Aberdeen V Celtic Semi

111 members have voted

1. 1. Are you going to the semi?

• Yes. I can't wait for it.
    • Yes. I'm going as I feel obliged to.
    • No. I am choosing not to go.
    • No, I can't make it anyways.
    • Yes, nowt else to do on a Sunday (VDA)

Aye the boy that threw his scarf towards Archie can get to f**k, the joker. Don't need people like him in our support and glad he was booed. Good riddance.

Out of the entire game, I think that annoyed me more than any incident on the pitch. Even more than the referee leaving his testicles in the changing room. Kept Celtic at 0-0 with 10 for a good period of time, lose a 2nd goal and that fud was hurling his scarf onto the park. Moron.

• Replies 343

ref did us no favours today but we were never going to win after the red card. diamond was woeful, beaten by long balls from minute 1. langfield played well, as did sone. the rest generally put in a decent shift. hopefully that's the last time I ever have to witness diamond and young in Aberdeen shirts.

Thought Brown made one mistake today and it was his last substitution

When he took off Vernon for Paton it should have been blackman that came off

Otherwise i felt all did all they could - you do need everything to go well and have a bit of luck to beat the OF and that was all we really missed today - we had the attitude just not the luck

You would have subbed a sub that had only been on the park less than 20mins?

Hardly going to make a difference.

He was f**king dire. Maguire did all Blackman's running for him!

You would have thought it was Maguire who has come on after the 70 minute mark, not Blackman!

I can't agree with much of that I'm afraid.

Firstly, and as an aside really, what bearing does Smith being a former Rangers player have on your assessment of him? It should have none. He had a good game and deserves credit for that. No mention of Hun should be made as he fought hard for our team. Please allow him that without dragging any negative connotation into it.

Maguire showed fighting spirit during the game. He closed down defenders manfully, but was isolated so it was easy for them to play around him. When he got the ball he carried it and didn't make any glaringly stupid decisions, winning free kicks and corners which helped us get out and gave the defence somewhat of a breather. Excellent job considering he was on his own for the majority of the game.

Aluko too carried the ball well, which was vital as we needed to hang on to possession which he helped us do.

Milsom covered a huge amount of ground in midfield, but ultimately he had a thankless task as he was the only central midfielder once Jack was moved to full back. Really feel sorry for that lad as he has ability which is wasted in our team at the moment.

Langfield pulled off a few good saves and kept us in it at times. Good save from the first penalty. A bit harsh to blame him for the first goal as we were on top of him in his six yard box and can not react until he knows that the centre forward is not heading it. By that time it was too late.

The reality is that we were once again let down by a poor centre half pairing. The signs were there that their movement up front would cause us problems as neither Diamond nor Considine seemed willing to cover for each. Obviously a lack of awareness and communication there, which led to the sending off.

Whether you wish to accept it or not, we actually played pretty well considering the circumstances. Once we went to ten men, we were ultimately on the end of a defeat as our squad is paper thin at the moment, which was shown by Young at centre half and Vernon at centre mid; Aluko even spent time in the middle of the park too. We simply don't have enough about us to play for 70 odd minutes with ten men against a very good passing side and win. Very few teams could compete over the course of the whole game.

Craig Brown asked in his interview that the fans recognise the effort that the players put in. Some of the players were visibly struggling towards the end. That does not come from a lack of effort or fighting spirit.

This is why I tend to stay away from the footie forums, I get easily riled by the delusional fans who are happy to say "atleast they tried" every time the dons get gubbed. Aberdeen mad was full of the same types.

If you're happy with that sh*te today and the majority of the season, there must be something wrong with you.

What i was tring to say about Smith was he's an ex rangers player whos's on loan to us putting in more effort than the lads we've brought through the ranks, he was the only one I could pick out who was fighting for the team....the rest "tried" but it wasn't good ennough, THEY aren't good enough.

The clubs a mess, and hopefully Brown and Knox get it sorted next season.

