aberdeen1970 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 He might go 3 at the back but we'd be changing formation and still having to change the midfield anyway so its a big risk I can see him playing Halford or Devlin at right back and Ball taking Shinnie's role in midfield alongside Ferguson. May as defensive forward. Link to comment
northernlights Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Agree about middle of the park. Different playing against Jack for example but Lego heed is a sneaky fucker who always seems to get his way so needs somebody like Gleeson or as you say Ball to stifle his influence. I'm sure Campbell can do a job but we need someone to be influential in there. I think we need Ball at RB so I'd be happy to see Gleeson given his chance. We dont have a great deal of options with Shinnie out. Link to comment
TheRock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Campbell would, hopefully, play with no fear against Brown. I think Brown is in Shinnie's head. That Cochrane boy at Hearts managed to wind Brown up a bit. The kids don't care about who Brown thinks he is. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Looks like we have sold around 12.5k for Sunday, not too bad IMO.D’ya think so? I consider that pretty pish for our national cup semi played at a good time against opposition that are unlikely to provide a hateful family unfriendly atmosphere like sevco (which were two of the many reasons for our shit attendance at the lc semi)IMO another 4K -5k should be standard for a game of this magnitude. I can only presume that the wives/grannies/brothers in law etc that usually fancy a big day out are busy this weekend Anyway, didn’t mean to start another attendance debate which is about as interesting as hearing people’s score and formation predictions Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 D’ya think so? I consider that pretty pish for our national cup semi played at a good time against opposition that are unlikely to provide a hateful family unfriendly atmosphere like sevco (which were two of the many reasons for our shit attendance at the lc semi)IMO another 4K -5k should be standard for a game of this magnitude. I can only presume that the wives/grannies/brothers in law etc that usually fancy a big day out are busy this weekend Anyway, didn’t mean to start another attendance debate which is about as interesting as hearing people’s score and formation predictions It's a semi final. Against a team we've failed to beat in the cups for a number of years. There are a load of people not going because they are sick of seeing us lose in finals against them, and I don't really blame them. Link to comment
Studebaker-90 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Standard semi final attendance. No surprises (love Radiohead) Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 I'm sure Campbell can do a job but we need someone to be influential in there. I think we need Ball at RB so I'd be happy to see Gleeson given his chance. We dont have a great deal of options with Shinnie out. Splinters won't get a game. He hasn't been getting a run with reserves either, so wont be anywhere near match fit. McInnes won't pitch him into a Scottish Cup semi-final against Celtic. Link to comment
GDON21 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Campbell would, hopefully, play with no fear against Brown. I think Brown is in Shinnie's head. That Cochrane boy at Hearts managed to wind Brown up a bit. The kids don't care about who Brown thinks he is. What absolute nonsense. Link to comment
CityCentre Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Team predictions then: Lewis Ball (oh no) Devlin McKenna Lowe Ferguson Campbell McGinn Stewart McLennan Cosgrove Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Team predictions then: Lewis Ball (oh no) Devlin McKenna Lowe Ferguson Campbell McGinn Stewart McLennan CosgroveNot a chance he plays a midfield centre pairing of Deano and Ferguson. If Dean plays then there'll be 3 in there. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 I'd drop Cosgrove and McKenna as the tims will be expecting them to play and so will not be set up for us having Wilson up front as a lone striker with Considine centre half. Link to comment
Parklife Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 I'd drop Cosgrove and McKenna as the tims will be expecting them to play and so will not be set up for us having Wilson up front as a lone striker with Considine centre half.@@Millertime, is that you? 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 @@Millertime, is that you? Haha. Needs to be a surprise of sorts to throw the cunts. 4-4-2. The only way to win. @@boboisared Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Confident about this one, which is based on nothing. Dons v Hearts final this year with the Dons winning and scuppering their double (again). Link to comment
TheRock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 What absolute nonsense.Which bit? Or all of it? Link to comment
