Thread O Aberdeen

Ke1t

On 4/26/2024 at 4:53 PM, chief_wiggum said:

Aye, seen quite a few, used to get a laugh at them sheepishly coming back in for their 1 hour prints, the woman would usually be giggling and I'm thinking "Ive seen your fanny", felt like saying ...next time use a 35mm and nae a disc camera your blurt was blurry!  (used to put an overexposed sticker on it :laughing:)

Don't think folk realised this was before everything was totally computerised so as a printer we had to look and assess every negative and print them individually,then check each picture for quality and dust marks. Got some right eye fulls 👀

I was waiting to pick up my photos from Jessop's when the guy in front was having some problem. Heard the guy behind the counter say: " I'm not allowed to give you the photos, as we don't believe the person in the photos is over 16."

1 hour ago, G31DON said:

I was waiting to pick up my photos from Jessop's when the guy in front was having some problem. Heard the guy behind the counter say: " I'm not allowed to give you the photos, as we don't believe the person in the photos is over 16."

We got told as long as they look old enough and not pornographic you can print them. There was one time our boss went off on one, I was off so missed the juicy pics, but she had words with the guy saying the pics were embarrassing the young girls (nae me 😏) that work there and they were too rude, sounded like the best pics ever and I missed them😠 

5 hours ago, Ke1t said:

One of the real characters of Aberdeen... sadly missed, like shacky heid mannie. 

Shaky heid mannie - what a life he had. Have never seen anyone behave like that before or since.,

Not read the thread, too busy to sit on here these days. Uber won't happen here, council will insist on drivers doing the knowledge. It's a very small city, cars have sat navs to give the best route. That won't be enough for the council.

Won't be allowed here, city is full of teuchter backwards cunts who want to live in the dark ages, the councillors are in it for expenses and lunch, little power trip along the way. Should be 2 professional intelligent people who want the best for the City, not a room a mongols who think they're politicians. What the fuck has party politics got to do with local council business, the whole system is fucked.   

Remember we are talking about a council here who agreed to build an airport terminal the opposite side from a railway station just so the taxis would be able to get more fares.

I would welcome Uber to Aberdeen but you just know that they will be up against it from the taxi owners and the backward thinking councillors they have in their back pocket.

My uncle was a taxi driver in the latter stages of life. Made good money on the rigs in the 70s and then squandered it on two failed marriages (think his first wife was working the docks while he was offshore and his second ended up at Woodend). He was a bit of an arsehole to be fair but had a good heart. I mean that figuratively rather than literally because he was an alcoholic and died of a heart attack in 2010 at 62. Always remember the time he took my favourite jumper at age 7, tied it in a knot and booted it high in the air onto the patch of grass at Willowpark Cresent in Mastrick. 

Some folk of older vintage might remember him. Looked a bit like Donald Trump and latterly had rotten front teeth because he was terrified of the dentist. Drove a black Ford Scorpio. Obviously would have fucking hated Uber. RIP uncle Ronald.