But with clowns in the boardroom and on the pitch, I seriously doubt it.

He was f**king dire. Maguire did all Blackman's running for him!

You would have thought it was Maguire who has come on after the 70 minute mark, not Blackman!

But what would be the point? Game was over. He didn't do much granted but subbing him after 18mins is harsh. Personally wouldn't have brought Blackman on in first place, that was the bigger mistake!

and neither did blackman

stood around Doing bugger all from the time he came on complate waste of a substitution bringing him on

Considering the effort the other 13 players who were involved put in, the level of effort he put in was embarrassing to say the least

yes i would have subbed the sub - if he plays again before the end of the season its a waste of time andif he really thinks he is going anywhere near the blackburn squad with a lazy &rse attitude like that he'll have a shock

he hardly made a difference i agree and i would prefer to see a player with a will to put in effort

and neither did blackman

stood around Doing bugger all from the time he came on complate waste of a substitution bringing him on

Considering the effort the other 13 players who were involved put in, the level of effort he put in was embarrassing to say the least

yes i would have subbed the sub - if he plays again before the end of the season its a waste of time andif he really thinks he is going anywhere near the blackburn squad with a lazy &rse attitude like that he'll have a shock

he hardly made a difference i agree and i would prefer to see a player with a will to put in effort

But the point is, the game was over, it made zero difference to the scoreline if we'd have hooked him. Fair enough if the game was still finely poised and he was doing bugger all but as a contest it was finished. We have him to the end of the season, so hooking him so soon would destroy the boys confidence and alienate him by subbing him after just 18 minutes.

It would have put a marker down that sub standard performances are not accpetable

And to be frank he isnt bothered about aberdeen so im hardly bothered about his confidence or whether he feels alienated

He thinks he is above aberdeen as he now has his contract with Blackburn - well that contract wont get him a game with that attitude

OK to bring him on but once he had shown that AGAIN he has no respect fro aberdeen or its fans he should have been taken back off again

It would have put a marker down that sub standard performances are not accpetable

And to be frank he isnt bothered about aberdeen so im hardly bothered about his confidence or whether he feels alienated

He thinks he is above aberdeen as he now has his contract with Blackburn - well that contract wont get him a game with that attitude

OK to bring him on but once he had shown that AGAIN he has no respect fro aberdeen or its fans he should have been taken back off again

Personally, I would have had Paton on for Magennis rather than Blackman but it's all irrelevant now.

This is why I tend to stay away from the footie forums, I get easily riled by the delusional fans who are happy to say "atleast they tried" every time the dons get gubbed. Aberdeen mad was full of the same types.

If you're happy with that sh*te today and the majority of the season, there must be something wrong with you.

What i was tring to say about Smith was he's an ex rangers player whos's on loan to us putting in more effort than the lads we've brought through the ranks, he was the only one I could pick out who was fighting for the team....the rest "tried" but it wasn't good ennough, THEY aren't good enough.

The clubs a mess, and hopefully Brown and Knox get it sorted next season.

But with clowns in the boardroom and on the pitch, I seriously doubt it.

You're jumping to some very big conclusions there if you think I was expressing that I was happy with the display, never mind the whole season. I reckon it's just as about as good as we could have expected with 10 men, but that doesn't mean to say I'm not hurting and very disappointed.

I was picking up on your point about players not fighting for the team. A fair few did that today and I'm not the only one to acknowledge that on here. To dismiss the efforts of some players just because others cost us dear today is very poor on your behalf I think.

Neither am I saying that as long as we have players that try I'll be happy. I would much rather have talent than workers.

Tell me what was so wrong with Maguire's performance, battling away on his own winning free kicks and corners to get us up the pitch? Or with Milsom doing doggies carrying a midfield pretty much by himself due to the injuries that have wrecked our squad? How about Aluko who was all over the place looking for the ball from the defence to try and ease the pressure on them? Or Vernon playing out of position carrying an injury? Don't tell me there weren't players out there fighting and putting their hearts into that because that, my friend, is delusion. They may not be good enough; that is a different matter.

