Redforever86 Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 You walk into a bar, alone, where do you choose to sit? What if you are in a group? Does the day of the week effect your decision? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Bar if by yersel (table acceptable if reading a paper). Bar if in a group (and its nae too busy) if females in the group then sit at a table. Day of the week makes no odds imo. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted July 29, 2022 Author Share Posted July 29, 2022 Just now, Sooper-hanz said: It’s ‘affect’. Thank you, I always get them confused. Everyday is a school day, apart from weekends, the summer holidays, the October holidays, the Christmas holidays, the Easter holidays, local holidays and inservice days. Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Depends on the pub really. Usually at the bar, reading the paper/phone. Or at a table if the pub is quiet and I can't be arsed with the bar staff. Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Love sitting at the bar in the Vic/ Howff. Always take a table at Masada. KGB usually sit down beside the juker though stand at bar when Izzy is on. Stand at bar in Spirit Level, Sit at bar in moorings if alone, usually at table if with musical guru BSDH. Sit at table in Frigate. Rarely stand at a bar on a weekend evening, can’t be done with the crowds. Creature of habit it would seem Recently usually sitting outside people watching. Good bar staff can make all the difference. Bar etiquette always maintained. Mostly Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Don't make a habit of going to bars on my own... its the good thing about having friends. If i am there 5 minutes before the rest of my group then it'll be a case of get a pint and play the bandit while waiting. Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Dinna go to bars. They are fill o' strange cunts sittin' aboot. Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Just now, zeroisgod76 said: Don't make a habit of going to bars on my own... its the good thing about having friends. If i am there 5 minutes before the rest of my group then it'll be a case of get a pint and play the bandit while waiting. ? get out the pub 2 Link to comment
zeroisgod76 Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 6 minutes ago, Poodler said: ? get out the pub Alright Peggy. Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 6 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Always at the bar in the Vic (had my own side for 15 year) Masada a seat away from the bar, unless talking to/boozing with the old boys standing at the bar. On a Saturday I liked to get the ledge bit between the two pillars as soon as you walk in the door and lean there Bells always at the bar Grill the bar OKH - the bar also The hijinx end of the VB Link to comment
sigh Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 1 hour ago, Bad_Mobby said: Different bars, different seats Some bars I like sitting at the bar and others I sit away from the bar or at the window to watch the world go by if nice barmaids (Horseshoe) I’ll sit at the bar if nice barmaids with my missus in tow, away from the bar If I’ve the dog, away from the bar if bar has window looking out onto a busy street, at the window Never understand why people bring their dug tae a bar - chances are it will bark/wander about at some point and just piss people off - or is that the reason folk take their dogs to the bar, just to annoy folks? If you get a dog then at least exercise it properly, and also learn to leave it outside of pubs & shops, or leave it at home - and if your dog cant be left then wither its no trained enough or you shouldn't have a dog. Me, in a bar, stand at the bar when on own or in group of males but generally sit at table when in mixed company Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 different pubs ….. different needs Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 1 hour ago, Redforever86 said: You walk into a bar, alone, where do you choose to sit? Some place where the krew can just be out of shot Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 21 minutes ago, BrianFaePerth said: Some place where the krew can just be out of shot be stupid to post folks faces on here. what’s your excuse ? Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 11 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said: At the door in here. The beastie? Good bar but missing the juker 1 Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 14 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said: At the door in here. Far's 'at like. Is the roof the clue? Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 3 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Red Lion, innit? I assume so. Must be well over 30 years since I've been in there. 1 Link to comment
CCB III Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 2 hours ago, Redforever86 said: You walk into a bar, alone, where do you choose to sit? What if you are in a group? Does the day of the week effect your decision? In a corner. Away from the crowd. Try to avoid small talk. Different when you're with mates obv but if you're scoofing a couple yourself nothing worse than some pissed up gype giving you the chat 1 Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 44 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Far's 'at like. Is the roof the clue? Aye it's the Red Lion mate .? Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 40 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Red Lion, innit? In one Mobby well done you know your pubs mate. Link to comment
Edwin Starr Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 2 minutes ago, Roberto said: I was in the Red Lion before Huns game last season. Cracking boozer. It is indeed .? Link to comment
Guest Grays Babylon 1875 Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Away from where there are people if I can manage it. Sat on a turned upside down 4 legged stool. Change legs every 15 minutes. Me, lager. .. Link to comment
Poodler Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 7 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said: In one Mobby well done you know your pubs mate. It’s the beastie to regulars, dinna you be ignoring my correct guess first, Starski Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 27 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said: Aye it's the Red Lion mate .? Is yon Khyber Pass curry place still open across the road? Used to use it a fair bit back in the day. Used ti be good like. Link to comment
Simply Red Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Aye Khyber used to be a cracking curry hoose. Dunno if its still open Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Just now, Roberto said: It's still open. Majorly downhill however. Really? That's nae good. My mate at that times wife was pally wi a lassie that worked there. We fat blonde thing. Canna' mind her name tho but we used it quite a lot. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 Always find a table or a nook facing the door, so if anyone you know comes in they can come over and pay tribute. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted July 29, 2022 Share Posted July 29, 2022 4 hours ago, Redforever86 said: You walk into a bar, alone, where do you choose to sit? What if you are in a group? Does the day of the week effect your decision? Tidy barmaid - at bar Ugly barmaid - at a table Annoying barman - at a table Busy boozer with few regulars at bar - leaning against bar Ugly barmaid (and I'm drunk) - at bar Aggressive little bald man in the boozer - by the pool table humiliating him Link to comment