Scottish Football Restructuring

i would go for a 16, 14, 12 formation of leagues, promotion relegation 2 up / 2down. the third bottom /3rd top play off in every division.

top league play twice (h+ A) ,

2nd div, h +a then split the top 6 bottom 8 play (h+a) again

3rd div , h+a , then split again then top6( they could play for The Calderwood Top 6 Cup) bottom 6 h +a again.

league cup back to sections, 8 groups of 4, top two in each group going through. no seeded sides straight draw.

top div posistion 4-7 play off for europa lge spot.

retain challenge cup, the winner should get automatic place in last 16 of Scottish cup.

3pts for win, 2pts for score draw, 1 pt no score draw.

in scottish cup, i would like to see the 16 top division sides if drawn against lower division side in 4th round have to play that tie away from home.

all gate money league and cup split 50/50.

winter break ,

bring back reserve league,

top div sides can farm out under 20 year old's to lowre lge clubs, before each season a feeder club and farmed club are drawn out of a hat. ( all 12 third div sides and 4 bottom div 2 clubs)

one organisation with board consisting of two reps from each div, one chair independent. and must also include one supporter rep.

i forgot to add i would also keep replays in the Scottish cup but if tie is all square after replay, then would go to away goals rule, before extra time.

Fairer distribution of prized money and play offs I said.

Please read and try and understand before posting pish.

Wigan were heavily bankrolled, as were Gretna funnily enough.

Berwick and the rest have been meandering along for decades without the slightest hint that they'd like to move up to a full time status in a higher league.

whats your problem? painters in again you fucking woman

Clubs will find their level with the introduction of a pyramid system. If Berwick have no hint of hitting the top league then its likely they'd end up doing the same again. If they some how did improve and move up they;d be able to attract a better quality player since they were in the top league.

OK what about Caley? not bank rolled, and built themselves up to attract better players. All the way from the highland league

Caley wanted to make rapid progress up the leagues, and they made the SPL within a decade - massive catchment area too etc.

Please provide me of some examples of clubs who, as a direct result of top league expansion rather than any intent themselves to make the top flight, have gone from part time nobodies to worthwhile additions to the top flight.

There probably aren't any as I don't know of any leagues that expanded.

I think you are far to dismissive of Caley's achievement. Like every other club they have to deal with the huns and tims support in their own back yard. They don;t attract massive crowds or haver a lot of money. They are well run and they had ambition which allowed them to move up. another example is Ross County

Ross County is another thats made it up to the top tier.

Well why do you think both have made it up within 10/15 years of getting league status, whereas there are others who haven't ever been in the top flight for decades if ever? :sherlock:

Foresight and ambition - a lot of the clubs in the lower leagues don't appear to have an iota of that and seem to be quite happy plodding along.

well if Berwick have none of this you won't have to worry about seeing them playing in the top flight will you?

They'd probably end up in one of the regional leagues

Well if this 18 team league came about then it'll be teams like them full of electricians who will be fighting for a place in Scotlands top division.

so are you looking for system that keeps those teams out?

what would you do if Berwick or any other part time team made it up to your proposed set up?

I would try 'summer' football for 2 years see if it works, it might be shite, but it would have some benefits for all clubs. Clubs Would have to spend less money on flood lights, under soil heating ect, We may get more interest from TV.

I like the idea of a play off, although 2nd bottom from the premier playing 2nd top from the 1st seems a bit shit. It should be 2nd and 3rd bottom playing over two legs to stay up. Winner gets nothing, looser gets all the money from the 2 leg play off. 2nd top and 3rd top from first do the same thing for promotion. The looser gets the cash, the winner goes up.

This would surely make it more exiting at the end of the season ans it brings more teams into the mixer of promotion and relegation.

We could try the following:

1. Increase the total amount of league teams to 48, 3 divisions of 16

Premier League - 16 teams

1st Place = Champions league

2nd Place = 2nd Champions League (When applicable) or 1st Europa League Spot

3rd - 9th = 1st or 2nd Europa League spot. Playoff

Scottish Cup = 2nd or 3rd Europa League Spot

League Cup = 3rd of 4th Europa League spot

Positions 16 & 15 = Relegated

Positions 14 & 13 = Play off with positions 3 & 4 in Division 1

Division One - 16 Teams

Positions 1 & 2 = Promotion

Positions 3 & 4 = Play off

Positions 16 & 15 = Relegated

Positions 14 & 13 = Play off with positions 4 & 5 in Division 2

Division Two - 16 Teams

Positions 1, 2 & 3 = Promotion

Positions 4th & 5th = Play off

Positions 16 - Playoff with a Junior team wishing to gain access to the Football League.

If they made it up they made it up, however if any part time team made it up would be an indication that the quality in Scottish Fitba wasn't there.

You're asking irrelevant questions though, there's a difference them getting there through sporting merit and just getting them in to make up the numbers when they might be quite happy with where they are now.

If they are happy where they are now then you would see them drift to their natural position and stay in the lower league or drop to the regional set up.

