elephantstone78 Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Quite a scrappy game. Motherwell are poor. So is their pitch. Jack MotM for me. Thought he was outstanding. Surely teams are seriously taking a look at him. Goodwillie is quality except for his finishing but that will come. Need him signed up on 3 year deal. Some sloppy passing/crossing today. Winning without playing great. Soon we are going to destroy a team by 5 or 6 goals. I predict that will be on the 28th of Feb. Oh and that Rooney penalty brought home my accumulator for £1500 (Dons -1). Ace being a Dandie just now.Ooft well done. Bet that was a nervy penalty !Brilliant game, performance and result. Motherwell are a shadow of their former selves. Dire. Goodwillie's finishing was appalling from where I was sitting maybe one of the chances was down to good goalkeeping but all I could see was him missing 2 brilliant chances. His touch and control is class though. He knocks mags Haney into 2nd place in my favourite rap loch patron competition. Safe trip home dandies Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 We hit the woodwork twice today and had plenty other chances, goodwillie had two clear chances. Like v saints it could easily have been 3 or 4. Not sure how you don't think we will knock in 4 or so on a game. We make loads of chances most matches.Not denying our attacking "threat" but our finishing is (like it or not) not good enough. Hitting the woodwork is still NOT hitting the target. I just do not think we will FULLY commit to attacking until the fear of losing a goal & the clean sheet record goes. Then we may batter a team but I would happily bet you a cyber pint that we will not beat a team by 4 goals (or more) to nil. We might a game following a game we have conceded a goal but not until that nervous energy at the back has gone. Just my opinion mind. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Not denying our attacking "threat" but our finishing is (like it or not) not good enough. Hitting the woodwork is still NOT hitting the target. I just do not think we will FULLY commit to attacking until the fear of losing a goal & the clean sheet record goes. Then we may batter a team but I would happily bet you a cyber pint that we will not beat a team by 4 goals (or more) to nil. We might a game following a game we have conceded a goal but not until that nervous energy at the back has gone. Just my opinion mind.Shite. We were pouring forward for the first 50 - 55 minutes. Had we scored a second we'd have smashed them. We were fully committed to attack until that young guy Thomas came on for them. He changed the game for a while. Looked a dangerous wee player.Someone is going to get a right thumping from us when it clicks. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Shite. We were pouring forward for the first 50 - 55 minutes. Had we scored a second we'd have smashed them. We were fully committed to attack until that young guy Thomas came on for them. He changed the game for a while. Looked a dangerous wee player.Someone is going to get a right thumping from us when it clicks. That old one We were pouring forward UNTIL we scored mostly. Then there was a lot less urgency (obviously) & Motherwell used that to their advantage.Tried to pick us off with a couple of counters late in the first half & then that set the game plan for the second half. Yes their subs helped in this a great deal (again obviously) as they were more attacking subs but we eased off also & were far more committed to protecting the clean sheet & countering ourselves by this point. We won't hump anyone (4 or more being a humping imo) until we have conceded a goal IMO Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 That old one We were pouring forward UNTIL we scored mostly. Then there was a lot less urgency (obviously) & Motherwell used that to their advantage.Tried to pick us off with a couple of counters late in the first half & then that set the game plan for the second half. Yes their subs helped in this a great deal (again obviously) as they were more attacking subs but we eased off also & were far more committed to protecting the clean sheet & countering ourselves by this point. We won't hump anyone (4 or more being a humping imo) until we have conceded a goal IMO We were pouring forward after we scored. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 We were pouring forward after we scored.Nae really. We were very apprehensive We were trying to sneak a second to help kill them off.Slight difference to "pouring forward" Great win but if you tell me you never feared them scoring in that game I wouldn't believe you. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Nae really. We were very apprehensive We were trying to sneak a second to help kill them off.Slight difference to "pouring forward" Great win but if you tell me you never feared them scoring in that game I wouldn't believe you.Only after Thomas came on. Until then we were battering them. I've already told you this. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Only after Thomas came on. Until then we were battering them. I've already told you this.Obsessed Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 I'm not sure how I felt about today. One thing for sure is Motherwell are absolutely horse. There seemed to be a bit of poor decision making in every area of the park today and don't think we were anywhere near clinical enough. Logan seemed to make a few poor passes. Pawlett made a couple of bizarre decisions, especially when he had a clear shot at goal on and took an extra touch to go away from goal. That said, we still seemed to create a lot but I think had we been playing the Motherwell team of years gone by then they could have been back into it in the second half. Goodwillie needs to be burying those if he actually wants to be considered a striker. A performance like today has me torn with him, his link-up was excellent and his ball for Rooney was incredible. But then he spurns those sort of chances (that could eventually cost us) and gives up on loose balls far too easily. I thought Reynolds, Taylor, Considine and Jack were the standouts for us. Happy with the result but think we could still improve for the game at St. Mirren. Link to comment
