Scottish Independence Referendum 2

Henry

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

273 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No

9 hours ago, Robin Askwith said:

This rotter is only interested in Independence and fuck everything else. 
I was an SNP voter when Salmond was in the hot seat, but I cannot imagine the state Scotland if this beaut was running it. 

fuck her and fcuk the SNP

In that case you should, logically, vote for independence.

If she's as single-issue as you claim, then gaining independence will rob her of her reason for remaining in politics.

And it will rob the SNP of their central policy. Independence is the best chance you have of not having the SNP in power for the foreseeable future.

Scotland was an independent country up until 300 years ago.

There was no democratic vote that said we wanted to join the Union, there was a civil war as the wealthy guffs invaded, like they did everywhere else. 

Now we’d like our country back. 

Im not even that patriotic, its just seems logical that we should be our own sovereign country again and stop being taken for a cunt by unelected tories in westminster. 

Independence is far bigger than any political party or Sturgo or boris. Folk need to think long term. 

England doesnt give a fuck about Scotland and why should it. Scotland does tho.

2 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

There was no democratic vote that said we wanted to join the Union, there was a civil war as the wealthy guffs invaded, like they did everywhere else. 

Im not even that patriotic, its just seems logical that we should be our own sovereign country again and stop being taken for a cunt by unelected tories in westminster. 

Independence is far bigger than any political party or Sturgo or boris. Folk need to think long term. 

Are the same rules to be applied to the EU which we were in for only 40 years?

2 minutes ago, NEM said:

We have that choice now.

I don’t think it’s too wild to question if we’d be governed any better and if so why and how rather than just blindly hoping it’d be the case. 

Did all the other countries that left the British empire and never asked to come back have to justify every aspect of everything before they left.

Did America get asked what currency it would use

Latest excuse and probably the worst excuse in the whole world why we cant be independent is because two ferries were late being built

what i am basically saying is if your against independence anything and everything will be in the way of it.

4 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

54 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

Agreed. Im talking about the real dregs of society here, huns mainly, who are unemployable. To a large extent, a product of their environment. Folk who exist in real deprivation. First thing id do is sterilise them all after 2 kids. Not sure the snp would go for that, but that would be a logical first step in addressing the poverty cycle in these areas. And consi, dont start, we’ve discussed this at length in the past, and you agreed i was right.

Got you

10 minutes ago, caledonia said:

Did all the other countries that left the British empire and never asked to come back have to justify every aspect of everything before they left.

Did America get asked what currency it would use

Latest excuse and probably the worst excuse in the whole world why we cant be independent is because two ferries were late being built

what i am basically saying is if your against independence anything and everything will be in the way of it.

So it’s independence at any cost then? 

1 hour ago, Simply Red said:

Folk who live in abject deprivation you mean. There is no oil industry in these places. Jobs are hard to come by. If youve grown up in squalor, went to one of the shitest schools in Europe, then aye those folk are totally dependent on benefits.

Why you bringing the Bridge of Don into a conversation about independence ?

1 minute ago, Simply Red said:

Whats the EU got to do with Scotland being independent?

Appears to be the same folk greeting about the UK leaving a union of 40 years that are keen on Scotland leaving one that’s over 300 years old. Seems a bit of a double standard 

3 minutes ago, NEM said:

Appears to be the same folk greeting about the UK leaving a union of 40 years that are keen on Scotland leaving one that’s over 300 years old. Seems a bit of a double standard 

How? 

Not every union is the same? 

Seriously? 

12 minutes ago, NEM said:

So it’s independence at any cost then? 

You cant put a cost on your freedom

And you cant count cost of something that can be done differently or see into the future

we will be like all other countries in the world some things will be good some will be bad.

3 minutes ago, NEM said:

Aye the one with England is far deeper and more entrenched than the UK/EU equivalent.

Not really about how entrenched it is, about how it benefits us. 

It's a relationship. If you're in a relationship and it's not benefitting you, you leave. Works for businesses, people etc etc 

For some reason Scotland has to stick around. Don't get it. 

1 minute ago, Bad_Mobby said:

Can’t get rid of your pals with them in charge in jockland 

SNP is a means to an end/new beginning 

So has to be them all the way for now 

My pals?

1 minute ago, caledonia said:

You cant put a cost on your freedom.

Aye ok Sir William, chill oot ?

Just now, NEM said:

You’re havering now.

Nobodies mentioned the EU, let alone been greeting about it.

Im talking about independence. Not the EU. 

Youve obviously got an agenda that links independence and the EU, i don't.

What is a double standard is Unionists don't want us to leave the UK but also voted to leave the EU. Is that the double standard you're on about? 

3 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

You’re havering now.

Nobodies mentioned the EU, let alone been greeting about it.

Im talking about independence. Not the EU. 

Youve obviously got an agenda that links independence and the EU, i don't.

What is a double standard is Unionists don't want us to leave the UK but also voted to leave the EU. Is that the double standard you're on about? 

No agenda just think they are similar situations.

Aye that’d be along the same lines. 

6 minutes ago, NEM said:

Aye the one with England is far deeper and more entrenched than the UK/EU equivalent.

England wanted to bring back control and have their own borders

so why don't they want independence from Scotland 

you can guarantee if Northern Ireland went for independence Westminster would not fight as hard against it.

wonder why?

What resources do our friends over the border have in abundance .?

I've no problem with London doing well but they have another 50 million people outside of that area.

Scotland has 5.2 million people it's what your country has that's important on how it moves on after independence which will happen this time, even with the London based media going full throttle with Scotland can't do this you can't do that you need to be in the union to prosper .??

your pension isn't safe with independence front page stories which worked with 80% of pensioners voting no .?

But after 2014 pension age went up (they want you to die when you stop working) we have one of the worst pensions in Europe 

England can't even produce enough berries to feed their market, Scotland produces 70% of the uk berry  market bet you lot didn't know that .

10 hours ago, For Fecks Sake said:

Very true, but we also have a massive chunk of a population in the central belt who have never worked, will never work and are totally dependent on benefits!

We have tourism, whisky, golf, natural resources and more but it also requires a govt who can get the most out of it and spend it wisely. Nae doing the likes of spending hundreds of millions on propping up ship yards in order to save a few hundred jobs on the Clyde etc.

Fair points but when independence comes you get the best advisers around to help you do this .

During 2014 campain Alex Salmomd got Joseph Stiglitz to help him with a forward thinking campaign.

He was at that time the 4th highest rated economist in the world . These are the sort of people in different fields that gives advice on how to build your country .

That lot over the border are clueless and do what they like ,

Hopefully get rid of that royal family as well "scroungers"

39 minutes ago, Edwin Starr said:

Fair points but when independence comes you get the best advisers around to help you do this .

During 2014 campain Alex Salmomd got Joseph Stiglitz to help him with a forward thinking campaign.

He was at that time the 4th highest rated economist in the world . These are the sort of people in different fields that gives advice on how to build your country .

That lot over the border are clueless and do what they like ,

Hopefully get rid of that royal family as well "scroungers"

Yet they had no real economic plan other than oil at $100 per barrel which the snp and green zoomers now want to do away with completely. Joe couldn’t even advise them which currency to use