buzz15afc

Not lottery related but here'll do:

An Aberdeenshire fisherman has won the biggest-ever payout from an online gambling site – after initially bidding just 20p.

The married father-of-one pocketed a total of £5.4m on the Hall of Gods game at BetVictor's online casino after winning a progressive jackpot.
The winner, who has not been named, said: "There's no need to ask how I'm feeling — yahoo should answer that.
"When I won, the first person I told was my wife. She was as shocked as I was. I can only compare the feeling of winning as equal, but different, from the day I saw my son born.
"I guess we all chase the dream and winning the biggest-ever UK online jackpot has been a dream come true for me and my family as it will change our lives — we have no worries about the future now."
The deep sea fisherman said he had previously played other games on BetVictor and was tempted by the big jackpots to play the casino slots, but never thought he could win such a large amount.
He will take time to decide what he will do with the money but says he will give some to charity and will continue to work as a fisherman because otherwise, he said, he would miss it too much.
His win has come six months after another BetVictor member landed £4.5m playing at an online casino.
Andrew Dymock, head of eGaming at BetVictor said: "I couldn't be happier for one of our most loyal of Scottish customers to pick up this fantastic jackpot and it was a pleasure to congratulate him after his win.
"This jackpot is the biggest single win BetVictor has ever paid out and we are delighted to say that we've paid out £10m to two lucky BetVictor players in the last six months."

What a tight cunt.

• 7 months later...

A NORTH-east man has scooped a more than £136,000 jackpot in a EuroMillions rollover.

Brian Warrender, 55, from Laurencekirk, won £136,065.80 when he matched five numbers and a Lucky Star on the EuroMillions draw on May 27.

Brian, who runs his own plumbing and heating firm, said: “I don’t play EuroMillions regularly but when I saw the poster I thought I should take a chance and bought a couple of Lucky Dip tickets.

“I checked the numbers on TV on Wednesday morning - I didn’t have my glasses on and at first I thought the 26 was a 28.

“I was over the moon when I realised it was actually a 26 - my number.

“The first thing I did was let my family know; they were excited to hear the news that they had a lottery winner in their midst.”

Brian said he will be putting his winnings towards buying a house – and indulging his weekend hobby, golf.

Looks like a bit of a prick.

http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/news/local/north-east-man-wins-136-000-in-euromillions-1.407308

It pisses me off when old folk win the lottery. For one half oh them dinna need it and they spend it wisely!

The boy Carrol was a cunt as he was a hun and a jakey cunt, but he had the right Idea just he got mooched off by to many pals.

Id move to Vegas personally Hire the Biggest suite in Cosmo Hotel then have six month of pure Carnage with my close mates, Id pay Boofon tae tell the Algeria story over and over, wait I wouldna have to pay him.............

It would be funny when they get asked what are you going to spend the money on? Coke and High Class Hookers!!!! Its better than a house and a car maybe take a holiday to Butlins... Fuckn Basic!

People that say it ruins yer life have got cunts for mates and are fuckn boring to start with.

FFS a plumber. As if they cunts need anymore money anyway.

"Aye, the wee bitty in yer boiler is broken but they don't make it anymore so you'll need to replace the whole thing. That'll be £3,000 please."

Fuck off cunt and just solder it you fud.

+1 brilliant

• 3 months later...

Check out this dweeb.

WHEN she scooped a £1million jackpot on the National Lottery, teenager Jane Park vowed she wouldn’t let the money change her.

