Next Manager

12 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

My post was about what would have happened if we stuck with Glass. Not Sir Derek, there’s already 8000 threads taken over by that 

Apologies my bad.  It’s what happens when you hit refresh and we’re 5 pages on.

fwiw I disagree with your Glass point.  Whilst he clearly wasn’t the right person to take a stab at the job the principle to break out of the Largs rut and switch to a modern dare I say data driven approach was the right one.  The mistake was then not properly researching Goodwin and when the chips were really down letting heart rule head with Robson.

Cest La vie n’that,ken.

15 minutes ago, Sheepskin_1903 said:

Another page of mini saying data driven and the correct structure, someone else saying i don’t think we will have anyone in the summer and a mention of porn and toddler in the same sentence. 

nuke this thread 

And don't forget the obligatory someone calling for the thread to be binned every other page.

4 minutes ago, strachanmcgheegoal said:

Apologies my bad.  It’s what happens when you hit refresh and we’re 5 pages on.

fwiw I disagree with your Glass point.  Whilst he clearly wasn’t the right person to take a stab at the job the principle to break out of the Largs rut and switch to a modern dare I say data driven approach was the right one.  The mistake was then not properly researching Goodwin and when the chips were really down letting heart rule head with Robson.

Cest La vie n’that,ken.

Agree. That’s why I’m curious about how it would have went. 

it’s becoming more clear you couldn’t be arsed reading my post and I actually respect that 

3 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Agree. That’s why I’m curious about how it would have went. 

it’s becoming more clear you couldn’t be arsed reading my post and I actually respect that 

Genuinely I wanted it to work for him (and yes for Brown too) so I understand the “what if we’d waited” thing.

Regrettably I do just think he was the wrong person, wrong place, wrong time .  Some sympathy for the view of course had he had an experienced hand alongside plus an effective DoF.

But this is also old ground, spilt milk under the bridge.

47 minutes ago, minijc said:

Sort of but if you want to be data driven with a sustainable transfer model and low player turnover then you need to give the manager time. 

It helps if you have a fully functional structure in place, something we never had for Glass, with Goodwin we abandoned the approach and I do agree he could have been sacked sooner, same with Robson.

Looking at how Thelin operates he quite clearly needs time especially with this squad, any similar manager to Thelin will need time and the club need to ride the good with the bad.

I quite agree with you managers need time and if a German comes in we need to be more patient as fans I’d say.

Except Goodwin he was awful and should never have been offered the job anyway. 

4 hours ago, standfree1978 said:

Fans will get behind a new manager and style of play when there's clear signs of what we're trying to do. Robson was/is an arrogant twat who couldn't string 2 sentences together, let alone set up a team to "counter press" with "quick transitions" and "playing through the lines". Thelin for example has had the time to implement his ideas because the board and fans could see it working. Under Goodwin and Robson, i had no idea what we were trying to do.

I think that's unfair. There were many games where you could see what Robson was trying to do and it looked good. Away in Europe in particular we looked like a 'proper team' as Robson would say. Where Robson got caught out was his squad was unfinished - He was relying on the fully backs providing the width and on Morris and maybe Hayes being some sort of further forward alternative. McGarry got injured. Morris got injured. Duk was short of his pre season finish and it meant when we had to be on the front foot we weren't as effective. Maybe if had kept Watkins and Matty Kennedy he would have had enough cover. There were times (Motherwell away) (even Hibs away where we unbelievably lost and could have scored 8  )  when we looked really top notch. The other glaring weakness is the defence was selected with Europe in mind and fell short of dealing with the Scottish Square Go after every high ball is lofted towards the box. 

They say it is a matter of fine margins. If we had won the cup and if we had beaten Paok at home - both of which we should have done, we would have been looking at a completely different picture. 

Look at the league - Dundee in 6th have won just two more games than us. When you think of some of the disasters that turned a game against us we have also been really unlucky. I don't mind fans being frustrated and wanting more but given Barry put his heart and soul into it and gave us third place last year out of nothing - I'd like to think we could give him some credit and a bit of respect.

