Detroit

Henry

After the Crime Watch McCann special last night, I turned over to Nat Geo docu on Detroit and drugs.

That is one fucked up city, literally 10,000s of empty houses, looking more like a run down city in a third world country than part of the great yoo ess ay.

80% black in the city, 80% white in the suburbs, racial profiling to the extreme.

Kelt comes from Detroit

Remarkable insight.

Only I don't, so you're predictably wrong.

But for someone with your critical thinking skills that was a fucking good attempt, so you deserve at least some kind of recognition for the effort.

You_win_the_prize.jpg

It was tongue in cheek you cunt.

I noticed you had been strongly denying you lived in Detroit and had been going to pains to stress where you actually lived, how you got your job and why you got it (was looking for a 'yawn' emoction to insert here)

Please think things through before spouting forth drivel.

I've seen nothing in your previous posts that would suggest that was 'tongue in cheek' commentary.

The rest of your post reveals you're a sullen, passive aggressive little bitch, however, which is far more in line with your 'rumpus' personality, and more like the kind of 'tone' you were going for in your previous post.

I'm no psychologist, so I don't know if this is typical of schizophrenics.

Fucking hell, it's like having a conversation with Last word Larry...

Your posts point to you being a self righteous zealot who craves attention.

A sad loner with plenty of time on his hands to surf the net to glean some obscure facts with the hope it might impress other a football forum.

And you seem to thrive when pointing out to Millertime the errors of his ways, intellectual bullying is not an endearing characteristic.

I respond to people in the exact same way they post to me. If you find I',m being an offensive arsehole towards you then you can look to your initial post to me for the reason why.

If you can't handle someone acting the cunt towards you, as I clearly am, then you shouldn't come the cunt with others.

I prefer to be civil, as I am with 99% of the board's posters, but I'm happy to treat you like the braindead cunt that you are if you want to continue in this vein, makes no difference to me.

Just stop fucking crying about it, because I'm not interested in your psychological problems, manifest and manifold as they are.

Kelt min, how often, if at all, do you have to go into the City of Detroit ?

I drive through it about 3 days out of five (weekends excluded)

Usually about 7am, so the only people around are other commuters... the natives not having got out of their scratchers at that hour of the day.

I696 at Coolige is the place you need to be alert. that's where the sniper hangs out. Though there's also guys like to shoot at people around the 75-10 area inna.

Just drive with your heid doon and you should be okay.

Couldn't care less if you're offensive to me at all. Thick skinned, it puts me neither up, down nor sideways.

I like a verbal scrap from time to time, thank you for your prompt feedback

I shall now resume being a passive aggresive bitch.

Please accept my cyber handshake, and you should move out of Detroit as soon as you can.

Then all is well :)

Funny enough, there is to be circa 15ft bronze statue of RoboCop to be built and erected in Detroit next year prior to the remake of RoboCop being released.

robocop-statue-detroit-almost-2.jpg

Yeah, the city's bankrupt, they can't pay their bills, the power went down during the baseball tonight, the roads need massive repairs, police need better training... but let's spend just a whole fucking bunch of cash on a giant bronze statue of an imaginary movie character. Though I'm aware this is a privately funded stupid idea, there are still better places to spend that cash.

:clangers2:

If robocop were real it would be stripped for parts within 5 minutes of hitting the streets of Detroit.

Yeah, the city's bankrupt, they can't pay their bills, the power went down during the baseball tonight, the roads need massive repairs, police need better training... but let's spend just a whole fucking bunch of cash on a giant bronze statue of an imaginary movie character. Though I'm aware this is a privately funded stupid idea, there are still better places to spend that cash.

:clangers2:

If robocop were real it would be stripped for parts within 5 minutes of hitting the streets of Detroit.

I don't think this was actually funded by the city of Detroit...

Although, real or not, I doubt it will last very long. Bronze is fairly valuable these days.

• 5 months later...

http://zfein.com/photography/detroit/

Downright grim.

The rows of family houses just sitting silent and empty are chilling.

As you drive down I-75 through Detroit you can literally see rows of burned out houses and factories just sitting crumbling.

