oilcat Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Stopping Izzaguri is pretty much key to stopping the supply to Celtics front men.....if Deek is playing I hope he clatters him early on to make him wary... Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Stopping Izzaguri is pretty much key to stopping the supply to Celtics front men.....if Deek is playing I hope he clatters him early on to make him wary...I agree which makes our selection at right midfield crucial. Can only really be Magennis i would think unless he sticks Jack out there but he has no pace at all. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted April 15, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 15, 2011 I'll be there on Sunday but if by some miracle we get to the final, winna be there - Florida beckons. I suspect I wont be sitting in Florida texting to find out what's happening in the final as I cant see us getting past the Minkers on Sunday Link to comment
BigYin Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 I'll be there on Sunday but if by some miracle we get to the final, winna be there - Florida beckons. I suspect I wont be sitting in Florida texting to find out what's happening in the final as I cant see us getting past the Minkers on Sunday Is it any wonder we've been sh*te for so long with negativity like that! So called "Supporters" mentalities are bound to rub off on players... Link to comment
RedEubos Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Get a grip min.... there's a difference between negativity and being realistic. The reality being.. we play like we have against the Tims all season, then it is heartbreak stuff again. If the minks in their hoops turn up and play... they win the game.. simples.... BUT.. if they have an off day, we get in their faces, beast into every challenge... close every ball down AND take the chances when they come along.... then maybe just maybe the Northern Lights will shine. Link to comment
BigYin Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Get a grip min.... there's a difference between negativity and being realistic. The reality being.. we play like we have against the Tims all season, then it is heartbreak stuff again. If the minks in their hoops turn up and play... they win the game.. simples.... BUT.. if they have an off day, we get in their faces, beast into every challenge... close every ball down AND take the chances when they come along.... then maybe just maybe the Northern Lights will shine. Aye But it's a sorry state of affairs when we've got to hope and pray that the Tims playe sh*te and we play oot our skin! If everyones got the mentality of "Oh here we go, the tims have scored its going to be a rout, they are on form" then that's how disaters like the 9-0 drubbing happen! We need to learn to keep the heeds and keep plugging away rather than everyone shying away from the ball and thinking whats the point. and it all stems from the supporters getting on the players backs and having no optimism what so ever. Link to comment
RedEubos Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Aye But it's a sorry state of affairs when we've got to hope and pray that the Tims playe sh*te and we play oot our skin! If everyones got the mentality of "Oh here we go, the tims have scored its going to be a rout, they are on form" then that's how disaters like the 9-0 drubbing happen! We need to learn to keep the heeds and keep plugging away rather than everyone shying away from the ball and thinking whats the point. and it all stems from the supporters getting on the players backs and having no optimism what so ever. nae offence.... but you're rambling a pile of pish IMHO. It's nothing about "mentality" "negativity" or any other word that can be deemed a put down. The FACTS are... those tinks have a team that is far superior to our's.... it's FACT... that if those 11 fuds in pishy hooped tops play to their ability they will beat us again. BUT .... we do have a chance and it will come down to who wants to stand up... roll their sleeves up and say... f**k you, ye bunch of tinky bas*ards.... you're not beating me to a ball on the ground today... not winning a header that's in the air... not getting an extra yard to have a shot... we do those things and we CAN win the game. I think most fans have earned the right, after enduring years of absolute sh*te, to have a "negative" attitude if that's whay you're harping on about. I bet those same fans will still sing the air out their lungs and tackle every ball just to get a result tho. The city needs a good team... maybe the players should give the fans something to be proud of again. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 I think most fans have earned the right, after enduring years of absolute sh*te, to have a "negative" attitude if that's whay you're harping on about. I don't think it's a case of being "negative", more about being conditioned to have low expectations and avoid further disappointment. In the past I've always looked forward to major occasions, and had a build up of excitement well before the match. Not this time, however. I expect there's more like me about and I'm not negative at all. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 I thought Young played well on Wednesday night so more of the same and he should be fine. He can play better than most of the other options with his eyes closed. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted April 15, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 15, 2011 Is it any wonder we've been sh*te for so long with negativity like that! So called "Supporters" mentalities are bound to rub off on players...Dont speak f**king pish - I've probably been a supporter longer than you've had hot dinners but there is a huge difference between "negatitivity" and watching the current crop of gutless wonders (youngsters apart). While we have certain players still in our squad that situation will remain - its f**k all to do with being negative Link to comment