Twelve months on, the 18-year-old has splashed out on “new boobs and nice bags” but says little else in her life has changed.
She hasn’t bought the white Range Rover she said she would buy because she still hasn’t learned to drive.
She is not living in the luxury new house she bought as she didn’t like living on her own.
And she says in the weeks after winning the EuroMillions Millionaire Raffle, she didn’t take all her friends on the dream holiday she planned as her pals either couldn’t get time off work or didn’t have passports.
The Hibs fan hates clothes shopping, doesn’t dine out at fine restaurants and worries that boys are scared to chat her up because of her bank balance.
And Jane claims that not having anything to do all day when her friends are at work can be boring.
But as she prepares to start looking for a job or head off to university, she realises just how lucky she is.
Jane, who lives with her mum in a two-bed flat in Niddrie, Edinburgh, said: “Maybe I’m not your typical sort of lottery winner as I hate shopping and I don’t like going on holiday to five-star hotels.
“I am having fun and it’s good knowing that I have money and can do whatever I want to do. My trouble is I just need to work out what it is I want to do.
“I got my boobs done a couple of weeks ago – which is something I always said I would do if I ever had the money.
“And the one thing I do like shopping for is designer bags. I must have about 50 – everything from Louis Vuitton and Michael Kors to Chanel. But they are so nice that when I’m going out, I’m scared I’ll drop and ruin them so I don’t take them on nights out.
“Other than that, I don’t really know what I’ve spent money on.”
Jane added: “I’ve bought my chihuahua, Princess.” But then she remembers she was given to her as a gift.
She continued: “I’ve bought a few pairs of nice earrings. I’ve been to Magaluf a few times, took my mum to Benidorm and I’ve had some weekends away with my pals to Newcastle, Aberdeen and Glasgow.
“I had a nice party for my 18th birthday at Hibernian Football Club and I’ve given a bit of money to my family. I don’t really splash out on fancy meals – although at the end of a night out I might buy everyone a McDonald’s.
“And I don’t even buy nice things at the supermarket as my mum does all the cooking and food shopping.
“If I spend it all, I spend it all – but I’m not anywhere near that. Some of it is put away where I can’t use it and some I can dip into when I want.
“I’ve rented out the house I bought so I’ve got money coming in from that. It’s all good – I know how lucky I am.”
Jane was just 17 when she hit the jackpot in July last year with the first ticket she bought.
As she was presented with her cheque, she announced her immediate plans were to buy a white Range Rover, go on holiday to Ibiza with her friends and buy a season ticket for Hibs.
But this week, as she travelled to Inverness on a Hibs supporters bus to watch her team play Ross County, she said she had not bought a season ticket.
And she admitted neither her car shopping or holiday booking had gone to plan.
She said: “I’ve not learned to drive – I just haven’t got round to it yet – so I still just take the bus everywhere or get taxis.
“I have been on quite a few holidays – maybe five or six – but mostly to Magaluf. And they weren’t luxury, just package holidays like anyone else would go on.
“There is one five-star hotel I know of in Magaluf but it’s a bit out of the way and it’s full of people in their 30s, 40s and older.
“I’m only 18 and when I go on holiday I want to be in the middle of things with people my age and where you can have lots of fun.
“I would feel totally out of place if I booked somewhere posh.
“When I first won the money, I offered to take lots of my friends away but in the end only one girl could come. The rest didn’t have passports or couldn’t get off work.”
Jane, who has two younger brothers and an older sister, bought a three-bed house on a new housing estate in East Lothian.
But she says house-hunting and shopping to furnish the property hadn’t been as much fun as she thought it would be. She stayed just two weeks in the house before moving back home with her mum in Edinburgh.
Jane added: “I’m not sure I ever thought I would live there but I gave it a try.
“I looked at a few places before buying this house and it is lovely but I don’t like living on my own.
“Even shopping to furnish it was not much fun. Who wants to shop for blinds and curtains? It was boring.
“In the end, I rented it out unfurnished so even the things I bought – the telly and other furniture – I had to move out again.
“But I know it’s a good investment to have property.”
One of the biggest things Jane has splashed out on since her jackpot win is a Tag Heuer watch worth £3000.
She has also invested in a few tattoos but now wants to have one of her older tattoos that reads The Female Boss removed from her left forearm.
She has no plans to use her win to set up a company of her own and be her own boss.
At the time of her lottery win, she was working as an assistant with the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations.
She hasn’t worked since her short-term contract with the SCVO ran out just a few weeks after her win. But she is now planning to focus on her career.
The former Holyrood High pupil said: “I’m probably going to go to work soon because I’m bored sitting about the house but I don’t really know what I want to do.
“I did pretty well at school – I got mainly 1s and 2s in my Standard Grades – so I might go to university. I don’t know what I’ll study.”
The highlight of Jane’s week is going out with her friends. She doesn’t shower her pals with gifts but is generous on nights out.
And while she has recently started dating, she knows her wealth might scare potential boyfriends away.
She said: “There is one guy I have been meeting recently – a friend from before my lottery win – but before that I was single for a while.
“When I first started going out after the lottery win, everyone seemed to know who I was and they would make jokes about the drinks being on me.
“They were always really nice about it and usually ended up buying me a drink.”
“But I think knowing about the money isn’t always a good thing. I think it might scare guys off – as they are worried I will think they are only interested because of the money. I don’t let it bother me.
“My friends don’t care about the money and they don’t let me buy them things. Although after a few drinks on nights out, I might buy a few rounds.
“Then on the way home we might stop at McDonald’s and I’ll buy the food.”
Jane says that, while she might not be living the high life, she is happy.
She added: “When I first realised I had a winning ticket, I couldn’t believe it – and it still feels like that sometimes.
“I said winning the lottery wouldn’t change me and I don’t think it has.
“I might have new boobs and nice designer bags but I’m still the same person I was before. And I don’t think any amount of money will change that.”

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/scottish-teen-lotto-millionaire-reveals-4337991#rlabs=4

Here's a suggestion. If you don't want the trappings of being minted and you're not fucking stupid enough to give it away to some cat's home charity, and equally you don't want the hassles that money brings such as lads being scared to chat you up because you're loaded :hysterical:(and have nice boobs apparently), then don't go in the fucking daily record bleating about it. Jesus H.

Oh, and suggestion 2. Don't tell the readership you've got a really nice house with new furninshings but you don't live in it at the moment. Why not say, but its OK as there's a key under the flower pot on the window sill. Save yourself the price of a backdoor window.

I bet Blurto loves the bingo really. He's there for the early flyer with his lucky red dabber, nattering away to the blue rinse brigade about price rises. He once had a sweat on the national you know. Tell the truth Blurts, you're a member at the Gala.

Nah min.