The worst areas are probably around and off Jefferson Ave, entire areas where thousands of people lived, just abandoned to the elements and gangs.

If you can imagine Escape From New York (except without the wall surrounding it) you have a fairly good idea of what it looks like. And I'm not talking the odd building or street, I'm talking huge areas where you just do NOT go if you value your life.

We were watching the trailer for Brick Mansions a few days back, and the camera pans over a destroyed cityscape... we look at each other and go, "Is that Detroit... Holy shit, it IS Detroit!"

To the casual observer it probably looks like a CGI shot, but the filmmakers saved money on expensive CGI by just flying a helicopter over Detroit, job done.

detroitsm.jpg

Some abandoned areas could handily accommodate an entire district like Mastrick or Kincorth.

A few years back I had a client on the other side of Detroit. It was quickest for me to drive down Jefferson Ave, through some abandoned, semi-abandoned, and Fallout 3 style areas.

One winter I'm driving back from the client, absolutely bursting for a pish... in the middle of an abandoned factory area... so I pull off the main road and start driving along these old industrial service drives, overgrown with weeds, broken chain link fences, deserted manufacturing plants... I jump out of the car, run up to a wall and start hosing it down. It's one of those cold-weather pishes, so I'm standing there for about 45 minutes, freaking the fuck out, trying to force my pish out faster and faster... "Moan tae fuck!" I'm telling my pish... "Moan tae fuck!"

There's something genuinely sinister and unsettling about standing in an abandoned area, the only person to be seen anywhere is yourself, the only sound your pish hitting the wall and your voice urging said pish to get a fucking move on before some troglodyte comes and batters you over the heid with a piece of rusty pipe.

On a positive note, property is fairly cheap.

detroit.jpg

Why do you still stay there, just out of interest?

To avoid you, you fucking prick.

:checkit:

Lulz, just kidding....

I don't stay in Detroit, I just happen to live in a city nearby.

North of where I live is mostly bears, forests, and banjo-playing inbreds, kind of like Wick but with the addition of bears and forests, so when we're going places we generally drive along the main route south, that's I-75, and it takes you right through the heart of Detroit.

When I first moved here, when Clinton was the President, the economy was going great. Then Cheney became president and everything went to shit right quick. They keep saying it's on the road to recovery, but any time I drive around down there it looks worse than the last time.

I'm surprised there hasn't been serious civil unrest, to be honest. A local politician I know has told me that most police forces in the Metro area are now trained to deal with riots and armed insurgence as a matter of course... if that happens I'll be moving to Montana.

Think you'll ever come back, Kelt?

I've often wondered about moving to America but unsure about uprooting the family. Houston would probably be my best bet.

The wife is more keen on Oz though....

Nah.. Scotland's fine as a holiday destination, but I'd be more likely to move to Canada I think.

I think short term a move to Oz would be a great experience. Thon Gold Coast looked magic,

Long term I think buying up some land in Canada would be a great idea though. Currently the big cities in Canada all tend to be in a line along the US border, but with he planet heating up a LOT of empty land in Canada is going to be freed up for development in the next few decades. There's already talk of the 'Corn Belt' moving north into Canada....

I wonder how Australia will look if it starts getting hotter there, though. It's already full of desert.

It'll be like Beyond Thunderdome.

Nah.. Scotland's fine as a holiday destination, but I'd be more likely to move to Canada I think.

I think short term a move to Oz would be a great experience. Thon Gold Coast looked magic,

Long term I think buying up some land in Canada would be a great idea though. Currently the big cities in Canada all tend to be in a line along the US border, but with he planet heating up a LOT of empty land in Canada is going to be freed up for development in the next few decades. There's already talk of the 'Corn Belt' moving north into Canada....

I wonder how Australia will look if it starts getting hotter there, though. It's already full of desert.

It'll be like Beyond Thunderdome.

It wouldn't be the first talk of Americans moving north, particularly once natural resources become more scarce with time. While we're neighbourly to a point, i hold the firm view that Americans can just keep their dirty little hands out of our stuff! as i expect many Canadians do. :swear: not that what we think stops the government from recently and currently selling off natural resource rights to America and China.