I'll refer you to my earlier post where I said we were let down by certain individuals, namely Diamond and Considine. Poor again from the pair of them. Positional sense and communication was lacking once again and it was the root of us going a man down, which effectively ended our challenge. Young's rash challenge for the 2nd penalty was also a let down. Add in Blackman who didn't look arsed once more.

Well in the back of our minds we probably expected this result but the manner of it still annoys me. Thought from my viewpoint that Hooper dived and having seen the replay inside at H/T am still convinced Considine never touched him. The way the c**ts celebrated the decision too was a f**king disgrace. Must admit i didn't think Clangers would save it but was a relief he did as at least never gave them an extra advantage at that point. Heard Chick Young later on saying to Lennon "when you got the penalty it looked like it would be game over" WTF??? They had to score it first you stupid prick.

Looked good in possession and actually started to run the midfield with Milsom probably having his best game in a while and Aluko looking in the mood too, but yet again still lacked a cutting edge but always felt if we got a break we could do something but really Willie Collum ruined the game. His inconsistency was there for all to see and is a f**king disgrace. The tram were shattered in the end and i actually felt a lot more prouder to be a Dandy today than i was at the last semi-final. A very harsh scoreline considering but we need to pick up the pieces yet again.

Langfield - Great penalty save and kept us in the game and then i don't know what happened for that 1st goal, but i think he should have saved it

Young - Started off at RB and actually looked decent enough at CB but again couldn't see what happened for the 2nd penalty.

Considine - Very harsh red card, think he might have done well against Hooper, but will never know

Diamond - Looked solid and composed, although like Young in 2nd half was caught out a few times with long balls

Smith - Solid game but tired later on

Magennis - Started off well, his pace and strength causing problems but then totally fell out the match and no surprise he was hooked

Jack - In and out of the game, better 1st half but lost the battle after the 2nd goal went in

Milsom - Great on the ball, but maybe to left-footed which gets him into trouble sometimes. Tried to create opportunities and drive forward himself,

linked up well when needed

Aluko - A danger for Wilson and Izzaguire, but needed support at times. Think it would have worked better for him playing through the middle

Maguire - Bebo did well, would have been interesting to see if we had 11 men on the park, as he and Vernon's roles changed because of this and it restricted their forward play trying to protect our midfield from being swamped.

Vernon - Same as Maguire.

SUBS

Blackman - Pish. That is all.

Vujadinovic - One scary moment when he mis-controlled the ball and nearly set up another Tims attack but otherwise the game was over when he came on

Paton - Hardly touched the ball

Willie Collum - Utter c**t. Lennon's f**k buddy.

Special mention to Glasgow's finest police force who took the piss today, not just at the game where it looked like they wanted to pick a fight but for their organisation of traffic flow in the surrounding areas. Couldn't organise their music library that idiots. f**king shambles!!!!

You're jumping to some very big conclusions there if you think I was expressing that I was happy with the display, never mind the whole season. I reckon it's just as about as good as we could have expected with 10 men, but that doesn't mean to say I'm not hurting and very disappointed.

I was picking up on your point about players not fighting for the team. A fair few did that today and I'm not the only one to acknowledge that on here. To dismiss the efforts of some players just because others cost us dear today is very poor on your behalf I think.

Neither am I saying that as long as we have players that try I'll be happy. I would much rather have talent than workers.

Tell me what was so wrong with Maguire's performance, battling away on his own winning free kicks and corners to get us up the pitch? Or with Milsom doing doggies carrying a midfield pretty much by himself due to the injuries that have wrecked our squad? How about Aluko who was all over the place looking for the ball from the defence to try and ease the pressure on them? Or Vernon playing out of position carrying an injury? Don't tell me there weren't players out there fighting and putting their hearts into that because that, my friend, is delusion. They may not be good enough; that is a different matter.

