Chopper Ditched

zander

I just found out my mates brother was on the flight that killed all on board an hour before it happened. He was on the flight to or from the platform before.

Offshore workers know what they are up against, but we expect no sympathy from anyone who hasnt been offshore. I go and work offshore so I can give my family a comfortable life and so i can have quality time with them when i am at home, with type of trade I have I am making as much as I possibly can given the experience I have, so comparing it to football I am playing at the "top of my game" for now. The Norweigans have a much better way of life, and their employing companies seem to "give a f**k" about the welfare of the men. Their unions have secured a permanent 2/4 rota as have the Danish. Yet as usual the UK are clinging on to slave labour and making sure profit margins are higher than ever before.

I'm lucky enough to have a 2/2, 2/4 rota (same as 2/3) So i can get a month at home doing the school run, or taking kids swimming etc. But in any occupation if your employing company fall behind the others or behind inflation rates etc, then most of you will have something to say. My employing company has just recognised this and due to lads leaving have just agreed a payrise (not sure its better than anywhere else but its good enough to take us back in line i believe) and should see it in this months wages.

Another reason for me to be offshore is because it can be a good route to better things, more and more people branching out into Project work. Money to be made onshore in that game, but I don't know too much about it. I've also heard that the subsea industry is a way to go, but never worked in subsea gear, although was offered a job at a company in Stoney before I ended up offshore with my last company.

People are not forced to work offshore. You know the pay and risks when you take the job.

Nobody is really forced to work anywhere. You work where you can get it though.

& the pay & risks are for a reason & rightly are higher offshore otherwise every cunt would just work on shore :dontknow:

I still believe that it should be a lesser tax for those offshore though, if for nothing else but the fact that they spend more time away than regular folk do :dontknow:

Only idiots would expect folk doing the same job onshore to earn the same as those doing it offshore & that's why those idiots would never get any cunt to work for them offshore :dontknow:

I just found out my mates brother was on the flight that killed all on board an hour before it happened. He was on the flight to or from the platform before.

Offshore workers know what they are up against, but we expect no sympathy from anyone who hasnt been offshore. I go and work offshore so I can give my family a comfortable life and so i can have quality time with them when i am at home, with type of trade I have I am making as much as I possibly can given the experience I have, so comparing it to football I am playing at the "top of my game" for now. The Norweigans have a much better way of life, and their employing companies seem to "give a f**k" about the welfare of the men. Their unions have secured a permanent 2/4 rota as have the Danish. Yet as usual the UK are clinging on to slave labour and making sure profit margins are higher than ever before.

I'm lucky enough to have a 2/2, 2/4 rota (same as 2/3) So i can get a month at home doing the school run, or taking kids swimming etc. But in any occupation if your employing company fall behind the others or behind inflation rates etc, then most of you will have something to say. My employing company has just recognised this and due to lads leaving have just agreed a payrise (not sure its better than anywhere else but its good enough to take us back in line i believe) and should see it in this months wages.

Another reason for me to be offshore is because it can be a good route to better things, more and more people branching out into Project work. Money to be made onshore in that game, but I don't know too much about it. I've also heard that the subsea industry is a way to go, but never worked in subsea gear, although was offered a job at a company in Stoney before I ended up offshore with my last company.

Since when has Danish sector been 2/4? They had gone 2/3 but had to change back to equal time to save money.

Unless some are still doing it I don't know but never heard of anyone 2/4 in Denmark that I ken of

Being reported that the ditching was as a result of "LOW OIL PRESSURE" warning on Aircraft Annunciator Panel, on main gearbox assembly. There's an enormous amount of things that might throw up that kind of warning, though. Will have to wait on more information from the AAIB investigation.

Well oil was dripping down the windows.

My dad got onshore on Friday with Bond and they de-briefed them upon arrival. Basically the red light came on for oil pressure, so they turn back..... if the other little red light comes on..... they MUST ditch, get the chopper down wherever you are. So it was a controlled landing hence why the pilots are being praised.

It will be interesting to see if the initial fault is caused by poor maintenance or maintenance schedules not being adequate. Aeronautical maintenance should be as stringent as Nasa to be honest. Something goes wrong...people die unfortunately.

Summary:

The crew of the helicopter carried out a controlled ditching following indications of a failure of the main gearbox (MGB) lubrication system and, subsequently, a warning indicating failure of the emergency lubrication system. All passengers and crew evacuated the helicopter into a life raft and were subsequently rescued. Two passengers sustained minor injuries. The investigation has identified a 360° circumferential crack in the bevel gear vertical shaft in the main gearbox, in the vicinity of a manufacturing weld, causing disengagement of the drive to both mechanical oil pumps

http://www.aaib.gov....uma__g_redw.cfm

My dad got onshore on Friday with Bond and they de-briefed them upon arrival. Basically the red light came on for oil pressure, so they turn back..... if the other little red light comes on..... they MUST ditch, get the chopper down wherever you are. So it was a controlled landing hence why the pilots are being praised.

It will be interesting to see if the initial fault is caused by poor maintenance or maintenance schedules not being adequate. Aeronautical maintenance should be as stringent as Nasa to be honest. Something goes wrong...people die unfortunately.

Unfortunately compensation is cheaper than maintenance.

The other red light will be, I assume, the emergency lube system for the MGB. AAIB has announced a 360 degree crack in the bevel gearing which caused both engine-driven oil pumps to disengage; starving the MGB of oil and necessitating ditching. Had they not ditched, the MGB would have seized and probably torn the whole main rotor off.

Jesus. I missed the emergency lube nae working on the first link.

A very lucky escape.

Intitial AAIB report is very interesting reading. Glycol present in the MGB confirms the emergency lube system did function, and may have continued to function. In other words, the issue may not be that both lubrication systems failed, but that for whatever reason, the master caution on the emergency system activated without the accompanying failure of the system itself.

Interesting.

Intitial AAIB report is very interesting reading. Glycol present in the MGB confirms the emergency lube system did function, and may have continued to function. In other words, the issue may not be that both lubrication systems failed, but that for whatever reason, the master caution on the emergency system activated without the accompanying failure of the system itself.

Interesting.

Or alternitively it could have worked for a short amount of time before failing. Need to wait for the full report to know any more. Either way I'm glad I wasn't on that fucker.

Aye. Would be interesting to see when the FDR recorded the Emergency Lube Master Caution in terms of time elapsed after MGB engine-driven pump(s) failure.

I think the emlube system is designed to work after total loss of MGB oil, not total loss of MGB oil pressure. I'm not sure if the gearbox still being full of fluid would maybe stop the emergency system from functioning as advertised?

And for anyone not keen on flying with Bond, I understand your fears given the frequency of their problems recently, but these incidents could just as easily have happened to one of the other operators. Bad practise was in no way a factor in last weeks ditching.

funny-celebrity-pictures-hello-mr-bond.jpg

I think the emlube system is designed to work after total loss of MGB oil, not total loss of MGB oil pressure. I'm not sure if the gearbox still being full of fluid would maybe stop the emergency system from functioning as advertised?

I'm not familiar enough with the Eurocopter to say; I'd have thought the EmLube system would discharge if it detected a failure of both engine-driven pumps, or a loss of MGB oil pressure below a critical value. I can't say for sure though.

• 4 weeks later...