is a serious lack of cover for the centre midfield position were both McLean and Storie to leave before the end of the current window to be replaced with defenders. Although I suppose Arnason and O'Connor could cover there if required. But we would be pretty scarce for specialist central midfield players.

Very good point. Was mentioned in the transfer rumour thread that McInnes had intended on bringing Maloney in along with May. McInnes also mentioned that performances would dictate whether we add any additional players to the current crop of players. On this evidence I believe we may see another defender join the ranks before the transfer window closes. I can still see Stockley departing.

A O'C is rightly getting praised for having another decent game but it still has to be said that he was 25% of what looked like a completely shambolic back line a few times in that game. If not for bad luck/shiteness/poor decision making from Dundee players we would not have gotten the three points. Yes it's great to get a win playing so shite ( at back especially) but that was pretty brutal stuff, any other team on another day would have capitalised from our pish performance in there.

Reynolds was worst by far, zero communication between him & A O'C it seems & that is what will make everything just fall apart.

What the hell is Arnason doing in training that allows Reynolds on this form to keep him out of the team? Or has Reynolds volleyed goal just given him a short stay of execution?

Anyway, enough about defence as it's clear to all we need improving there ASAP.

Combo of shit weather, dogged Dundee (rough play going unpunished by ref) & most of our team having a fkn hangover or something nearly cost us that win. It's great we were able to get that win, all that considered.

Stevie May has already shown what he will do for us. He will win us many more games that we'd otherwise have drawn/lost he WILL also win us a cup (or two) this season. He is that big a signing. Rooney can score goals & has right place/time instincts & can nick games for us but May has that & much much more also. Would be great to have the luxury to be able to play both up front together sometimes but that will weaken us elsewhere so won't happen much if at all.

Ref was a cunt again. Good few unpunished fouls & completely ignored fouls. That foul on Stewart outside their box right in front of ref & he gave Dundee a throw in WTF? Lol also a decent shout for a penalty.

Let's hope that is the worst we play all season.

Dundee not as bad as I thought they were/would be. They have to be given credit for helping to make us look so shite.

Any happy clappers that moan about anyone slating the team for playing so shit (even though we won) just take note that the players & managers are in complete agreement in that they know (& have said) they played shite. It's good that they have this attitude & realise they have to do much much better.

If McLean had no intention of extending, it's crazy that we didn't try a swing a straight swap deal with the scum for O'Hunaran.

Would have been a good deal. He offers more than McLean imo

Any happy clappers that moan about anyone slating the team for playing so shit (even though we won) just take note that the players & managers are in complete agreement in that they know (& have said) they played shite. It's good that they have this attitude & realise they have to do much much better.

Yeah that was actually good to hear in the interviews after the game. They said they were happy to win but disappointed they were nowhere near good enough.

They expect better.

I didn't think O'Connor was that good yesterday, none of our defenders were.

Granted, considerably less shite than Reynolds, but was in no way commanding against a pish Dundee team.

Agreed. He had a 30 minute spell in the second half where every time he got the ball it gave me the fear. He likes to think he's a ball playing centre-back and granted he probably is better on the ball than our other centre-backs but fucking hell, some of his touches yesterday were school boy esque. So often he'd attempt to control the ball only for it to come off of him and be picked up by Dundee.

I'm reluctant to slag AOC off too much for it though as he's only going to get better the more he tries it and I'd rather a defender with a bit of composure than the standard hoof ball merchantry that has become synonymous with this league.

Oh aye apparently his dad reads the hat so hi AOCs da.

Pre contracts agreed in Jan with both players swapping would be ok by me.

How long is his loan at St's? 6 months or all season?

I hope we make a move for O'Halloran - said at the start of the window we should make a move for him. McInnes did attempt to bring him here a few transfer windows back.

Would you still go for Moult in January on a pre season now that we have May?