ericblack4boss Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Amadeus, £4 for a bottle of beer Cunts Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 14 minutes ago, Hoofball said: ? So it was fucking atrocious then, that’s all I needed to know Amadeus was nectar. Haters gonna hate. Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 15 minutes ago, Hoofball said: ? So it was fucking atrocious then, that’s all I needed to know Its big showpiece was it was big. So what, so is Eltons Johns poop chute. Full of Rockport wearing dildos and the music was shit. Link to comment
Guest Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 2 minutes ago, cheesepipes said: Its big showpiece was it was big. So what, so is Eltons Johns poop chute. Full of Rockport wearing dildos and the music was shit. Poetry Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 2 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said: Poetry ...in Motion. A truly classic tune by Johnny Tillotson. Link to comment
Zeus Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Used to throughly enjoy amadeus. On-site sizzlers. ✅ Bus back to BOD.✅ Terrific. ✅ Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 The weird thing about The Venue was that the carpet on the floor was always wet. Everywhere at all times. Wherever you tried to sit, you sat down with a squelch. Not sure if it was piss, blood, beer, or puke. Probably a soup of all those things. Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Used to work behind the bar in one of the restaurants at the beach when I was a student, so was a regular at Amadeus as we got free entry and cheap drinks. Had some cracking nights there, but it was a bit of a shithole. Only went after a shift to get pished and try to get a ride then get the bus back into town. Link to comment
Don Fonte Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Amadeus was shit. But on occasion a lovely establishment to snare a student slut. Every cloud. Link to comment
Zeus Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Wad the priory opening the start of its demise? A real shame. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 7 minutes ago, Captain Caveman said: Amadeus was for folk who didn’t know what proper clubbing was. calm down Carl min 1 Link to comment
redstrummer Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 5 hours ago, NEM said: Harbour pub crawl used to be brilliant - about a dozen pubs. Lucky if there's 3 or 4 left. Crows Nest, Fittie Bar, Peep Peeps, St Clements bar, Cutters Wharf, Crown & Anchor, Moorings, Regent Bar, Schooner, Criterion. I've no doubt missed a few Mates old man owned the Cra's nest , when it opened it was really smart . Big squad of us used to go there for pre and post match pints. Dod would run a mini bus for us back and forth , great times Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 7 minutes ago, Zeus said: Wad the priory opening the start of its demise? A real shame. Yeah it was. People still went to Amadeus and then when Priory opened that took away a huge amount of punters. Poo Na Na also took away a fair bit of trade as did Eskobar (now that was a fucking great place!) I think the opening of Espionage was the final nail in the coffin for Amadeus. Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 14 minutes ago, Ke1t said: The weird thing about The Venue was that the carpet on the floor was always wet. Everywhere at all times. Wherever you tried to sit, you sat down with a squelch. Not sure if it was piss, blood, beer, or puke. Probably a soup of all those things. Venue was immense ?seen some cracking gigs there.early mid 80s The carpeted (tartan)?stairs were like a fucking tarpit Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 ^^^^ grim chain clubs that I saw when I was in edinburgh Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 11 minutes ago, Zeus said: Wad the priory opening the start of its demise? A real shame. Some cunt gan aff eh balcony didnae help. Link to comment
redstrummer Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 The Bells was a good meeting place , Oscars , always used to end up in Cupids / Barnies . The Hayloft was another good meeting place , the days of the happy hour when you caught one after the other , up Windmill Brae . Cocktails in Henry J Beans ( pints of pink fairies ) sozzled after 2 Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 4 minutes ago, styrofoamplates said: Yeah it was. People still went to Amadeus and then when Priory opened that took away a huge amount of punters. Poo Na Na also took away a fair bit of trade as did Eskobar (now that was a fucking great place!) I think the opening of Espionage was the final nail in the coffin for Amadeus. Eskobar was terrific. Link to comment
redstrummer Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 2 minutes ago, Misers Hill said: Venue was immense ?seen some cracking gigs there.early mid 80s The carpeted (tartan)?stairs were like a fucking tarpit Loved the Venue also some good gigs in then place under Metro , what was that called? mind seeing the Buzzcocks there Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 15 minutes ago, redstrummer said: Loved the Venue also some good gigs in then place under Metro , what was that called? mind seeing the Buzzcocks there Pelican? Used tae get lost fir hoors en err Link to comment
sheepcrooky Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Bus from Bridge Of Dee Meet up in Bells/Balmoral Lounge or The Grill Cupids, Hayloft, Betty Burkes, Barney Rubbles Occasionally down to Jamie’s at the beach Chipper from Geno’s Marvellous. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Venue was the place where you could go and not have to deal with testosterone-fueled, gold-chained Miami-Vice wannabe wankers sporting pedophile mousers and blonde highlights in their mullets. Loaned a mate a suit one New Year since he was going into toon trapping slutties and I was, of course, headed to The Venue. Just before the bells he comes wandering up to me with some tart... in the Venue... looking terrified, with a crowd of bemused goths and punks following him around like he'd just landed from another planet. "You ken this boy, Kelt?" says one of my goth chums. "I do not." I said, throwing him and his trap under the bus... As far as I can remember, I did not see that suit again. Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 24 minutes ago, Ke1t said: pedophile mousers and blonde highlights in their mullets. Leave Poodler alone. Link to comment
Fridge Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Amadeus was absolutely shite on a Friday and Saturday but during the week was cheap drink and full of absolute tarts Link to comment
redstrummer Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 47 minutes ago, Misers Hill said: Pelican? Used tae get lost fir hoors en err Sure that was the Pelican , with the outside bit ? fuck my memory is going but I thought the pelican was off Windmill brae Or further up past the Star n Garter down a lane Link to comment
NEM Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 3 minutes ago, redstrummer said: Sure that was the Pelican , with the outside bit ? fuck my memory is going but I thought the pelican was off Windmill brae Or further up past the Star n Garter down a lane Nah Pelican was Market street. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 HJBs, Clappy Vally and what was the hoochie coochie before the name change? Link to comment
jamiesd Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 43 minutes ago, redstrummer said: Sure that was the Pelican , with the outside bit ? fuck my memory is going but I thought the pelican was off Windmill brae Or further up past the Star n Garter down a lane Zuu? Videoplex? Link to comment
RedArmyFakshun Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Misers Hill said: Venue was immense ?seen some cracking gigs there.early mid 80s Gil Scott Heron was a top gig. Half man half biscuit in the early days also Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 1 minute ago, RedArmyFakshun said: Gil Scott Heron was a top gig. Half man half biscuit in the early days also ?Sex Fiend GBN Link to comment