Few pints down the locals before a fancy meal out followed by some strong nightcaps on the way home is my idea of a night out.

There are 13,983,816 different ways to select six balls out of 49, which is why the odds of winning the lottery are said to be “one in 14m”. That is less likely than a fair coin landing on heads 23 times in a row (1 in 8.4m), and slightly more likely than a randomly selected person in England having been married to Katie Price (1 in 17.7m).
The lottery is 20 years old, and 20 is also the number that has appeared the fewest times. It has only been pulled out of the barrel 204 times, while the most common number 23 has come up 266 times. But this is exactly the variation we’d expect from random draws. If all numbers came up exactly as frequently, that would be a sign of foul play.
£720,152
This is the smallest jackpot yet and it occurred quite recently, on 13 August 2014. It’s a massive drop from the biggest ever jackpot, on 6 January 1996 of £42,008,610. Even more disappointing, the smallest ever jackpot was won by two people, so they had to split the pot and take home a “mere” £360,076 each.
The most people to win the same jackpot was 133 – they all picked the numbers 7, 17, 23, 32, 38 and 42 on 14 January 1995. It’s hard to imagine the emotional rollercoaster of thinking you have won the £16,293,830 jackpot only to end up with 1/133 of that total: £122,510.
55.5p
For every £1 you spend on national lottery games, you will win just over 55p on average. You can work this out from the performance reports of the Camelot Group, which runs the national lottery. In the first half of this financial year it sold £3.47bn worth of tickets and handed out £1.93bn in prizes. Of the remaining money, £868m went to good causes and the rest to things such as government duty, retailers’ commissions and running costs.
£2,078
For the first 1,856 draws, it only cost £1 per entry and for the 111 draws since 5 October 2013 it has been £2 per ticket. So playing every week since its inception would have cost you a total of £2,078. But using the average winnings from above, that means you will have won around £1,153.57 in prizes, a total loss of £924.44 (47p per draw).
It is estimated that in each draw, 10,000 people choose the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6. Of course, numbers that form a nice pattern like this are as likely as any other combination, so they are in no way reducing their chance of winning. But given most jackpots are around the £4m mark, if those numbers do come up, everyone will walk away with £400 each.
The price of a national lottery lotto ticket was increased to £2 in 2013. Photograph: Alamy
4, 15, 23, 24, 35, 43
The Bulgarian lottery uses the same run of numbers from 1 to 49 as the national lottery in the UK, and on 6 September 2009 the winning numbers were 4, 15, 23, 24, 35 and 43. This was completely unremarkable until exactly the same numbers were drawn again on 10 September 2009. At which point, it was still unremarkable. People demanded an inquiry into draw fixing, but with so many lotteries around the world, some of them will occasionally have freaky matches. Even the most unlikely results happen at a very predictable rate.
Currently, the number that has not been seen for the longest is 39, which was last drawn on 9 July 2014, over 100 days ago. But that does not make it any more likely or unlikely to be come up in the next draw. Despite what several online scams and get-rich books claim, every lottery draw is completely random and independent from all previous results. Expecting certain numbers to be “due” is called the “gambler’s fallacy”. There is no way to increase your odds of winning.

Fascinating stuff.

A NORTH-EAST couple returned from holiday to discover they had become millionaires.

George and Sandra Kinghorn won £1 million and free private island holiday in the EuroMillions Mega Friday draw.
They now have the luxury of planning their trip to the exclusive island, before their tans have started to fade from their last sunshine holiday in Tenerife..
Offshore worker George, who plays the lottery online, received the email telling him he was a winner on the drive back from the airport on Friday, October 31.
But the 60-year-old didn’t read it straight away as he was preoccupied and thought it would be a few pounds.
George said: “I always play the lottery online so I have had emails before with small wins.
“We were driving back from the airport when I quickly scanned the email and thought it would be the same size of win that I’d had before.
“I never once thought I’d scooped the jackpot. I didn’t open it and when I got home I put my phone on charge and went to bed.
“I only realised how much I’d won when I went online at 6.30pm the following night to put my lines on for the Saturday draw.
“I actually turned the computer off and back on again – I was sure it was a mistake.”
George then got wife Sandra, 53, to check the email for him.
He added: “We just wanted to make sure it really said £1,000,000 not £1,000. We were in total shock. It still hasn’t really sunk in yet.”
It was back to work for George as normal on the Tuesday, and because of his shift pattern it was another three weeks before he was home in Peterhead to finalise his win.
The couple, who have a grown up son George, 35, haven’t yet decided how they will spend their win:
George senior said: “We really haven’t thought about what we will do with the money; in fact we haven’t even had chance to celebrate yet!
“We have just been taking it all in. I like to play golf on my time off so I think I will take a few friends away for a week’s golfing.”
One thing they won’t need to spend their winnings on is a holiday – normally one of the first top ten purchases for lottery winners.
George and Sandra will be whisked off on a private island getaway which will see the winner and seven friends fly business class to Australia before a helicopter transfer to the amazing Makepeace Island on Australia's Sunshine Coast.

What a tight bastard, doing a three week trip after winning the lottery.