Panda Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Looks like we have sold around 12.5k for Sunday, not too bad IMO.Are you going to start another thread on Monday calling the support shit again? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Confident about this one, which is based on nothing. Dons v Hearts final this year with the Dons winning and scuppering their double (again). Haha. I'd take that but feel if we get through this we'll make a cunt of the final. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Confident about this one, which is based on nothing. Dons v Hearts final this year with the Dons winning and scuppering their double (again). If Shinnie was playing, I'd strongly fancy us. They are under a bit of pressure to win this treble treble... and they've been pretty ordinary under Lennon so far. Definitely playing the worst football since Ronny Deila. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Haha. Needs to be a surprise of sorts to throw the cunts. 4-4-2. The only way to win. @@boboisaredI've come around to the 4-4-2 since we have the players to play it. Think Shinnie is integral to that system though. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Needs to be a surprise of sorts to throw the cunts. We should wear Barcelona strips, that will put the wind up them. Link to comment
aberdeen1970 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Team predictions then: Lewis Ball (oh no) Devlin McKenna Lowe Ferguson Campbell McGinn Stewart McLennan Cosgrove I think the team will be: Lewis DevlinConsidineMcKennaLowe FergusonBall McLennanMayMcGinn Cosgrove Link to comment
TheRock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 I don't think he'll move Ball from right back. He put Gleeson on quite early against Dundee, and I thought that was a bit of a clue as to him starting against Celtic. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 I've come around to the 4-4-2 since we have the players to play it. Think Shinnie is integral to that system though.I knew you’d come round eventually. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 I think the team will be: Lewis DevlinConsidineMcKennaLowe FergusonBall McLennanMayMcGinn Cosgrove I think that's the way he'll go too. I don't think he'll move Ball from right back. He put Gleeson on quite early against Dundee, and I thought that was a bit of a clue as to him starting against Celtic. Aye, and splinters looked miles off the pace when he did get on! We've known about Shinnie for a while now - surely give him a few 90 minutes with the stiffs, if he's in your plans to start the semi-final? Link to comment
Jackp Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Tough one trying to guess what line up will be, will be a 433 I think same formation of the good 2nd half at parkehad and the 2-0 at ibrox, I can’t see him wanting to change the defence which got a clean sheet at Celtic park and won 2-0 at ibrox but I think it will come down to if he trusts Glesson enough to start which hasn’t seemed to be the case so far this season Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 So. To sum up. We’re confident because we’re a bit less shit than we were, at least we would be if we had a right back and separately a midfield. And an attacker who could play off our big lad who’ll be booked in the first ten minutes. And they’re a bit more shit than they were but they are pursuing a treble treble so they must have something about them, as long as you’re not wearing a Barca top. That’s all the confidence I need. 1-0 Dons. Sclaff off of Consi’s erse. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Tough one trying to guess what line up will be, will be a 433 I think same formation of the good 2nd half at parkehad and the 2-0 at ibrox, I can’t see him wanting to change the defence which got a clean sheet at Celtic park and won 2-0 at ibrox but I think it will come down to if he trusts Glesson enough to start which hasn’t seemed to be the case so far this seasonParkehad. I believe it's pronounced parkjihad Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 So. To sum up. We’re confident because we’re a bit less shit than we were, at least we would be if we had a right back and separately a midfield. And an attacker who could play off our big lad who’ll be booked in the first ten minutes. And they’re a bit more shit than they were but they are pursuing a treble treble so they must have something about them, as long as you’re not wearing a Barca top. That’s all the confidence I need. 1-0 Dons. Sclaff off of Consi’s erse. We always seem to get Celtic in the cups at the wrong time. They've usually been flying going into the finals... now when we get them, badly off form, in a semi, and we're struggling ourselves. Very frustrating. Link to comment
starryfish Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 Craig Thomson referee on Sunday I see 1 Link to comment
Chewie37 Posted April 9, 2019 Share Posted April 9, 2019 As long as our momentum doesn’t get killed by a blatant penalty where one of our players gets knocked out in the penalty area and our players get put out their stride watching their teammate struggle........I’d say we’re in with a good chance Link to comment