fatshaft Posted August 3, 2012 Share Posted August 3, 2012 "The Best Course In The World" claimed The Donald. Has he done it? Well he's given it a bloody good go, and maybe there's a chance he has! Played it yesterday, and all I can say, if a golf trip to Scotland is being planned, then a trip just north of Aberdeen is now essential, and for us locals, play it now before it ramps up in price, and gets hard to get a tee time. I'll start with the practice facilities, and the driving area, where each small grass bay has a wooden divider like you're warming up on tour, and hitting off turf that is so sandy underneath you barely take any sort of divot. Then as you head back to the clubhouse and towards the first tee, there's a simply magnificent practice chipping area where the turf is so good, it's almost impossible not to hit a good floating chip off it, the club just glides under the ball. Then off to the first tee, we're first on the course at 8am, and the starter is happy to let us play the blues after knowing our h'caps (the gold and black tees are not yet open, but for most of us, would be stupid long), but suggests we play off the blacks on 14th & 18th if we fancy it when we get there. I won't bore you with a hole by hole, but on virtually every hole you feel like you're on your own, so well defined between the massive dunes is the course, and so varied is every hole, while keeping the character throughout. Upon reaching 14 & 18, you can see why the starter made his suggestion, as you climb right to the very top of two of the biggest dunes on the course, and look down on the biggest drop in elevation I've ever seen anywhere (anyone who's played Dufftown's 10th will appreciate these are much bigger), you are left agape, and have to wonder how you could possibly hit the fairway on a windy Aberdeen day. The course is a stunner, and I dare anyone to leave disappointed, but.. The 10th hole is just wrong, short par 5, but you must lay up for your second, or you're hitting wood blind over dunes with no bailout. It's not a good hole, and out of character with the rest of the course. Then the niggles. No goody bag on arrival, yes a strokesaver, but where's the drawstring bag with tees, pencil, marker and bag tag a la Kingsbarns? And sorry, I accept that the course is new, and that it hasn't settled yet, but half a dozen fairways smothered in sand, and greens that are very slow until they grow in fully (again a lot of sand, though well brushed in), means that for all the 'local discount' value we got - and it's appreciated believe me - there should either have been a delay in opening, or a reduction in fees offered. That said, if offered the chance to cancel, or play at full rate, then I'd still have played, the place is truly magnificent. Final note, it was funny to see that rows of pine trees have been planted in front of Farmer Forbes and Beardy Milne's houses, so at least in a couple of years they won't have to complain anymore about Donald's 'eyesore' Well done Laird Donald! Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted August 3, 2012 Share Posted August 3, 2012 And your score was? I notice Stephen Gallagher went round in 2 under, with a lost ball, the other day off the front tees. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted August 3, 2012 Author Share Posted August 3, 2012 And your score was? I notice Stephen Gallagher went round in 2 under, with a lost ball, the other day off the front tees.84 from the blues - and played all the way from the blacks on 14 & 18. Double bogeyed 10th & last which was disappointing. No lost balls though which seems to be how many people are keeping score. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 3, 2012 Share Posted August 3, 2012 84 from the blues - and played all the way from the blacks on 14 & 18. Double bogeyed 10th & last which was disappointing. No lost balls though which seems to be how many people are keeping score. Go for the green in 2 did you? Link to comment
fatshaft Posted August 3, 2012 Author Share Posted August 3, 2012 Go for the green in 2 did you? If only, perfect lay up to 70, chunked it, tried a texas wedge and run off to the side, barely putted onto the green at second time of asking, then two more. Still a poor hole though nevertheless, I'm not a long hitter, but laid up with a 5 iron off the blues, the rest of our group laid up with shorter clubs, that's not a championship standard hole. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted August 3, 2012 Share Posted August 3, 2012 Playing here on Monday, really looking forward to it. Haven't had a swing in a couple of weeks so getting 18 holes in at C Bay on Sunday morning to brush up a bit. I've heard the clubhouse is lovely even though it's only temporary. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted August 3, 2012 Author Share Posted August 3, 2012 Playing here on Monday, really looking forward to it. Haven't had a swing in a couple of weeks so getting 18 holes in at C Bay on Sunday morning to brush up a bit. I've heard the clubhouse is lovely even though it's only temporary.Very smart indeed, many clubs in this area would gladly swap their current building for what Martin Ford described as a "portakabin" Link to comment