baconman Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 I hope we win but i am not holding my breath! Link to comment
BigYin Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Dont speak f**king pish - I've probably been a supporter longer than you've had hot dinners but there is a huge difference between "negatitivity" and watching the current crop of gutless wonders (youngsters apart). While we have certain players still in our squad that situation will remain - its f**k all to do with being negative So what you are saying is that this isn't negativity? do you know what the word means? of course its f**king negativity Playing for a team whos supporters don't believe they can actually win on merit, only on the off chance that Celtic play sh*te. of course thats going to affect you. OK, we haven t been great - far from it infact but we still have the chance of making a final and salvaging our season. Surely this will get the players and supporters up for hayin' a right good go at it next season! Link to comment
BigYin Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 nae offence.... but you're rambling a pile of pish IMHO. It's nothing about "mentality" "negativity" or any other word that can be deemed a put down. The FACTS are... those tinks have a team that is far superior to our's.... it's FACT... that if those 11 fuds in pishy hooped tops play to their ability they will beat us again. BUT .... we do have a chance and it will come down to who wants to stand up... roll their sleeves up and say... f**k you, ye bunch of tinky bas*ards.... you're not beating me to a ball on the ground today... not winning a header that's in the air... not getting an extra yard to have a shot... we do those things and we CAN win the game. I think most fans have earned the right, after enduring years of absolute sh*te, to have a "negative" attitude if that's whay you're harping on about. I bet those same fans will still sing the air out their lungs and tackle every ball just to get a result tho. The city needs a good team... maybe the players should give the fans something to be proud of again. Couldn't agree more mate, all im saying is, us supporters don't make it any easier to achieve by constantly being on their backs - whether they deserve it or not its not solving the problem, is it!? And you say " we've earned the right to be negative" shitey way of putting it IMHO, but I do believe there are far too many gutless players in this team. serious shake up needed in the summer, bring in more players like Young, who are willing to fight for the jersey! Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted April 15, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 15, 2011 So what you are saying is that this isn't negativity? do you know what the word means? of course its f**king negativity Playing for a team whos supporters don't believe they can actually win on merit, only on the off chance that Celtic play sh*te. of course thats going to affect you. OK, we haven t been great - far from it infact but we still have the chance of making a final and salvaging our season. Surely this will get the players and supporters up for hayin' a right good go at it next season!Dinna speak pish. For years we have had certain players in our squad who have had a pish mentality and who don't have the attitude it takes to win games - they are bottlers. Whether or not fans have the belief that we are likely to win or not is irrelevant - its the players who need to have the winning mentality (and ability) to get results. If certain players don't have the bottle, whether or not the fans have a positive attitude makes not a jot of difference. Negativity or not on the part of the supporters has f**k all to do with it Link to comment
RUL Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 He can play better than most of the other options with his eyes closed. At right back? Its potential car crash material every time. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 I'm out as I'm away. I'd nae go either. We're gonna get a royal humping. Prove me wrong Aberdeen. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 At right back? Its potential car crash material every time. Actually meant it as a wee joke about his asian bearing. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 He can play better than most of the other options with his eyes closed.Eh? At right back? Its potential car crash material every time.I ken min! Actually meant it as a wee joke about his asian bearing.Oh. I see. Link to comment