I'll refer you to my earlier post where I said we were let down by certain individuals, namely Diamond and Considine. Poor again from the pair of them. Positional sense and communication was lacking once again and it was the root of us going a man down, which effectively ended our challenge. Young's rash challenge for the 2nd penalty was also a let down. Add in Blackman who didn't look arsed once more.

Maguire was poor, he needed to put more pressure on the defenders than he did, should be harrying them non stop, you might think he did this but it's nae upto my standards. Mackie would've done a better job today if he was fit.

Yeah, Milsom is one other player that atleast looked interested. The game past Vernon by in the position he found himself in.

Aluko had a few decent moments, he needs to take on and run at players more, there were times I was screaming at him to go for it but he would rather lay it off, we know he can do it. Seems like he's lost his confidence.

I've never been so uninterested in the dons than i have been in the last couple of seasons.

They're sh*t.

Maguire was poor, he needed to put more pressure on the defenders than he did, should be harrying them non stop, you might think he did this but it's nae upto my standards. Mackie would've done a better job today if he was fit.

Yeah, Milsom is one other player that atleast looked interested. The game past Vernon by in the position he found himself in.

Aluko had a few decent moments, he needs to take on and run at players more, there were times I was screaming at him to go for it but he would rather lay it off, we know he can do it. Seems like he's lost his confidence.

I've never been so uninterested in the dons than i have been in the last couple of seasons.

They're sh*t.

You do realise we were down to 10 men yes? I think it's fair to say we would have exerted more pressure on their back line otherwise, but were prevented from doing this.

And i don't know if Mackie would have made a difference but it's all ifs and buts.

They're sh*t.

Mackie definitely would have chased them down harder but that's his game. He's got f**k all else about him.

Maguire held the ball up very well and he closed down, but it's a thankless task when you're on your own. He had four guys playing triangles round him. What about his running at defenders and winning things up the park? Is all you judge a striker on is closing down? If it is, then no wonder you think Mackie would have done a better job.

Vernon was in an unusual position for him, but dug in despite carrying an injury.

Again I'll say the heart was there. If they are sh*t, slag for them for that, not for their effort which was clearly there today.

Mackie definitely would have chased them down harder but that's his game. He's got f**k all else about him.

Maguire held the ball up very well and he closed down, but it's a thankless task when you're on your own. He had four guys playing triangles round him. What about his running at defenders and winning things up the park? Is all you judge a striker on is closing down? If it is, then no wonder you think Mackie would have done a better job.

Vernon was in an unusual position for him, but dug in despite carrying an injury.

Again I'll say the heart was there. If they are sh*t, slag for them for that, not for their effort which was clearly there today.

This ^^^

I thought we played quite well today. For the first 20 mins we were probably the better team, and Maguire (?) could have scored a header after going down to 10 men. But we just tired, and Celtic knocked it about from side to side just waiting for an opening. Naive again from Considine. Celtic player was looking for it, went down quite easy, but ref prob got decision right. I thought every single player gave 100% and when it was 10 v 12 for an hour, there was only going to be one winner. Thought the fans were brilliant today as well. Glad to see the back of Celtic this season!

sh*t result and having watched replays should have bee 11 against 11 all the way.

Lennon the sh*t has every ref so scared to make a decision against them He is a piece of sh*t that should leave football forever, millions to spend on a team and still moans (Piecashit as a player and never changed)

I switch channels every time I see him on TV then switch back when I think he is gone.

Tbh, I'm sick and tired of hearing the same old apologist nonsense from some on here about how certain players give their all. The simple fact of the matter is, the vast majority of them are not good enough to wear the shirt. We are rank rotten and have been for 3yrs now, ever since our Europa League exit to Bayern. It's been all downhill ever since.

