JIT: Aberdeen V.s Caley

Enjoyed game as mentioned earlier, it was freezing but good game to watch. I thought we simply ran out if steam, at 2-1 we were playing well. Csley looked a decent team but their keepers kicking was shite.

Can someone tell the pa loon how to hold a mic as the cunt is inaudible in the rdl

Whilst our defending was poor I think it's a bit simplistic for folk to just be saying Anderson was shite etc etc. defence includes the midfield which was utterly inept tonight. Vernon in cental midfield was ridiculous, only marginally worse than fallon having a full 90 minutes up front. He is an absolutely honking forward. I read one post earlier where someone mentioned they thought he had a good first half :hysterical: what a fucking joke, I would love someone to point out one positive thing, just one, that he contributed tonight.

That aside, I couldn't understand why we ended up playing with Hayes and mcginn so far up the pitch after we went 2-1 up. With two woeful central midfielders getting over run and the caley midfield making runs all over our back four running them ragged, Hayes and mcginn should have been back helping, it was farcical at times. Cammy smith should have been on long before he was and we could have done with maybe Reynolds sitting in front of a back four shielding them.

We desperately need the injuries to clear up though or we will be getting a few humpings in the next few weeks.

I'm not too angry at that.

When we have our front 6 made up of

Magennis Smith Vernon McGinn

Fallon McManus

for the last 5 minutes you know that we are fucked. The players tried, never gave up.

I thought they looked tired after an hour. I felt sorry for Vernon, terrible decision to play him in centre mid. Surely Jordon Brown or Mark Reynolds would have been a better option?

I am not quite sure why Craig Brown subjected Vernon to 96 minutes in central midfield. I think he should have put Reynolds or 21 year old Jordon Brown in there for some of the game (the lad is nae 15 ffs). Also I did think it utterly bizarre that Masson played 90 on sunday at the time. Mistakes by Brown/AFC in my opinion.

Caley 1st goal - perhaps I need to see it a second time but tbh it would have been a soft foul if the ref had stopped play for that imo

Well done to Brown for changing the pattern of the game early second half and well done to Magennis for a classic goal.

2nd goal for Caley (again perhaps I need to see it again) but conceeding a header about 2 yards out from a static kick of the ball is poor poor stuff. If Langfield is so pish the centre backs should be protecting him better - I am sure we will see good examples of this when Motherwell come calling on Saturday presuming they have the young sub goalie in. I doubt AFC will have a free header 1.5yards out from goal during the game.

Unfortunatly was left disappointed by Brown's inability or willingness to at least attempt to change the flow of the game after the hour mark. I know we had injuries but Caley ran out deserved winners.

There really is a problem of perennial (spelling?) under achieving at AFC. Caley are having a better season than us (above us and still in all cups) despite having a playing budget around one third of the size. its summed up by that foul by McManus on Warren. Most probably McManus got paid more last night than Warren who only turned full time professional in the summer after playing part time in the Diadora or some such.

I've got very mixed feelings on the game I really don't know where to start.

The defeat was extremely disappointing, however at least it wasn't down to a lack of effort. Having said that, we looked fairly comfortable at 2-1 I thought we were going to push on and maybe get a 3rd. Believe it or not, I said to my mate on Monday that Vernon would start CM. Looking at the players we had fit, it wasn't a massive surprise. However 32.gif in for 14.gif would have worked a treat and at least given us an "experienced" player on the bench.

Can't give the players numerical ratings after that game:

Langfield: Positives; Saved well from Vernon. Negatives - everything else

Magennis - I like him and one of his better games. I think his pace and strength make for good potentially. Football skills can be coached. I'd rather have him on the bench than a clark/young/duff style journeyman.

Anderson - Horrendous. It says a lot he is getting stick for a poor game, rather than praise for the occasional good one like Langfield. Everyone can have an off day, providing it doesn't continue.

Reynolds - Best of the back 3. At least he was able to find a team mate sometimes and wasn't making repeated goal causing errors.

Considine - Not his best performance and thought he was much worse in the 2nd half.

Shaughnessy - Feel sorry for him a bit and hope he isn't made a scapegoat. Although he has played in the SPL before, it has been last minute sub appearances or end of season; meaningless games. I thought he put in a reasonable performance, in a strange position and performed better than many senior colleagues.

Clark - I am not a fan of his at all. However he was putting in an almost sufficient performance in an area where all our first choice players were injured. Was really worried to see him go off, when usually I' be calling for him to be subbed.