RUL Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 See they are now selling tickets up to the kick off time at Hampden. Odd they'll do it for that game but seen folk getting turned away from the ticket office on Wednesday night? Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Not sure if this has been mentioned on another thread but someone just e-mailed into Sportsound and pointed out that Celtic have not beaten us in a Scottish Cup tie in Glasgow since the final of 1967. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Not sure if this has been mentioned on another thread but someone just e-mailed into Sportsound and pointed out that Celtic have not beaten us in a Scottish Cup tie in Glasgow since the final of 1967. I was there the last time we played them in Glasgow in the Scottish cup, brilliant 1-0 win at parkhead. Same again boys. Believe. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 I just can't see us getting anything from this game. It's so depressing that we've reached the stage where I have no confidence whatsoever. Even in a one-off game.... I just think our players have no backbone or character, I just can't see them rising to the occassion. I had a coupon come up midweek.... on Friday afternoon I collected my winnings and immediately re-invested the entire sum on Celtic qualifying for the Scottish Cup final. It was a lot of money for me, but I really hope that come Monday I won't be visiting the bookies to collect again. Link to comment
Westhill Red Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Now wishing I was heading down but the lunch time k.o on a Sunday put me right off before as of also my friends and family. Hope springs eternal comes to mind, surely we (the fans) deserve a win against that little ugly prick Lennon and his cretins and to get one over "thee greatest supporters in the world." Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 It's not too late to go. Tickets on sale up until KO. Link to comment
MightyDons Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 I just can't see us getting anything from this game. It's so depressing that we've reached the stage where I have no confidence whatsoever. Even in a one-off game.... I just think our players have no backbone or character, I just can't see them rising to the occassion. I had a coupon come up midweek.... on Friday afternoon I collected my winnings and immediately re-invested the entire sum on Celtic qualifying for the Scottish Cup final. It was a lot of money for me, but I really hope that come Monday I won't be visiting the bookies to collect again. I think we seem to have developed the same mentality when facing the Old Firm as we did under Ebbe this season. Granted the teams show a lot of similarities, especially given the amount of younger players in the squad. Whether we like it or not, it will take time (maybe years) for the players as well as the fans to shift the impact of that 9-0 loss. It all starts tomorrow...a victory and a chance at silverware will be a good start, although a performance and narrow defeat is the bare minimum! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 well I'm now looking forward to it, the scottish cup and league cup at least throws up some shocks, usually against us but its about time we were the ones shocking other teams. just get in to them from the off, don't even let them breath, its going to take everything from this lot though Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 I'm stealing this post from elsewhere as its exactly what I think :--- "Just in case any of you players are looking in at a loose end sitting in your hotel tonight. When you walk out on that park tomorrow, look to your left at the West Stand....look at the faces, the flags the red and white and SEE what this game means to the fans and the club. All we ask for is an honest 100% performance...dont leave that park wishing or thinking you could have done better...........most of you will never experiance a greater buzz than celebrating a win at the end of the game in fronmt of Aberdeen fans Time to step up....Time to become heroes Dont let us down" Link to comment
ChookterDon Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 All fans who don't have a ticket GET ONE!P.S I've got 3 spare seat in my motor heading down from dundee.. I'll check back later to see if anyone wants a lift Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 yopu know what folks i've a good feeling about this year the last gasp goals against Dunfermline and St Mirren, the fact that it's Motherwell in the final the sript is written for Craig Brown, and i have just had a look on Stan James three great bets, ABERDEEN TO WIN IN EXTRA TIME 40/1. ABERDEEN 1-0, MAGUIRE TO SCORE FIRST 91/1. ABERDEEN 1-0 MILSOM TO SCORE FIRST 169/1 Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 yopu know what folks i've a good feeling about this year the last gasp goals against Dunfermline and St Mirren, the fact that it's Motherwell in the final the sript is written for Craig Brown, and i have just had a look on Stan James three great bets, ABERDEEN TO WIN IN EXTRA TIME 40/1. ABERDEEN 1-0, MAGUIRE TO SCORE FIRST 91/1. ABERDEEN 1-0 MILSOM TO SCORE FIRST 169/1 Even if we fluke a win (and it would be a big fluke as i think the game will be over by halftime) we wouldn't beat Motherwell anyway. Link to comment