ollie1903 Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Was always quiet when we were younger. Would be very surprised if he started itAye, likewise. As Tommy says, good lad Ryan. His old man Andy's a good sort too. A loyal Hilton supporter back in the day. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 15, 2014 Share Posted April 15, 2014 Aye, likewise. As Tommy says, good lad Ryan. His old man Andy's a good sort too. A loyal Hilton supporter back in the day.I always thouhgt he'd go further than he did football wise. Shame he got those injuries so young. Wasn't he the youngest highland league debutant at that time? Link to comment
Tyrant Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Scariest club I've frequented was 3C in Detroit... also known as The CCC Club. When I first moved here there was a bunch of us, mainly white strangely enough, who would go there after work on a Friday to do drugs, get fucked up and watch the dynamic. That was back in my younger days when I was a wild-eyed loner, standing at the gates of oblivion, on the last freedom moped out of nowhere city. Stabbings were a nightly affair, you couldn't go to the bogs alone, and Coke was done in the safety of large groups of people. Place was the haunt of a lot of local celebrities, which gave it a kind of status, and the worst of the city's hoods were usually identified at the door and turned away by the doormen, who also happened to be some local gang or other who had a rep for being stupid violent. They were aye fine wi us, though... I think the sight of some whities coming in was funny as shit to them. I think it was 3C where we couldn't get in one night because there'd been a shootout outside and some lad was being carted off to the ambulance under a sheet, but I could be wrong about the location of that particular incident. Weekends in Detroit are like the Wild West, unless you stick to the burbs or Greektown. EDIT: That wasnae in Scotland, though, to be fair. Roughest Scottish pub was maybe the Saltoun Arms in the 80s. 2 folk were shot dead in there circa 2006. One of them was a rapper from Eminem's group D12. http://en.wikinews.org/wiki/Rapper_Proof_%28D12%29_shot_and_killed_outside_Detroit_nightclub Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Roughest pub? There's rough, and there's violent. I've been in some right rough dives, toddlers running about in nappies and bare feet amongst pish and broken glass whilst their dad has his heid doon a bog vomiting. Mother nowhere to be seen. And I've been in violent pubs where you never knew where the next random punch or heid butt was coming from. By and large, yes, city centre pubs are generally 'less rough' than estate pubs but does anyone remember Platform 9 on Guild Street back in the 80s/90s? Guaranteed mass brawl in there every night. Link to comment
Guest Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Roughest pub I've been in was the Royal Oak in Nitshill. It is no more. Only went there cos one of my mates cousin's was a regular. Roughest pub I've never been in was one at Eglinton Toll. I interviewed a guy once and found a missing 18 months on his CV. It's amazing how many of you try to cover periods of down-time by faking the dates of your employment history. This guy was meeting somebody for a pint. He was early and wanted a pish. He got battered so badly in the bogs that he was in a coma for 2 months, hospitalised for 7 and out of work for a year and a half. His crime was to be a stranger in a Celtic bar and wearing a blue denim jacket. He was such a weedy guy anyway that he was battered by real cowards, letting off their own frustration at their own sad inadequate lives. I didn't put him forward for the job and I found it hard to feel sorry for him. He was in the wrong place at the wrong time and the wrongness of the city he lived in throws up shit like this all the time. Whatever small sliver of life he had before had evaporated thereafter. A loser basically, and a very unlucky one. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Rough or violent pubs are no issue for a seasoned pub gower like myself. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Bollocks, you're probably that sad wanker who drinks in Wetherspoons every night, sampling the real ales and boring the barmaid titless with your notes and observations. 3 Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Aye bet hes coined the phrase "Just a half please" Many a time. Link to comment
360 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 So he's invented that phrase many a time, has he? Don't use words you don't understand, son. It makes you look even more foolish than you already do, and that's saying something. 1 Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Ahhhhh heres my play thing. Right on Queue, Question, when blutos had a jobby and needs his arse wiped do you lend a hand? Your relationship is very cute.......... Link to comment
tup Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Your 'banter' is fucking terrible 360 3 Link to comment
Henry Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Your 'banter' is fucking terrible 360 His dedication to using son and kid as patronising terms even when no one is biting is admirable though. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 So he's invented that phrase many a time, has he? Don't use words you don't understand, son. It makes you look even more foolish than you already do, and that's saying something. Ignore mr melocholy 360 min; he is a spamming fisherman 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Your 'banter' is fucking terrible 360 I think he is funny actually. Chill out tip min, its a long weekend 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Bollocks, you're probably that sad wanker who drinks in Wetherspoons every night, sampling the real ales and boring the barmaid titless with your notes and observations.At least where I live is good enough to warrant a weatherspoons Link to comment