Vernon - Pretty dreadul but I won't blame him. He's not a CM. He has also never claimed to be a CM. He tried in a role alien to him, which he did not have the attributes for. The only thing I will criticise him for was having the ball with space, time and Fallon in space and then just running into a Caley defender.

McGinn - Quiet game, could have possibly done better, however like Anderson everyone can have a day they are not at the best. Won't criticise Brown for playing him on the wing, as I thought it was the obvious choice.

Hayes - Good player with capability, but frustrates me massively. Poor decision making often hampers our attacking moves and he never looks for a simple pass. Not one of the worst last night.

Fallon - He's been out injured for a while and just coming back. However his performance was dire. How can such a big guy, lose so many aerial battles. Special mention to his horrendous shot.

Masson - Thought he was pretty poor. I just can't understand why he was preferred to Jordon Brown. He's coming back from a serious injury, played 30 mins Sat and 90 mins Sun. Think it was too early and the wrong game for him. He also seemed to want far too much time on the ball, which I can't remember him doing last season.

Smith - Little time to make an impact, should have been on earlier

McManus - See Smith

The foul leading up to their goal, I would like to see again. Masson seemed to take an age on the ball and wouldn't like to say it was a definite foul without seeing it again. On first viewing I did think it was a clear foul.

Special credit to the referee. The worst performance from a ref I can recall. It wasn't even just contraversial decisions. You don't play on when there's a head knock. Full stop. Period. The booking for Magennis was incredibly harsh after some of the challenges going unpunished.

At 2-1 up we were cruising. In no way, shape or form did we look like losing that game. Only once Langfield yet again, (you listening Millertime, I say yet again) sold the jerseys, did we fall to pieces.

Correct. Looking more likely to be 3-1 than 2-2.

In fact up until Clangers completely unacceptable (but entirely predictable) fuck up, ICT had scored from practically their only attack of the game up to that point.

Agreed it was the pivotal point in the game...after Langfield handed them a life line they looked the more hungry and likely to push on and win the game...thanks for that Jamie you poofy first named cu*t

Aye. Never in it until that hapless spastic handed them the equaliser on a plate.

Time after time after fucking time.

Been said before, and it will be said again.

That team will never amount to anything with such an inept fruit loop "guarding" the goal for us.

It's simply not possible.

I've got very mixed feelings on the game I really don't know where to start.

The defeat was extremely disappointing, however at least it wasn't down to a lack of effort. Having said that, we looked fairly comfortable at 2-1 I thought we were going to push on and maybe get a 3rd. Believe it or not, I said to my mate on Monday that Vernon would start CM. Looking at the players we had fit, it wasn't a massive surprise. However 32.gif in for 14.gif would have worked a treat and at least given us an "experienced" player on the bench.

Can't give the players numerical ratings after that game:

Langfield: Positives; Saved well from Vernon. Negatives - everything else

Magennis - I like him and one of his better games. I think his pace and strength make for good potentially. Football skills can be coached. I'd rather have him on the bench than a clark/young/duff style journeyman.

Anderson - Horrendous. It says a lot he is getting stick for a poor game, rather than praise for the occasional good one like Langfield. Everyone can have an off day, providing it doesn't continue.

Reynolds - Best of the back 3. At least he was able to find a team mate sometimes and wasn't making repeated goal causing errors.

Considine - Not his best performance and thought he was much worse in the 2nd half.

Shaughnessy - Feel sorry for him a bit and hope he isn't made a scapegoat. Although he has played in the SPL before, it has been last minute sub appearances or end of season; meaningless games. I thought he put in a reasonable performance, in a strange position and performed better than many senior colleagues.

Clark - I am not a fan of his at all. However he was putting in an almost sufficient performance in an area where all our first choice players were injured. Was really worried to see him go off, when usually I' be calling for him to be subbed.

Vernon - Pretty dreadul but I won't blame him. He's not a CM. He has also never claimed to be a CM. He tried in a role alien to him, which he did not have the attributes for. The only thing I will criticise him for was having the ball with space, time and Fallon in space and then just running into a Caley defender.

McGinn - Quiet game, could have possibly done better, however like Anderson everyone can have a day they are not at the best. Won't criticise Brown for playing him on the wing, as I thought it was the obvious choice.

Hayes - Good player with capability, but frustrates me massively. Poor decision making often hampers our attacking moves and he never looks for a simple pass. Not one of the worst last night.