Football is a results based business. No more, no less. Effort, while an admirable quality, does not always yield results and when it does not, the culprits must be discarded to make way for suitable replacements. In any other business, the staff would have had a mammoth cull, but instead we have the same apologist kid gloves approach ("ach, but at least he gives his all" and other pish).

Sign of how far we have fallen...

(as a side note, we've matched JC's best Cup record of 2 semi-finals, all 3 of which were 4 goal defeats. That this was seen as "success" on his part would be funny, were it not tragic that our best and worst seasons in recent years - i.e. the past 15yrs - are largely interchangeable except for one European run)

Craig and Archie will put us where we belong next year.

Much as I'd love to share your optimism, how do you envisage them doing this, when the Board have made it clear, so many times over, that they are neither interested, nor up to the task of supporting any incumbent in the Manager's chair?

Craig and Archie will put us where we belong next year.

Much as I'd love to share your optimism, how do you envisage them doing this, when the Board have made it clear, so many times over, that they are neither interested, nor up to the task of supporting any incumbent in the Manager's chair? We need a clearout a la Turnbull era, but have neither the funds nor the Boardroom vision to see this through and Brown/Knox will always struggle while the status quo remains.

They're sh*t.

Unless it escaped you, we were down to ten men. I'm no Maguire fan, but the way Celtic keep the ball he would have needed pace and stamina of superhuman proportions to do what you ask there. I think you're doing him a great disservice

So true min once we went a man doon Maguire and the boys up top were fighting a loosing battle we were mare streched than Jordans fud.

cant be bothered to read 9 pages. still too annoyed.

at first i was screaming blue murder at the tv, the ref, celtic...but as the game went on, it became obvious that we were the architects of our own downfall because we have some inherently stupid players in our team.

if we were smart, wed have only made a small change (personally id have taken maguire back and put magennis up top to use his pace and strength to hold up the ball but thats neither here nor there). as you can see in this pitch, we should have stayed how we had started going man for man allover the pitch which would leave their spare man as one of the centre backs. everyone else gets touch tight on their man and tries to get a relatively high press so that the easy passing options are cut out. you therefore force the CB on the ball to carry it forward into traffic.

acsc.jpg

our players stay touch tight and as soon as that ball is played, our guys go in and dig them. force them to play sideways or backwards and make sure you do your job.

what we did however was a joke

scsm.jpg

i noticed this straight away, we dropped far too deep and allowed them to box us in. the mids were obviously so concerned about them doing us through the middle that we got too narrow and let their wingers have time and space. magennis clearly never heard the phrase "check your shoulder" because he was forever allowing izaguire to overlap and get chances to put the ball into the area. then, because we dropped so deep and let them have the wings, bebo became completely isolated and didnt stand a chance against 2 centre backs which also meant that izaguire and wilson had all the time in the world to do what they wanted.

there was no drive today. lots of running, but very little clever play. milsom looked to cut off the easy balls into the strikers feet but then hes a natural in there, hes been taught that for years. vernon and magennis im willing to forgive since they were out of position, but overall it was a shambles.

aluko looked decent in fairness to him but didnt close down wilson a fraction as much as he should. whenever the ball was shifted you saw our mids ambling over to cover. we didnt press them at all and made their day very easy.

considines red card had nothing to do with today. we didnt play smart enough. madrid had the exact same thing last night but they reshuffled and pressed effectively against the best passing team in the world. we capitulated and let them batter us.

not happy in the slightest

Why the hell folk are so angry I don't know, we were never likely to get a result with 11, and to play 2/3 of the game with 10 against 12 (which it was by the way, although the ref did get the sending off correct, that was about it for him all game).

Oh, I don't know. Because they travelled all the way down from Aberdeen and beyond on a Sunday and we got f**king hammered 4-0.....and it was all over after 15 mins. I'd be pissed off too......

baffled by Aluko yesterday - first 10 /15mins, looked up for it big time....then we didnt give him the ball? Then we put him to right wing!?

With 11 men, we would have won that game....with 10 it was just a matter of time.