The most important figures are contained in Chapter 5, entitled “How a Merger Deal Might Be Structured,” in which Ms. Francis tallies up the trillions of dollars worth of land, irrigated crops, oil and gas reserves and gold that Canada would be bringing to merger negotiations. After crunching the numbers, she concludes that under her full-merger model, “every Canadian would be entitled to a lump sum payment [from the United States] of $492,529” (though she adds that older Canadians would get more, and children would get much less).

a somewhat interesting read... one person's view of whether the two countries every merge. what would each bring to the table? and why would they even want to? in this premise, you have a humongous melting pot of Americans and Canadians, but with somewhat different rights (mostly around healthcare).I can't see that happening, nor being maintained long-term.

Also, to ensure continuity with our hallowed universal-health-care ideals, we Canadians would be provided with “fraud-proof health cards, valid anywhere in the 50 states, 10 provinces or three territories. Americans would not be entitled to this benefit.” (The notion that U.S.-born citizens would tolerate living in a society in which they have fewer government-given rights than their Canadian-born neighbours is just one of the many eyebrow-raising assumptions contained in this book.)

i hadn't wrapped my head around any other reasons why Americans would ever want this, other than access to natural resources, until i read this:

“What would appeal to the Republicans is the way this plan would help secure the borders of the continent,” she tells me. “The other thing that would appeal to the GOP would be the job-creation and business opportunities that would come from Canada’s enormous resources. National security and capitalism — those are two things they will always support.”

“As for Democrats,” she adds, “They’d be happy by the prospect of 35-million [Canadian] Democrats becoming voters. There would never be another Republican president again.”

huh. :whistling:

would it be worth it to you Kelt?

http://fullcomment.nationalpost.com/2013/09/28/jonathan-kay-diane-francis-plan-to-merge-canada-and-the-united-states-has-many-many-problems/

It wouldn't be the first talk of Americans moving north, particularly once natural resources become more scarce with time. While we're neighbourly to a point, i hold the firm view that Americans can just keep their dirty little hands out of our stuff! as i expect many Canadians do. :swear: not that what we think stops the government from recently and currently selling off natural resource rights to America and China.

The most important figures are contained in Chapter 5, entitled “How a Merger Deal Might Be Structured,” in which Ms. Francis tallies up the trillions of dollars worth of land, irrigated crops, oil and gas reserves and gold that Canada would be bringing to merger negotiations. After crunching the numbers, she concludes that under her full-merger model, “every Canadian would be entitled to a lump sum payment [from the United States] of $492,529” (though she adds that older Canadians would get more, and children would get much less).

a somewhat interesting read... one person's view of whether the two countries every merge. what would each bring to the table? and why would they even want to? in this premise, you have a humongous melting pot of Americans and Canadians, but with somewhat different rights (mostly around healthcare).I can't see that happening, nor being maintained long-term.

Also, to ensure continuity with our hallowed universal-health-care ideals, we Canadians would be provided with “fraud-proof health cards, valid anywhere in the 50 states, 10 provinces or three territories. Americans would not be entitled to this benefit.” (The notion that U.S.-born citizens would tolerate living in a society in which they have fewer government-given rights than their Canadian-born neighbours is just one of the many eyebrow-raising assumptions contained in this book.)

i hadn't wrapped my head around any other reasons why Americans would ever want this, other than access to natural resources, until i read this:

“What would appeal to the Republicans is the way this plan would help secure the borders of the continent,” she tells me. “The other thing that would appeal to the GOP would be the job-creation and business opportunities that would come from Canada’s enormous resources. National security and capitalism — those are two things they will always support.”

“As for Democrats,” she adds, “They’d be happy by the prospect of 35-million [Canadian] Democrats becoming voters. There would never be another Republican president again.”

huh. :whistling:

would it be worth it to you Kelt?

http://fullcomment.nationalpost.com/2013/09/28/jonathan-kay-diane-francis-plan-to-merge-canada-and-the-united-states-has-many-many-problems/

Not many people seem to know that America has previously tried to get its hands on Canada. Same year Napoleon invaded Russia, America declared war on Britain and tried to snatch Canada for a hat.