No, if there's an 18 team league then it's pretty much guaranteed part time teams would be in the league within a season.

looking at the teams in the SFL 1 & 2 right now. the part time sides would need to have one hell of a season to get past the rest. Not impossible but far from a guarantee

Right, so there's 18 teams in the new, sooper dooper SPL - say the existing 11 SPL clubs, NewHun and 6 others from SD1.

You're struggling to find any full time teams beyond them to fight for promotion.

Berwick are in Division 3. They currently have 14 teams in front of the. As already said, if a part time team made it up they would become full time. Caley and Ross County started out as part time and look at them now.

Right, so there's 18 teams in the new, sooper dooper SPL - say the existing 11 SPL clubs, NewHun and 6 others from SD1.

You're struggling to find any full time teams beyond them to fight for promotion.

Berwick are in Division 3. They currently have 14 teams in front of the. As already said, if a part time team made it up they would become full time. Caley and Ross County started out as part time and look at them now.

simplicity is the key.

its the basis of football and national league setups should reflect that. thats why our split is so crap.

promotion and relegation should be clear, not half arsed measures like play offs.

you should play home and away once each a season. anything else is silly

Wrong, Ross County and ICT moved full time long before they made the SPL because they had long term ambitions that went beyond the Berwick's and Arbroath's of this world, none of which have ever expressed any desire whatsoever to go full time.

berwick - tell them to fcuk off back to england.

arbroath - merge them with montrose and forfar for a big hitting tayside united. then they'll go full time.

Wrong, Ross County and ICT moved full time long before they made the SPL because they had long term ambitions that went beyond the Berwick's and Arbroath's of this world, none of which have ever expressed any desire whatsoever to go full time.

again if they have no desire then they will just stay there won't they? I'm sure a compromise can be made somewhere. The idea's won't be perfect but should not be dismissed based on the fact a part time team might have some success.

Not sure that matters much right now. With the correct structure and opportunities then someone will take them.

simplicity is the key.

its the basis of football and national league setups should reflect that. thats why our split is so crap.

promotion and relegation should be clear, not half arsed measures like play offs.

you should play home and away once each a season. anything else is silly

Great aye. But not possible in Scotland as there are not going to be enough teams for a 20 or 22 team division. 18 teams without playoffs to add more interest and more games (more income) makes a weaker league IMO.

Not sure why it silly. Lots of European countries have ways to use play offs etc to get whats needed for them.

berwick - tell them to fcuk off back to england.

arbroath - merge them with montrose and forfar for a big hitting tayside united. then they'll go full time.

And I just don't get the force clubs to shut down/merge etc approach.

How does that possibly help?

Small clubs survive as small clubs and are no drain on anyone else whatsoever. If they are forced to shut down the fans won't all pop along to some made up team thats there to replace them. Those fans will just be lost.

All thats needed is a pyramid system so badly run small teams can be allowed to drift into obscurity and better run teams can climb up the league.

Forcibly reducing the number of teams in no way will help anyone and reducing the size of the senior leagues is a false economy as well I believe. I just haven't seen anyone explain what thats supposed to achieve?

Not sure that matters much right now. With the correct structure and opportunities then someone will take them.

Great aye. But not possible in Scotland as there are not going to be enough teams for a 20 or 22 team division. 18 teams without playoffs to add more interest and more games (more income) makes a weaker league IMO.

Not sure why it silly. Lots of European countries have ways to use play offs etc to get whats needed for them.

And I just don't get the force clubs to shut down/merge etc approach.

How does that possibly help?

Small clubs survive as small clubs and are no drain on anyone else whatsoever. If they are forced to shut down the fans won't all pop along to some made up team thats there to replace them. Those fans will just be lost.

All thats needed is a pyramid system so badly run small teams can be allowed to drift into obscurity and better run teams can climb up the league.

Forcibly reducing the number of teams in no way will help anyone and reducing the size of the senior leagues is a false economy as well I believe. I just haven't seen anyone explain what thats supposed to achieve?

BINGO

Bluto the Man United fan believes any team who doesn't sell 8million replica kits per season is a monkey club that doesn't deserve to continue to exist.

Similar views to Craig Burley the other day.

youre telling me alloa athletic add something to this world? like what exactly?

It's based on the fact that the quality will be diluted and the standard will drop if we get smaller teams in, especially given the prize money will be spread more thinly.

If that's not a concern to you then fair fucks.

Quality within the top division may be superficially lower. In as much as there are more smaller and middle teams.

But the quality of teams over all the leagues wouldn't be lower? it just they are now in diff leagues.

Plus say a part time team gets into the top league. If they get and stay there then good for them - they have earned it. If they stay there long enough they might go full time.

Exactly.

Whether we like it or not, TV revenue would drop without 4 Old Firm games. Not only that, we're then spreading what TV/prize money we would have more thinly between what, 18 teams?

Most folks moans are about the standard of football being shite and an uncompetitive league - if you want to improve the quality then how, pray tell, would having part-time teams in the league as a matter of course, improve things?

Absolutely. Scottish football would die.

I'd bet that years ago people said that Wigan would be a joke in the top league but they deserve to be there regardless.

IMO your attitude towards the small clubs is the attitude that see's scottish football where it is right now

Are you seriously trying to compare a team like Wigan with likes of Berwick and Elgin?