fatshaft Posted August 14, 2012 Author Share Posted August 14, 2012 Good review fat shaft agree about the 10th. Holes 4-6 8, 14, 17 & 18 are top classMay favourite is probably the 3rd, but would agree those are probably the pick of the course otherwise. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted August 15, 2012 Share Posted August 15, 2012 i hope trump tries to get one of the wgc efforts out here. i think they tried one down at the grove? but the weather was shit, plus the pga will try their best to keep them in the usa. nice one, top trump. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 20, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 20, 2012 May favourite is probably the 3rd, but would agree those are probably the pick of the course otherwise. Just had a late invite from a client to play there on Wednesday. I'd say I'm a decent 12 handicap, so I will take plenty of balls with me!! Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Playing here on Monday, really looking forward to it. Haven't had a swing in a couple of weeks so getting 18 holes in at C Bay on Sunday morning to brush up a bit. I've heard the clubhouse is lovely even though it's only temporary.How did you get on there mate? Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted August 20, 2012 Share Posted August 20, 2012 Be lucky to see your hand in front of your face at Trumpton this morning, such was the mist as I drove past. Maybe Trump needs those wind turbines after all, to blow the haar inland. Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted September 27, 2012 Share Posted September 27, 2012 I see Trump is taking booking for 2013, but has hiked up the prices. Link to comment
Nelly Posted September 30, 2012 Share Posted September 30, 2012 I see Trump is taking booking for 2013, but has hiked up the prices. Link to comment
zander Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 After seeing Paul Lawrie on the big stage doing fantastic for te North East how good would it be to see this place get a big tournament and bring some magic up here. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 2, 2012 Author Share Posted October 2, 2012 After seeing Paul Lawrie on the big stage doing fantastic for te North East how good would it be to see this place get a big tournament and bring some magic up here.Royal Aberdeen have beaten Trump to it with the 2014 Scottish. Link to comment
Sandafc Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 Royal Aberdeen have beaten Trump to it with the 2014 Scottish. Think it will only be there for a few years to allow Trump longer to bed in then shift. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 2, 2012 Author Share Posted October 2, 2012 Think it will only be there for a few years to allow Trump longer to bed in then shift.I'd be astonished if it's not at Trump in 2015 Link to comment
Sandafc Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 I'd be astonished if it's not at Trump in 2015 Yeah probably.. I was thinking more 2016 but im of the same opinion as you. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 17, 2012 Author Share Posted October 17, 2012 I don't think so. Surprised you do. We teed off at 10 am this morning in glorious conditions the whole way round but the course is too young and the greens are shite. Like Kingsbarns and the Castle course when it first opened, they needed to bulldoze and reconstruct their greens and the donald will have to do the same if he's ever going to attract Tour events. Divots disintegrate and leave sandy holes all over the place and it's not a problem on full shots (but I would imagine it's a greenkeeping nightmare) but for pitches and anything around the greens, the turf isn't good enough and not nearly ready. Greens were utterly appalling, a joke. No way you should be negotiating severe ridges and contours on a 7 or 8 foot putt and they were heavily sanded and look years from being half decent in my book. Kingsbarns is far superior and both it and Castle Stuart infinitely more fun. Even the other major new build, the Castle at St A is more enjoyable. Some stunning views and some lovely holes but the 10th is stupid and 18 is a bit of an abortion in design too. Loved the par 5 4th the best but overall, meh for me. Not a good course to accommodate spectators either so I think the donald's ambition has exceeded his achievement. Great for the area and delighted it's pulling in loads of yanks tourists but needs years to knit in. Royal Aberdeen pisses all over it as a real golf course. Trump International, and the greens in particular, is too trumped up. Catering was superb though. You should have read all my post, rather than the first line Then the niggles. No goody bag on arrival, yes a strokesaver, but where's the drawstring bag with tees, pencil, marker and bag tag a la Kingsbarns? And sorry, I accept that the course is new, and that it hasn't settled yet, but half a dozen fairways smothered in sand, and greens that are very slow until they grow in fully (again a lot of sand, though well brushed in), means that for all the 'local discount' value we got - and it's appreciated believe me - there should either have been a delay in opening, or a reduction in fees offered. See? Is the layout better than kingsbarns, by a fucking country mile it is. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 17, 2012 Author Share Posted October 17, 2012 I read it all. I chose to select one line, the one I disputed. Sorry. Playing in valleys between dunes all the time is claustrophobic. Mark Parsinen avoided doing this at both Kingsbarns and Castle Stuart. He learned an architectural technique which Frank Lloyd Wright called "compress and release". At the walk to the 13th tee from the 12th green at Castle Stuart, you go through the only sleepers on the course. You are compressed between them, then released to the spectacular view to your right of the biggest "bunker" in the world and a staggering visual feast. There was no similar intelligence in the design of Trump, just a boring walk through endless valleys and too much visually ugly scrub including scruffy water, both running and stagnant hazards. And the greens are a joke. Are you avoiding debate on this point? Your rationale for this being better than KB is?No, not disagreeing at all, like I said in the OP, greens not ready, fairways a disgrace, so a long time imo until it will be worth the money they are trying to charge. I also agree that the 10th (as I said originally) is a poor poor hole, out of keeping with the rest of the design, I'd not be at all surprised to see that totally changed quite quickly. Better than kingsbarns, because at KB, you can stand up and hit it nearly anywhere. At Trump every hole is different, nearly every hole is secluded and you cannot see the other golfers. The variety of teeing grounds is tremendous for all levels of player. Every shot is a thinker, whereas at KB many shots are just hit it towards the green. Yes of course it is not in anywhere near the condition it should be, but the layout is easily as good as anywhere I've played or been round as a spectator, way ahead of Birkdale, and that would have been #1. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted October 17, 2012 Share Posted October 17, 2012 I don't think so. Surprised you do. We teed off at 10 am this morning in glorious conditions the whole way round but the course is too young and the greens are shite. Like Kingsbarns and the Castle course when it first opened, they needed to bulldoze and reconstruct their greens and the donald will have to do the same if he's ever going to attract Tour events. Divots disintegrate and leave sandy holes all over the place and it's not a problem on full shots (but I would imagine it's a greenkeeping nightmare) but for pitches and anything around the greens, the turf isn't good enough and not nearly ready. Greens were utterly appalling, a joke. No way you should be negotiating severe ridges and contours on a 7 or 8 foot putt and they were heavily sanded and look years from being half decent in my book. Kingsbarns is far superior and both it and Castle Stuart infinitely more fun. Even the other major new build, the Castle at St A is more enjoyable. Some stunning views and some lovely holes but the 10th is stupid and 18 is a bit of an abortion in design too. Loved the par 5 4th the best but overall, meh for me. Not a good course to accommodate spectators either so I think the donald's ambition has exceeded his achievement. Great for the area and delighted it's pulling in loads of yanks tourists but needs years to knit in. Royal Aberdeen pisses all over it as a real golf course. Trump International, and the greens in particular, is too trumped up. Catering was superb though. That bit in bold is the biggest bit of shit I have ever read on here and that includes a lot of MT's posts! Absolute nonsense. Link to comment
Sandafc Posted October 17, 2012 Share Posted October 17, 2012 So basically what your saying Rocket is that the Castle wasnt that great when you first played it but over time it has been allowed to improve. I agree with most of what Fatshaft and you say about the course, in that its basically just a new course and just not ready. Like you I was quite disappointed with the fairways and greens but I guess this is to be expected by the fact its brand new and if they are going to open it so early. There is no doubt IMO that once it gets a few years to bed in, that it will be a phenomenal golf course. It is a good course at the moment, looking at each hole (bar the 10th) as each hole is generally very good. Dont doubt that like the Castle (which ive never played but imagine trump will be the same) Trump will definately improve in the years to come and the greens will be one of those improvements. Link to comment
GK55 Posted October 18, 2012 Share Posted October 18, 2012 Playing here on Saturday with my old man for his birthday. Looking forward to it. Weather better bloody improve though! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 18, 2012 Author Share Posted October 18, 2012 I normally find (because I'm at a level where I'm not as good as you guys - infact what do you guys play off of?*) when I play a hole well I quite like it.That can tend to be a general misleader, what I will say in my own case, if I had to spend the rest of my life traipsing round one course, I'd probaly choose Boat of Garten, a course until this summer, I'd never broken 80 around in all my attempts to play it. So it was not a fave due to my tremendous scoring achievements, quite the reverse. Similarly, but conversly, I've never broken 80 round Murcar, and think it's shit, but then that I think is becasue it is pretty shit. (fwiw I play off 4) Link to comment