Either way, in the future you'll be seeing a lot of, "Canada should TOTALLY join the United States and become a nation of obnoxious fat fucks... and we'll alleviate the moose-fuckers from all that annoying oil and gas and minerals they have just lying around like stray Lego."

Kind of like a reverse Scottish Independence thing.

Already the Yanks have demanded the Northwest Passage be considered 'International Territory'... in reality it's as much International Territory as Ohio. Ie, not a all.

Canada is in a great position in terms of exploiting Global Warming, though.

I quite fancy a move to Baffin Island.

Not many people seem to know that America has previously tried to get its hands on Canada. Same year Napoleon invaded Russia, America declared war on Britain and tried to snatch Canada for a hat.

Either way, in the future you'll be seeing a lot of, "Canada should TOTALLY join the United States and become a nation of obnoxious fat fucks... and we'll alleviate the moose-fuckers from all that annoying oil and gas and minerals they have just lying around like stray Lego."

Kind of like a reverse Scottish Independence thing.

Already the Yanks have demanded the Northwest Passage be considered 'International Territory'... in reality it's as much International Territory as Ohio. Ie, not a all.

Canada is in a great position in terms of exploiting Global Warming, though.

I quite fancy a move to Baffin Island.

there are currently 7 territorial disputes between ourselves and America :)

Territory 23px-Flag_of_Canada.svg.png Canadian claimant 23px-Flag_of_the_United_States.svg.png U.S. claimant Machias Seal Island New Brunswick Maine North Rock New Brunswick Maine Strait of Juan de Fuca British Columbia Washington Dixon Entrance British Columbia Alaska Portland Canal British Columbia Alaska Beaufort Sea Northwest Territories, Yukon Alaska Northwest Passage and some other Arctic waters Canadian territorial waters U.S. claims navigation rights

why would you ever want to live on Baffin Island? :o the only upside i can see is midnight sun in "summer".

but i also read that the sun sets on Nov 22 and doesn't rise again until Jan 19! you'd probably go crazy, Kelt.

i'd be having noon-a-vut :P (a little Canadian humour, for you)

"Global warming" is an industry, not a scientific fact - is one school of thought.

Scientists who have had the temerity to question the "official line" and to attempt to debate it have been marginalised at best.

But if we read it often enough and hear it on the news, it must be true.

Baffin Island has a population density of 0.02 people per square km, That means I can go get supplies once a month at the nearest settlement, and literally only see other humans a dozen times a year.

A nice hunting rifle and I'm sorted for food... a nearby freshwater lake and I'm sorted for water... a snowcat and I'm sorted for transport... a wifi connection and I'm sorted for fitba and the pornographies.

2 months of total darkness is nae bother... you can get a lot accomplished in 2 months of total darkness ;)

Baffin Island has a population density of 0.02 people per square km, That means I can go get supplies once a month at the nearest settlement, and literally only see other humans a dozen times a year.

A nice hunting rifle and I'm sorted for food... a nearby freshwater lake and I'm sorted for water... a snowcat and I'm sorted for transport... a wifi connection and I'm sorted for fitba and the pornographies.

2 months of total darkness is nae bother... you can get a lot accomplished in 2 months of total darkness ;)

but you can get that same sort of space in about 70% of the rest of Canada as well? without having quite those extreme (and they are quite extreme) weather conditions and costs of living.

Yeah, but Baffin Island is about Isolation. You're not driving into Baffin Island by accident. In fact you're not driving in to Baffin Island period, because there are no roads from the mainland.

I've always liked the idea of living in a more or less self-sufficient manner, where you can grow your own food, hunt and fish, and never have to worry about some anal-jobsworth from the cooncil telling you, "Yew needs a LICENSE to be fishin' there, son!"

Now currently it's a little chilly to be growing much more than rock fungus on Baffin Island, but give it a decade or two and you'll be able to grow tatties and carrots and with a greenhouse all the weed you can shove in your ears.

There's already talk of forest returning to the 'Noon-A-Vuk' and Baffin :)