• Confused 1
  • Dildo 4
5 minutes ago, RedRevolution said:

I think that's unfair. There were many games where you could see what Robson was trying to do and it looked good. Away in Europe in particular we looked like a 'proper team' as Robson would say. Where Robson got caught out was his squad was unfinished - He was relying on the fully backs providing the width and on Morris and maybe Hayes being some sort of further forward alternative. McGarry got injured. Morris got injured. Duk was short of his pre season finish and it meant when we had to be on the front foot we weren't as effective. Maybe if had kept Watkins and Matty Kennedy he would have had enough cover. There were times (Motherwell away) (even Hibs away where we unbelievably lost and could have scored 8  )  when we looked really top notch. The other glaring weakness is the defence was selected with Europe in mind and fell short of dealing with the Scottish Square Go after every high ball is lofted towards the box. 

They say it is a matter of fine margins. If we had won the cup and if we had beaten Paok at home - both of which we should have done, we would have been looking at a completely different picture. 

Look at the league - Dundee in 6th have won just two more games than us. When you think of some of the disasters that turned a game against us we have also been really unlucky. I don't mind fans being frustrated and wanting more but given Barry put his heart and soul into it and gave us third place last year out of nothing - I'd like to think we could give him some credit and a bit of respect.

We literally didn’t have a shot in the cup final. I’m not sure that’s a small margin. 

Yeah, we looked weirdly good against superior opposition in Europe. For whatever reason the pace of play or the way paok or Frankfurt played really seemed to suit us. Shite in the league though. It’s weird huh. Either way Robson was a stubborn twat without any flexibility 

1 hour ago, RedRevolution said:

Are you the chairman of AFC? Genuine question.

2 hours ago, RedRevolution said:

Clueless^^^^^

6 hours ago, RedRevolution said:

Nah, we also took games we really should have been humped in, particularly in the early games before lesser teams sniffed how vulnerable we were.

ive never understood the thinking that says ok, we’ve gone as far as a back 4 (aye, a decent back 4) will take us, now let’s go the next step to a five, especially a 5 with questionable wing backs.

it works for the cheeks I get that but that’s because the 3 are virtually unchallenged and the wing backs are basically wingers if not outright attackers.

With respect, we don’t carry the same aura therefore teams aren’t going to sit in the same.

8 hours ago, RedRevolution said:

Yes, in that moment we should have beaten PAOK at home. However the fine margin you speak of was created by Robson and that triple sub at 2-0.

We were poor in the final. 1 credible open play chance that I can remember and it didn't even register as a shot in target. I can't see how you can say we should have won that.

8 hours ago, RedRevolution said:

Aye you could - get us fucking relegated 

“if we had won the cup” 😂

That would have required us to have a shot on goal so we were never winning it with that thick tcheuchter hun cunt in the dugout 

9 hours ago, RedRevolution said:

You must be related to Robson if you believe that.

He was out of his depth, it was obvious way before he got sacked.

If we’d sacked him a lot earlier then we did, wouldn’t be in the mess we’re in.

That’s not Robson’s fault, it’s 100% on the inept Board/FMB. 

11 hours ago, Willo flood said:

That at least what he was trying to do aligned with our ‘philosophy’ at the time, and maybe with more time we could of got better when we weren’t playing with players like Jet, Bates, Gallagher, Samuels etc who were all signed without a HOR in place .

But as I said, I don’t think much would have changed and I was for his sacking at the time. But he’s the only one out of the 3 you could attempt to make an argument for.

More time. Jeeeezzzzus Christ, he should have been sacked after we got pumped at Dens Park but Cormack didn't want to upset his wee vanity project and allowed him to bumble on.

He was absolutely hopeless and clearly out of his depth as has been stated. The start of the rot.

2 hours ago, strachanmcgheegoal said:

Nah, we also took games we really should have been humped in, particularly in the early games before lesser teams sniffed how vulnerable we were.

ive never understood the thinking that says ok, we’ve gone as far as a back 4 (aye, a decent back 4) will take us, now let’s go the next step to a five, especially a 5 with questionable wing backs.

it works for the cheeks I get that but that’s because the 3 are virtually unchallenged and the wing backs are basically wingers if not outright attackers.

With respect, we don’t carry the same aura therefore teams aren’t going to sit in the same.

I can’t think of Celtic playing that way since O’Neil. 

Most of the league play a back 5. Celtic & rangers don’t though. And quite easily dismantle those who do. Better players obviously, but we should be getting results too…. Next season 🤞🏻