fatshaft Posted October 18, 2012 Author Share Posted October 18, 2012 I can see where you're coming from Rocket, I thought you just meant the general slowness and underlying sandieness of the greens initially. Yes there's a few ridges, on some holes (the first springing immediately to mind) stupidly so as you say. But it's not every hole, I just don't think it's as bad as you're making out, I certainly think the design beats anything I've played hands down (admit to not having played Castle Stuart). I am playing arse end of May next year again, so with a second winter to bed in, we'll see how it shapes up, our foruball sent in a long critique of our experience, you should do likewise. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted October 18, 2012 Share Posted October 18, 2012 Not sure how you can consider an opinion like that to be the biggest bit of shit ever? Are we not talking about one man's opinion of the enjoyability of one golf course against another? What are the rules? What's the criteria? Who the fuck do you think you are to tell anyone what is better or worse in terms of taste? If you have played the Castle and Trump sufficient times to justify your extraordinary outburst, then where's the justification for your insulting pish? I first played the Castle six weeks before it opened to the public. I hated it and I wrote in with my comments, to the man in charge who happens to be my cousin. The many of us who expressed our opinion in the early days all must have had similar views because they made radical surgeries to the course and the greens thereafter. So depending on when you played the Castle, you may not even be aware of how much it has changed? It's a great track now (for a new build as opposed to a trad links) and absolutely great fun in my book. It ironed out the trick greens shite that infects Trump. Just like who the fuck are you to come out with such bullshit that the Castle Course is more enjoyable than Trump. Basically you putted like a chomper and decided to rip into an outstanding course design. Spot heidthebaw! Away and buy a belly or a broom and dry your eyes. The Castle at St Andrews has nice views over the town, if that was situated above Peterheid you wouldn't be raving about it, you'd realise its a mediocre run of the mill track that punches above its weight because of location. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted October 18, 2012 Share Posted October 18, 2012 I can see where you're coming from Rocket, I thought you just meant the general slowness and underlying sandieness of the greens initially. Yes there's a few ridges, on some holes (the first springing immediately to mind) stupidly so as you say. But it's not every hole, I just don't think it's as bad as you're making out, I certainly think the design beats anything I've played hands down (admit to not having played Castle Stuart). I am playing arse end of May next year again, so with a second winter to bed in, we'll see how it shapes up, our foruball sent in a long critique of our experience, you should do likewise. Correct, he's putted like a chomper and reacted like a wean! Its a magnificent track, its a better track that KB or CS I will concede though that he has a point when saying its not fair to compare it to Royal Aberdeen for example. Courses like RA are timeless classics and to be honest masterpieces. 1 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted October 18, 2012 Share Posted October 18, 2012 Haven't had the pleasure of Trump's yet so not fair to comment, other than my very general, said it from day one, Yanks will not play this more than 6 months of the year, period. Taken by what Roberto said about hole design. One of my favourites at Aberdeen is the 9th at Craibstone (9th? - the first hole through the trees, par four with the trees down the right, very pretty at this time of year). Its a fairly classic design, a drive and a 9, something like that with the hole usually behind the bunker front left with a mock swilken bridge just in front. Fairly simple, probably par it more often than not. Just does what it says on the tin. The cosy slippers rather than the jazzy shirt of hole design. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted October 18, 2012 Share Posted October 18, 2012 You might see the post by roberto at the top of the page which rightfully says that different courses attract different opinions. This is a given. You don't allow one man to disagree with you. You describe as "shit" an opinion that disagrees with yours. I'm not so ignorant as to base my opinion on my own performance and I never putt like a "chomper". They have done a magnificent job with the course design given the terrain that they worked with. But the major downside (for me) is the greens and I also find the endless playing through valleys as boring. You mention Peterhead and the 8th and 9th are arguably the best holes on the course but they are the ONLY ones going through valleys. Variety is the spice of life. There's too much same at Trump and as an overall experience, not as enjoyable as others for me. I don't even know who HH was let alone notice his absence. Now that he's back, he's obviously a fucking balloon and better off un-back. You quite clearly don't understand the design of Trump if your complaining about Dunes. Opinions will always differ I agree but I draw the line when you say the Castle course is better than Trump - that is nonsense and I don't care who you ken at the Castle course. Its mediocre at best set above the historic town of St Andrews. Get yourself down to Machrihanish and I'll sign you on and we can discuss this further over 18 holes on a classic course, hell I'll even shout you a pint after just to show there is no hard feelings! (Even though you are wrong!) Link to comment