Fallon - He's been out injured for a while and just coming back. However his performance was dire. How can such a big guy, lose so many aerial battles. Special mention to his horrendous shot.

Masson - Thought he was pretty poor. I just can't understand why he was preferred to Jordon Brown. He's coming back from a serious injury, played 30 mins Sat and 90 mins Sun. Think it was too early and the wrong game for him. He also seemed to want far too much time on the ball, which I can't remember him doing last season.

Smith - Little time to make an impact, should have been on earlier

McManus - See Smith

The foul leading up to their goal, I would like to see again. Masson seemed to take an age on the ball and wouldn't like to say it was a definite foul without seeing it again. On first viewing I did think it was a clear foul.

Special credit to the referee. The worst performance from a ref I can recall. It wasn't even just contraversial decisions. You don't play on when there's a head knock. Full stop. Period. The booking for Magennis was incredibly harsh after some of the challenges going unpunished.

Agree with pretty much this whole post.

I wasnt sure about the foul at the time, i thought it was just a strength issue rather than a foul, but would have to see it again.

WTF happened tonight?

Turn the game around to 2-1 and looking quite comfortable and then BANG, total arse collapse. Tbh only poor finishing from Caley save that from a total thrashing tonight.

The entire defence were fucking hopeless and Anderson in particular was honking. In fact i don't think he won a header the entire 2nd half and i've no idea what he was doing for their winning goal

Yet again we have a chance to go top and we blow it big style. With the injuries now piling up - which is no excuse for the way we played tonight - we really will have a difficult xmas period that's for sure

Changes required.

New manager in the Summer. Thanks Craig but your time is up.

New Goalkeeper in January. Nothing else needs said on that one.

New fucking training pitch so these hamstring injuries GTF

Masson was involved in the youth cup game on Sunday, wasn't he? 45 on Saturday, 90 on Sunday (?) and then on again today. Bit much for a youngster coming back from injury.

So many confusing things done today, somany poor performances by the people who were lucky enough to get their natural positions today.

Think Bamber got it spot on, in the formation second half, you need the centre mid cover to be a defensive option, not a centre forward.

Yes our midfield crisis fairly crept up on us. No way the loon should have been playing all of those minutes with a Tuesday night game we would need him for. Inept management.

Langfield: Same old Clangers. I remember the caley keeper steaming out of his box to collect a cross, wiping out every player in the process and then starting an attack. Wonder how good it would be to have a goalie that could do this.

Magennis - Got two good goals, especially his second which was a beauty, but by christ the boy is still fucking shite. Every time he got the ball first half he just kicked it as hard and as far as he could.

Anderson - Not good enough for his standards. Was having to mark about 25 Caley players though due to the inept midfield.

Reynolds - Same as Anderson

Considine - Poor.

Shaughnessy - Man of the match. Absolutely outstanding. Defending was superb, and despite having zero options every time he got on the ball, he kept getting himself into good positions.

Clark - Looked surprisingly decent before having to go off.

Vernon - Hung out to dry. Never a centre mid, and should never have been played there. Doesnt stand a chance, feel sorry for him. Should have been played up top.

McGinn - Worked hard but never really involved much.

Hayes - Same as McGinn. Few good runs, but nothing to trouble Caley too much.

Fallon - Wow. Tells it all when hes tried to pull off his wonder volley from Hampden about 4 times, missing the ball twice, out for a throw once and finding the top deck of the RDS with one.

Masson - Woeful. Didnt get a warmup before going on because he decided to go in the changing room, that set the tone for his performance. RIghtly hooked. Understand hes played plenty of gametime these past couple of days, but that should be helping him. Non existent.

Smith - Looked lively for the small part he played

McManus - No time to impact.

Gutted with that. Not angry considering the circumstances though. Reckon the way the league is this season plenty of teams are going to slip up along the way, just need to move on now and fuck Motherwell on saturday

Maybe one of the worse decisions i've seen in a while. How was that never given

Looks to me like Caley players gets nick on ball as it comes off ground. Even if doesn't hardly one of worst decisions seen in while. A challenge that happens dozens of times every game.

Shaughnessey put in a beast of a tackle when they went 1-0 up, liked the look of him last night.

Magennis was hopeless for the first 40 minutes. Overhit nearly every pass.

aye thought shaughnessey was MOM last night, first time I have seen him play, better than Clark Robertsons recent displays IMO.