Simply Red Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 2 minutes ago, RedArmyFakshun said: Gil Scott Heron was a top gig. Half man half biscuit in the early days also Gil Scott Heron gig in the 2000s? Postponed cos of the volcano in Iceland, that een? Link to comment
RedArmyFakshun Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Just now, Simply Red said: Gil Scott Heron gig in the 2000s? Postponed cos of the volcano in Iceland, that een? nah this was around 86 or 87 after that he was banned from the uk for quite a while on a coke bust Link to comment
RedArmyFakshun Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 The Station Hotel also had some primo gigs back in the day Spacemen 3, the Shamen, the Meteors Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 22 minutes ago, RedArmyFakshun said: The Station Hotel also had some primo gigs back in the day Spacemen 3, the Shamen, the Meteors Participated in a furious bottling (plastic beer glassing) of The Shamen at The Venue back in the day. Either we simply weren't ready for their brand of brilliant electronic music, or they were shite... I can't remember which... Regardless, they would go on to be a top act, despite that setback. For some reason I have almost perfect clarity in remembering the circumstances of Sid Ozalid also being bottled (plastic beer glassed) off the stage after about 30 seconds. Comes on stage in a Hawaiian Shirt, carrying a trumpet, and proceeds to say, and I quote... "Everybody GET DOWN! Now GET UP AGAIN! Now GET A LITTLE BIT SIDEWAYS!" At which point the crowd turned on him... Goths are not tolerant of, nor patient towards, acts of blatant frivolity... and that was Sid's 30 seconds on stage at The Venue. He went on to be a poet of some repute, apparently, and is still at it... if that's your thing... while I am no longer a Goth. So... Sid won that one. 1 Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted January 12, 2022 Share Posted January 12, 2022 Used to go into the Balmoral Lounge for a couple of lunchtime pints when I worked in a garage on Chapel Street. Got a bad pint one time (honest!) had to sprint to the door and projectile vomited across the pavement then walked down to the zebra crossing and while I'm crossing violently throwing up what seemed to be 10 feet in front of myself, (like the David Walliams racist woman in Little Britain) same all the way up Chapel Street... Never returned Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 13, 2022 Share Posted January 13, 2022 14 hours ago, Captain Caveman said: Amadeus was for folk who didn’t know what proper clubbing was. I'm only young enough for the U18 nights they used do to so probably true enough. Happy to sneak in a 1/4 quarter bottle of vodka and split it between 6. Used to enjoy the nights back in the day. Link to comment
Studebaker-90 Posted January 13, 2022 Share Posted January 13, 2022 2 minutes ago, RAZOR said: I'm only young enough for the U18 nights they used do to so probably true enough. Happy to sneak in a 1/4 quarter bottle of vodka and split it between 6. Used to enjoy the nights back in the day. Was shut by the time I was going to those. Hotstepper, min. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 13, 2022 Share Posted January 13, 2022 Bad mobby , will recall the Alford person making a hoax 999 call to fire service saying Ramadam was on fire Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted January 13, 2022 Share Posted January 13, 2022 6 hours ago, RAZOR said: I'm only young enough for the U18 nights they used do to so probably true enough. Happy to sneak in a 1/4 quarter bottle of vodka and split it between 6. Used to enjoy the nights back in the day. CLUB FRUITY!!! Had to hand in your chewing gum at the door. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 12 hours ago, Bad_Mobby said: I will accept that!!! Link to comment
redone Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 Ritzy .....unlikely venue for one of the best gigs I went to back in the day .... The Redskins. Hoachin wi nurses (female) and other potential victims just there for a Thursday night oot rather than any show of solidaririty for the miners. Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 Ritzys changed to Bonkers before settling on The Palace. Im just glad i grew up going to Rock/indie/rave nights at a club called Bonkers. Link to comment
NEM Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 1 minute ago, cheesepipes said: Ritzys changed to Bonkers before settling on The Palace. Im just glad i grew up going to Rock/indie/rave nights at a club called Bonkers. Showing your age, was the Palace when I started going into toon. Monthly Love Child being a highlight of my youth Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 10 minutes ago, NEM said: Showing your age, was the Palace when I started going into toon. Monthly Love Child being a highlight of my youth We probably bumped into each other, mumbled "im fucked min" put our hands on our knees for a few seconds to compose ourselves then disappeared in opposite directions, finger pointing the DJ. 3 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 Was that the one maybe halfway down Windmill brae or the one round the corner past the pizza place towards bridge st? Link to comment
