florin_raducioiu Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Meeting last night I think confirmed that there will be 18 teams in the Highland league next season with 3 from the 4 who applied going in. Banks O' Dee, Formartine, Turriff and Strathspey being the 4 who applied. A decision to be made on February 25th. Junior league to be restructured as a result possibly. Dont know if this will work as it'll be an extra 6 games (although 2 less free Saturdays) and there can sometimes be a bit of a backlog of fixtures at the end of the season. Time will tell I suppose Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Echt into the juniors, I'd expect. Difficult to see anyone else from amateurs stepping up. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 been speaking to some in the juniour league who think banks o dee will be the ones that miss out. i've no idea if thats the case or not though Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 I was hoping Culter would apply as think they could hold their own in the Highland League but if the likes of Banks O' Dee and Formartine leave then Culter will be in an even stronger position than they are now. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Have a feeling Banks o Dee will miss out as a lot of the of the Aberdeenshire teams wont be keen on another toonser team getting in. Sthratspey will definately get in as all the north teams will vote for them. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 I was hoping Culter would apply as think they could hold their own in the Highland League but if the likes of Banks O' Dee and Formartine leave then Culter will be in an even stronger position than they are now. Unless of course BoD and Formartine plunder their squad for their best players Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Have a feeling Banks o Dee will miss out as a lot of the of the Aberdeenshire teams wont be keen on another toonser team getting in. Sthratspey will definately get in as all the north teams will vote for them. Those Aberdeenshire clubs have been competing against Banks o Dee for past couple of years in the Aberdeenshire? League, so you would think that they would look positively at BoD's application. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Echt into the juniors, I'd expect. Difficult to see anyone else from amateurs stepping up.Yup, they've been planning this for a while. Absolutely barmy if you ask me, no idea where they will be able to finance a junior team in order to compete in the way that they have as amateurs. It may actually be the beginning of the end of the Echt team. Link to comment
Nig Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Actually Turra are probably in the worse place since they have Vale, Huntly, Locos, Keith and Buckie all on their doorstep when it comes to attracting sponsorship and fans so that may lose them some votes Link to comment
Nig Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Certainly hope Turra will be in there, seem to have a surprisingly good setup there by all accounts. I've been on the Turra committee for a few years now and TBH Formartine and BoD have better set ups just that we have a decent social club where they have nothing Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Actually Turra are probably in the worse place since they have Vale, Huntly, Locos, Keith and Buckie all on their doorstep when it comes to attracting sponsorship and fans so that may lose them some votes Would hardly say Keith or Buckie were "on the doorstep" but I see your point I've been on the Turra committee for a few years now and TBH Formartine and BoD have better set ups just that we have a decent social club where they have nothing Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 I used to like the park at Turriff and at North Lodge, but then again Spain Park had to be my favourite pitch in the juniors. It was just a great surface to play on. Link to comment
TheChimp Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Would hardly say Keith were "on the doorstep" but I see your point We have to put up with the Foggie show too. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 We have to put up with the Foggie show too. Foggie is a shithole Link to comment
TheChimp Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Foggie is a shithole Nae half. Highlight of the Turra calender though. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted February 20, 2009 Share Posted February 20, 2009 Nae half. Highlight of the Turra calender though. Really? It's sh*t. Although Turra life in general is sh*t. That's why I live in the big city now Link to comment
E-P-K Posted February 21, 2009 Share Posted February 21, 2009 Really? It's sh*t. Although Turra life in general is sh*t. That's why I live in the big city now Only place that i have been to that sells stovies inside a nightclub. Lad to the left has a tartan lumberjack shirt , The lad to the left has a Yahama biker jacket. Would Keith a run for its money for being stuck in the dark ages. Link to comment
brunstanesheep Posted February 21, 2009 Share Posted February 21, 2009 Nothing wrong wi gettin stovies when your out on the piss in Buckleys. Lifesaver!! And if I mind right... your faither in law made a good living oot o good auld Turra toon Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted February 21, 2009 Share Posted February 21, 2009 Only place that i have been to that sells stovies inside a nightclub. The first time I seen it I thought someone had sneaked them in. Then I saw another guy with some. Then I thought I'll have some myself Link to comment
E-P-K Posted February 21, 2009 Share Posted February 21, 2009 Nothing wrong wi gettin stovies when your out on the piss in Buckleys. Lifesaver!! And if I mind right... your faither in law made a good living oot o good auld Turra toon :thumbs: Aye , But he is still a hun and still nae my father in law , yet. Link to comment
starryfish Posted February 25, 2009 Share Posted February 25, 2009 Formartine, Strathspey and Turriff all elected. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted February 25, 2009 Share Posted February 25, 2009 Had a feeling Banks O'Dee would miss out with them being located in Aberdeen and Cove already being from there. Link to comment
archiemacdougal Posted February 25, 2009 Share Posted February 25, 2009 Formartine, Strathspey and Turriff all elected. Looking forward to the Turra v Deveronvale El Sheepico Link to comment
florin_raducioiu Posted February 26, 2009 Author Share Posted February 26, 2009 Here's how the votes went. A slight restructure for the junior leagues as well thought to be decided next month. * Banks O' Dee - 5 * Formartine United - 11 * Turriff United - 15 * Strathspey Thistle 14 Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Plus Banks o Dee have no social club Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Formartine is in the middle of nowhere they will have only a few farmers watchin them feel sorry for BoD missin oot but nae surprised teams like the Broch with their hatred foe Cove were never gan to vote anither toonser team in. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Given how few votes they got, I'd say BoD need to seriously consider where they see their future. It is not inconceivable that Cove Rangers could be invited into a restructured SFL set up in the not too distant future. This could open the door again for BoD to step up, but only if they could convince more member clubs that they were worthy of a position. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Given how few votes they got, I'd say BoD need to seriously consider where they see their future. It is not inconceivable that Cove Rangers could be invited into a restructured SFL set up in the not too distant future. This could open the door again for BoD to step up, but only if they could convince more member clubs that they were worthy of a position.But if Cove left, surely that would help their case. Anyway, I can't help looking at that list and thinking that the Highland league is looking awful weak nowadays, as has been said, Formartine is hardly a metropolis now is it? Link to comment
Dandy Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Agree with Nig on this one, Turra hasn't as good a set up as BOD, especially as it doesn't have a youth policy. Stevie Paterson rumoured to be in running for managers job too!!Thats the Social Club's takings through the roof then. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 But if Cove left, surely that would help their case. Anyway, I can't help looking at that list and thinking that the Highland league is looking awful weak nowadays, as has been said, Formartine is hardly a metropolis now is it?Don't think Cove will be going anywhere for a while as their ground is not up to scratch, it's possible Stranraer may go to the wall at the end of the season so at the moment Spartans would be favourites unless Locos make a bid ? Link to comment