Pudgie Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 The positive for me is how well Goodwillie manages to link the attack and the midfield from a two up front. We all knew that the midfield could support the attack but I didn't think Goodie would be the type of player to put in the work. I can really see him working well for us. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Brown looked hesitant to come off his line, but that aside he looked 4,565,768 x better than Langfield. Taylor was MOTM for me. Won everything in the air. Thought Reynolds lapsed in concentration a couple of times and actually got lucky in the first half. Hayes done well defensively but gettting forward he seemed shot of confidence/scared to take a man on until he pushed on when Considine came on. Logan, Pawlett, Low didn't really do much. Flood & Jack were quietly efficient. Robson/Smith didnt have much impact. Goodwillie looks class with his back to goal, his first touch is tremendous. Rooney took his goals very well, though I did notice he was often he was in a left wing position when they had the ball with Pawlett moving into the centre. Strange but seemed to work. Referee was absolutely dreadful. The goal kick he gave (when he talked to Pawlett for going aff his nut) is genuinely the worse decision I've ever seen at Pittodrie since Mackies 3 year contract extension. Play like that v ICT going forward we will smash them. Link to comment
AFCaketin Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Rooney and Goodwillie working very well. Considering they have only played a couple of times together, the awareness of the other player's position and movement is excellent - some nice link up play and flick-ons last night. Defences will struggle to handle both of them, they play really close to each other and pull the centre backs all over the place which creates space through the middle for the likes of Pawlett to run into. Will be disappointed if we don't start them together at least every home game! Link to comment
dejanflapovic Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Brown could have saved 10 penatlies and scored a hatrick and he will still be dropped for the ICT game, personally a wrong move as he is better in every department than the clown langfield. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 I think the way both are playing McInnes HAS to play them both. In saying that, Rooney scored hunners in europe and still got dropped so...you never know! Link to comment
Red Dragon Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 I think the way both are playing McInnes HAS to play them both. In saying that, Rooney scored hunners in europe and still got dropped so...you never know! Was surprised (but not on reflection) to read he's scored 10 this season already! 30 in all comps is surely a realistic target for him? Link to comment
Pudgie Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Was surprised (but not on reflection) to read he's scored 10 this season already! 30 in all comps is surely a realistic target for him?And to think that we were wanting a double figures striker not that long ago. Shows how far the club has came under McInnes' short time here. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Yea Rooney was a superb signing in January. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 And to think that we were wanting a double figures striker not that long ago. Shows how far the club has came under McInnes' short time here. The demand has to be triple figures now 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 I have just watched the redtv highlights and came to the conclusion that Rooney is the modern day Duncan Shearer. His first goal was an absolute beauty, the wee back heel from Goodwillie was exceptional as well. High and hard into the back of the net. His second, the low curling shot into the bottom left hand corner was just as good from a strikers perspective, The third was a predators goal, great ball in and you could see Rooney was waiting behind the livi defenders shoulder before making his move to get infront and toe it into the back of the net. Three different types of goals, power, precision and poaching. It looked like Hayes tore them a new one as well, he has come on leaps and bounds since that slightly disappointing first season. Hopefully we'll take this performance into the Caley game and rip them apart as well. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 It looked like Hayes tore them a new one as well, he has come on leaps and bounds since that slightly disappointing first season. He didn't. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Just watched the goals. Fucking tremendous hat-trick from Rooney. He would murder the hun defence if we draw the fuds. One potential upside to Jack's injury would be that McInnes may be forced into playing with a front two in every game. In any case, very few games where we shouldn't be going with a front two anyway. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Any links for highlights? Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Any links for highlights? http://www.jdhlifestyle.co.uk/ 2 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Any links for highlights?redtv 1 Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 http://www.jdhlifestyle.co.uk/ Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Saw the highlights earlier today, some good play and good finishing from Rooney. Someone will want to buy him at this rate. Any word on Jack? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Stoney didn't know you were as bald as a coot - he wasn't being insensitive Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Stoney didn't know you were as bald as a coot - he wasn't being insensitive Glasgow don has a lovely heed of flowing locks Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Rooney's got to be on for 30 goals this season at this rate. Link to comment
Redstar Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Saw the highlights earlier today, some good play and good finishing from Rooney. Someone will want to buy him at this rate. Any word on Jack?Saw the highlights earlier today, some good play and good finishing from Rooney. Someone will want to buy him at this rate. Any word on Jack?2-3 weeks according to a boy at work who's daughter knows Jack Link to comment
TwoStars Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 2-3 weeks according to a boy at work who's daughter knows JackCan she nae nosh him aff so he's fit for Sat? Link to comment
Redstar Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Can she nae nosh him aff so he's fit for Sat?She did go out with him...not sure if she still does...I know if I was an Aiberdeen football "star" I'd be living the single life...if he's any sense he'll be enjoying his 15 minutes... Link to comment
TwoStars Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 She did go out with him...not sure if she still does...I know if I was an Aiberdeen football "star" I'd be living the single life...if he's any sense he'll be enjoying his 15 minutes...Is she up the duff? I know him and missus are expecting. Link to comment
Redstar Posted September 24, 2014 Share Posted September 24, 2014 Is she up the duff? I know him and missus are expecting.Pass Link to comment
Sc0tsmanGB Posted September 26, 2014 Share Posted September 26, 2014 Only got to watch the highlights (stop greeting a'body) why wis Broon in for Clangers? Seems tae he deen aricht though! Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted September 26, 2014 Share Posted September 26, 2014 Rooney's got to be on for 30 goals this season at this rate.When was the last time we had a player scoring multiple hat tricks in a season ?My guess is big dunc shearer but I could and probably will be wrong Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 27, 2014 Share Posted September 27, 2014 stav had two in two homes iirc Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted September 27, 2014 Share Posted September 27, 2014 When is the draw for the next round? Link to comment