styrofoamplates Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 1 hour ago, strachanmcgheegoal said: Was that the one maybe halfway down Windmill brae or the one round the corner past the pizza place towards bridge st? The one round the corner. Opposite Riley’s. Became Liquid after The Palace and fuck knows what else after that. Link to comment
NEM Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 1 hour ago, Bad_Mobby said: Brilliant nights, never attended work the day after those babies Had my first dalliance with Ketamine in there (when 2 off my mates got a taxi to hospital lol) I was still at College but the Monday after a Love Child was a guaranteed Torry holiday (for dozens, if not 100's of folk) ? Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 Calling in sick from the Schooner lavvies. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 Love Child was bank holidays anyway, no? Link to comment
NEM Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 43 minutes ago, milne_afc said: Love Child was bank holidays anyway, no? It was once a month so only some of them were bank holidays. Killed it when they started doing them every week Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 7 hours ago, cheesepipes said: Ritzys changed to Bonkers before settling on The Palace. Im just glad i grew up going to Rock/indie/rave nights at a club called Bonkers. Believe it was Ritzy's where we once saw The Damned, of all places. Puzzlingly, the lead singer of Nervous Choir kept screaming "Sham 69!" over and over at Vanian between every song. Eventually a dear, dear friend of mine, and a wonderful human being who valued dialogue over violence always, went over to the lead singer of nervous choir and had a wee chat with him, after which the lead singer of Nervous Choir chose to stop screaming "Sham 69". Nervous Choir weren't bad, in the main. 80's were a terrific time for local bands in Aberdeen. To be honest, I'd have put money on Toxic Ephex being the big break out band, rather than Annie Lennox. Anyone remember an Aberdeen sado-metal band called 'Laz-her'? Seem to recall seeing them play, and thinking, "This must be what it was like for British soldiers captured by the Japanese during the war." Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 47 minutes ago, NEM said: It was once a month so only some of them were bank holidays. Killed it when they started doing them every week You’re right. I’ve nae idea where my bank holiday theory comes from. And I certainly dinna remember it going weekly - what a stupid idea. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 3 hours ago, cheesepipes said: Calling in sick from the Schooner lavvies. I used to work with a guy was on the door there Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 Surely just me went in the Argo bar, I remember one time we took lad wet behind the ears there He wore thick Nhs glasses, we thought that it would be fun to watch the go go dancers pick on him, Backfired lucky bastard got his head buried in tits , Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 47 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Always enjoyed DC’s company Is there anyone in Aberdeen who doesn't have a Dod story? A stand out character of the era. Link to comment
RedArmyFakshun Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 23 minutes ago, Ke1t said: A stand out character of the era. True that Spotted him once on the car deck on a ferry, he was retrieving a bike, tartan bondage troosers being the dead give away TOXIK EPHEX !! shouted i down the booming hallway I guess you had to be there Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 1 hour ago, milne_afc said: You’re right. I’ve nae idea where my bank holiday theory comes from. And I certainly dinna remember it going weekly - what a stupid idea. They started out as Bank Holiday weekend events. Got popular, was fucking ace, went regular and turned shit. Link to comment
cheesepipes Posted January 14, 2022 Share Posted January 14, 2022 2 hours ago, Ke1t said: Believe it was Ritzy's where we once saw The Damned, of all places. Puzzlingly, the lead singer of Nervous Choir kept screaming "Sham 69!" over and over at Vanian between every song. Eventually a dear, dear friend of mine, and a wonderful human being who valued dialogue over violence always, went over to the lead singer of nervous choir and had a wee chat with him, after which the lead singer of Nervous Choir chose to stop screaming "Sham 69". Nervous Choir weren't bad, in the main. 80's were a terrific time for local bands in Aberdeen. To be honest, I'd have put money on Toxic Ephex being the big break out band, rather than Annie Lennox. Anyone remember an Aberdeen sado-metal band called 'Laz-her'? Seem to recall seeing them play, and thinking, "This must be what it was like for British soldiers captured by the Japanese during the war." Fud Rot never made it onto Top of the Pops. Real shame. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 15, 2022 Share Posted January 15, 2022 TE had a tune, I DONT WANT A BOMB IN MY BACK GARDEN, which a chum of mine thought was hilarious to roar in response, "WELL FUCKIN' MOVE!" each and EVERY time it was sung. EVERY fucking time. Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted January 15, 2022 Share Posted January 15, 2022 46 minutes ago, Ke1t said: TE had a tune, I DONT WANT A BOMB IN MY BACK GARDEN, which a chum of mine thought was hilarious to roar in response, "WELL FUCKIN' MOVE!" each and EVERY time it was sung. EVERY fucking time. ACAB....bump.....Try Blitz....?...loves ehs markies cheese Link to comment