Guest RosemountRed Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Great result, same performance as the past 7 games really. Now onto St Mirren. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 RZR. I think my festive season prediction was something like WDLDDW I bow to your forecast 100% it is. I will say though that this club, from top to bottom is a world apart to that of three years ago. Oh, and well done to the hauders of the Doncaster banner. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Ash Taylor was Brilliant all game then he went and Spoilt it by handing Rooney the MOM champers and saying " Here you go LA" Fucking scouse cunt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 He is scouse as fuck like Link to comment
Guest Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 He is scouse as fuck like In the same manner Hayes is 'dubs as fuck' or Reynolds is 'weeg as fuck? I'm failing to see the relevance of pointing out that Taylor hails from Liverpool. So what? Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 In the same manner Hayes is 'dubs as fuck' or Reynolds is 'weeg as fuck?I'm failing to see the relevance of pointing out that Taylor hails from Liverpool. So what?I didn't say I cared either way Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Razor on tv again. He's spotted mair times than wally. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 Razor on tv again. He's spotted mair times than wally.I'm cute. The camera loves me. Link to comment
the_shrimp Posted January 4, 2015 Share Posted January 4, 2015 The Taylor haters need to shut it and sit on their vaginas now. What a player! Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 Another great result! Only managed to listen to the game but sounded comfortable until the last 20 minutes. It really would help though, if we could convert more of our chances. It will eventually come back to bite us if we continue to pass up opportunities. That said, we are in a habit of being able to "manage" - as DM puts it - narrow leads, if that's possible? Hopefully we find more of a killer instinct soon. Goodwillie kind of sums up how the team are playing at the moment, the general play is good/very good but could do with finding the net more. Overall though, we can have very little complaints. Seventh win on the bounce with none conceded - that'll do nicely! Hopefully we get some positive news on the transfer and contracts front this coming week, would love Goodwillie and Jack to stay, top performers again today it seems. On to St Mirren now. Hopefully gain revenge for the 2-2 at Pittodrie earlier in the season. COYR! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 I'm cute. The camera loves me.True.Captures your best side every time too. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 On a negative side, I felt we sat far too deep at times but perhaps that was part of the game plan since they were absolutely honking. Everyone doing their job and what's asked of them again. Unfortunately, Goodwillie should have had a hatrick. He really is a total talent to watch on the ball, close control is second to none. I keep thinking the goals will start flowing for him. If he takes half the chances he get's we'll romp that league. Another clean sheet. Outstanding run of form. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 Haha, in your long Aiberdeen black jacket that someone alluded to on here recently. . Spied heaps of folk on the TV actually - however don't think I've ever seen so much TV time for an Aberdeen fan, that you seem to get. First time on. Xmas present. Soz. Link to comment
Edinburgh_sheep Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 Great result and hopefully this winning run continues. People are saying the penalty and red card was harsh, but fuck them, especially after we were robbed last day of the season Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 Did you get a new one to the one you wore a wee while back? IIRC tagged at Partick or Killie? I forget... . The proof is in the pudding. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 I think Sticky Toffee is the king of all puddings. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 Crunchy bits? They can maketh the STP. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 The poster at the time was correct (knew I'd seen it also), thon jacket did exist, at Killie away...and now you got a new een. Was it cosy? On the subject of pudding, I purchased a sticky toffee pudding from the Farm Shop just outside Kintore, it was excellent. I would recommend. It wasnt winter jacket season for Kilmarnock this season. Ive ate about 8 Yule Logs over the festive period. Sick of the sight of them. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 5, 2015 Share Posted January 5, 2015 It was Killie away this time last season. I double checked, as I recalled you being tagged on FB with that jacket - as I was certain I remembered it when the poster at the time mentioned it. I was over seeing folks yesterday. I think it's biscuits I'm fed up seeing now. I got a fair feed though. Turkey dinner again (and ahhhh the trimmings). It was a feast. Must have borrowed it from a mate to make sure I wanted that specific one for xmas, ken fitlike. Has your Ma nae made her famous Turkey Curry this year................ Link to comment