360 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Ahhhhh heres my play thing. Right on Queue, Question, when blutos had a jobby and needs his arse wiped do you lend a hand? Your relationship is very cute.......... Your 'banter' is fucking terrible 360 Look at the post above if you want to see room clearingly bad 'banter', tup. His dedication to using son and kid as patronising terms even when no one is biting is admirable though. It's usage is not meant to be patronising in my neck of the woods, actually. It's interesting that you should interpret it like that though, it says a lot about your own self esteem Harcus. :cool: Ignore mr melocholy 360 min; he is a spamming fisherman Not a very good one, either. Have a good weekend, kid. I know I will. 2 Link to comment
E-P-K Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 I think he is funny actually. Chill out tip min, its a long weekend Remember my beer, before you go drinking the bars beer all weekend. Link to comment
80s Don Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Templehall tavern in Kirkcaldy...........mike Tyson used ti work on the door but got replaced by Robocop as he wisnae hard enuff. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Remember my beer, before you go drinking the bars beer all weekend. Oh forgot about that!Dinna worry it'll come Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Been in many over the years and a good number of those listed already but not seen that much trouble in them. Justice Mill Lane would have been a far more dangerous place than the Belmont 15 years ago for instance. Worst bar would be some shitty estate pub in Sighthill, Edinburgh. Mate of mine saw somone showing his pal his new sawn-off in there one afternoon. Link to comment
Guest Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Been in many over the years and a good number of those listed already but not seen that much trouble in them. Justice Mill Lane would have been a far more dangerous place than the Belmont 15 years ago for instance. Worst bar would be some shitty estate pub in Sighthill, Edinburgh. Mate of mine saw somone showing his pal his new sawn-off in there one afternoon. "Dudgie", the only AFC fan in the Royal Oak took us in there before Celtic games. The wrong side of town but a good scoof. Once when we were playing pool, a guy came up and took two double barrelled shotguns oot his jacket and put them on the pool table. No answer to that really. Hemmin, get the fuck wi yer shite might nae have worked fae a couple of young kids in their 20's who were strangers. They were dealing weights of hash and bags o smack over the counter. The most mental place I have ever been in. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 "Dudgie", the only AFC fan in the Royal Oak took us in there before Celtic games. The wrong side of town but a good scoof. Once when we were playing pool, a guy came up and took two double barrelled shotguns oot his jacket and put them on the pool table. No answer to that really. Hemmin, get the fuck wi yer shite might nae have worked fae a couple of young kids in their 20's who were strangers. They were dealing weights of hash and bags o smack over the counter. The most mental place I have ever been in. Sure they weren't fiddles? http://www.royal-oak-folk.com/ Link to comment
Guest Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Roughest pub I've been in was the Royal Oak in Nitshill. It is no more. Only went there cos one of my mates cousin's was a regular. Sure they weren't fiddles? http://www.royal-oak-folk.com/ Aye, I'm sure. Wrong city. This place got closed down by the polis, apparently. It was an engineered or assisted insurance job. They couldn't just revoke the licence. Gangland central. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 17, 2014 Share Posted April 17, 2014 Aye, I'm sure. Wrong city. This place got closed down by the polis, apparently. It was an engineered or assisted insurance job. They couldn't just revoke the licence. Gangland central. Sorry. I didn't realise that I should have read your post in the context of recognising another made several hours previously. ----- I was also only joking- I ken it's been a while since you were in your early 20s and the Royal Oak in the wrong city was a lot rougher back then as well. I've never been to Nitshill- only reason I know it exists was because I laughed when I saw it on a bus in Glasgow for the first time. Proper shithole of a place, I'm guessing? Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted April 19, 2014 Share Posted April 19, 2014 Sorry. I didn't realise that I should have read your post in the context of recognising another made several hours previously. ----- I was also only joking- I ken it's been a while since you were in your early 20s and the Royal Oak in the wrong city was a lot rougher back then as well. I've never been to Nitshill- only reason I know it exists was because I laughed when I saw it on a bus in Glasgow for the first time. Proper shithole of a place, I'm guessing?Nitshill isn't THAT bad, worse bits of Glasgow anyway. I think the royal oak is still on the go, or reopened as we considered it as our pre-cup final venue and contacted the owner. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 20, 2014 Share Posted April 20, 2014 The royal oak was burnt down by rivals of the 'gangsters' who used to frequent it and use it as a meeting place. Nitshill and the surrounding area is a fucking dive. Link to comment
DD1903 Posted April 20, 2014 Share Posted April 20, 2014 The cavendish is the pub beside where the royal oak used to be. It's been renamed after being shut down. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted April 20, 2014 Share Posted April 20, 2014 The royal oak was burnt down by rivals of the 'gangsters' who used to frequent it and use it as a meeting place.Nitshill and the surrounding area is a fucking dive.I thought we were meaning a dive near Parkhead. Think that was something to do with Tam McGraw and his cronies right enough, was in a book I read. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 21, 2014 Share Posted April 21, 2014 I read a book a week sheep #1 min Link to comment