Tord31 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Would be a decent signing imo. Called for this one way back in May. Link to comment
The Highland Don Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Very experienced and a good mentor for Robertson, exactly what we need. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Good stuff, think it would be a very decent signing if it comes off. Full-backs Link to comment
stand_free Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Gary, who has played for his country 46 times, has willingly agreed to join Craig and the squad to provide cover in the left back position in the absence of Clark Robertson who is currently recovering from injury and will miss the start of the season. 'Cause we'd have taken him by force otherwise Article doesn't give any indication as to whether he's just using it as an opportunity to keep fit or if a deal's is being worked on. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Sounds like a bit of a trial, bit of an opportunity for him to get some fitness. Fine for all parties especially with Robertson out. If we are that thin on the ground though that we need a left back to come and cover throughout pre-season, then you know we really need one. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 19, 2012 Author Share Posted July 19, 2012 'Cause we'd have taken him by force otherwise Article doesn't give any indication as to whether he's just using it as an opportunity to keep fit or if a deal's is being worked on. aye its very oddly worded Link to comment
stand_free Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Good stuff, think it would be a very decent signing if it comes off. Full-backs Feel like I'm going to wake up, it's all going to have been a crazy dream and we've actually signed three more centre mids. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 I just hope it's not another Macnamara/Hartley where the legs have gone. Link to comment
stand_free Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Fat Charlie's saying in the paper that Broon will be waiting until next month for any more signings so as to spend his money wisely. Hopefully that means biding our time to secure someone like Naysmith and nae spunking money on rash squad fillers like Uchechi. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 I just hope it's not another Macnamara/Hartley where the legs have gone. I wouldnt be expecting as much from Naysmith as I did from MacNamara and Hartley Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 From the sound of Browns RedTV interview about Naysmith it sounds like he would be keen to add Gary to his squad. He said it's a short term thing but may end up as a longer term deal. Hope so as Naysmith has great experience and would bolster our defence. Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Brown on Red TV just now saying he will play in Germany and "provide cover for Robertson." I assume he doesn't mean just in Germany? Would be a decent signing nonetheless. Link to comment
paddy Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Would be a decent signing, only worry would be his injury history. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Good we've got him on a trial - his recent injury problems and age are why we can have a look at him. If he is better from the injuries and can still do a job he'd be a great signing but his track record for the last year or three is not inspiring. If he cuts the mustard in germany and comes away injury free then he's worth a contract. Definitely worthwhile having onboard and really hopes it works out well. Link to comment
DougieBell Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Would love to see this turn into something permanent, especially if Naysmith can be convinced to regrow the beard. We've been sorely lacking in the beard area since Hartley left. Link to comment
Monkey Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Gary, who has played for his country 46 times, has willingly agreed to join Craig and the squad to provide cover in the left back position in the absence of Clark Robertson who is currently recovering from injury and will miss the start of the season. The fact it mentions providing cover for Robertson at left back and then goes onto say Robertson will be missing at the start of the season makes me think that he may well be here for at least a short term deal. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Does that mean he'll be second pick to Robertson? Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted July 19, 2012 Admin Share Posted July 19, 2012 [*]Brought in wingers[*]Looking at a full back[*]The Huns are deid and sevco are in the 3rd.[*] 3 Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 [*]Brought in wingers[*]Looking at a full back[*]The Huns are deid and sevco are in the 3rd.[*] 3 Link to comment
OddJob Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 [*]Brought in wingers[*]Looking at a full back[*]The Huns are deid and sevco are in the 3rd.[*] Link to comment
Donmacca Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 tup is a nonce Haven't heard that word in ages. Used to call a lad I worked with that. Link to comment
MURRA Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 would be good signing, would provide good experience to robertson. age 34 could be a problem with fitness/pace etc, but a lot better than chris clark getting an opportunity of a start at LB. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Haven't heard that word in ages. Used to call a lad I worked with that. Lad from Wick? Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 If he can prove his fitness, legs haven't gone and is not asking for a wage outwith budget then I'd certainly be getting him in for a year. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 tup is a nonce Who wants to chip in and buy him a shirt with Nonce 69 on it ? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 34....hmmm. See how he does in pre season I suppose. Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Agent Football@AgentScotland Aberdeen have been encouraged to sign Gary Naysmith after learning he's willing to deal for Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 Agent Football@AgentScotland Aberdeen have been encouraged to sign Gary Naysmith after learning he's willing to deal for Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted July 19, 2012 Share Posted July 19, 2012 he makes an impact preseason, but I have my doubts. Or we'll sign him and his legs will give way a couple months in. Haven't heard that word in ages. Used to call a lad I worked with that. Clearly you weren't on yesterday. There's a thread basically been hijacked, can't remember what one it was with songs dedicated to our resident nonce. Big Man posted an article about a nonce on the run in Wick and then he started making suggestive comments about Ollie's loon. Coincidence? Link to comment