Topi Kat Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Has been suggested in the new stadium thread that the club may be set to announce some development plans for Pittodrie. Obviously many things to consider here such as, do they see this as some short term, band-aid fixes, or maybe something for the next 10 years. What do we consider are must have's and nice to have's? Merkland: I would think the thing on most folks minds that has been requested, is safe standing. The club have said they have considered this but the concrete foundations aren't the best. Other than that, it's got decent enough facilities and doesn't really need much done with it. Main Stand: I'm sure they've mentioned the roof being an issue in the past. Other than rebuilding it, which they told us is not really possible due to it being a listed building, South Stand: Facilties are shit. Could do with a roof for Section Y for sure and dare I say, for away fans. RDS: As is. Nothing really needs done here. I've never really been a huge fan of fixing up the old girl but the reality is, the club don't have funds to just go alone and build a £100-150m stadium, so updating Pittodrie might just have to be the solution. What's on your wish list? Link to comment
NEM Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 South stand bath reinstated 3 3 2 Link to comment
Topi Kat Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 2 minutes ago, NEM said: South stand bath reinstated Actually, I was thinking that pishing against the wall out the back of it would've been a great nod to the past, such was the queue for the men's bogs!! Link to comment
Zeus Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Leave it as is. A world class arena Bit of rustic charm about the old place which your modern stadia lack. 1 4 Link to comment
englishred Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 What ever way the club chooses to go, they should look to retain the same capacity or slightly increase it. Growing the club means allowing for the future. Hopefully some success on the pitch can help fund some of it especially if we get regular european football 4 Link to comment
1903Fitba Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Plant more moss on the roof. Eco friendly and it’ll give the hearts fans something to talk about (aside from how fucking SHITE they are) 4 Link to comment
Topi Kat Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 5 minutes ago, Reed or deed said: Tldnr Tsdnr Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 25 minutes ago, Topi Kat said: RDS: As is. Nothing really needs done here. Needs a cloot taken round it 1 Link to comment
Topi Kat Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 5 minutes ago, Frank Grimes said: Needs a cloot taken round it Actually, now I think about it, surely they could build some supporters bars inside the concourse area. How do Motherwell get away with selling alcohol in thier social club type bar pre-match? We not do something similar? Loads of space in there. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 South stand is the best stand in the league. They better not gentrify it 1 1 Link to comment
JumboJET Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 #LTA (Leave Todders alone!) Link to comment
wicker83 Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Can the back of the South be extended to increase bogs / food areas? Awfa tight at the back when there's queues for both toilets and food at HT. We're not needing new seating but just expanding the footprint would be a good change. Maybe even new entrances at the back too. Link to comment
Beechender Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 53 minutes ago, Topi Kat said: Actually, I was thinking that pishing against the wall out the back of it would've been a great nod to the past, such was the queue for the men's bogs!! It used to be a wire fence you pissed through in to the gas works years ago at the back of the south terrace. 1 Link to comment
Footballs coming Rome Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 Safe standing for pissing is a must for redevelopment Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 7 minutes ago, wicker83 said: Can the back of the South be extended to increase bogs / food areas? Awfa tight at the back when there's queues for both toilets and food at HT. We're not needing new seating but just expanding the footprint would be a good change. Maybe even new entrances at the back too. Get those shite flat demolished. Should never have been built. replace it with a massive redeveloped south stand bath. Huge toilet. Food trucks. Lashings of beer. Ryan Jack being hung as the centre piece 1 Link to comment
ab24_5qh Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 The original plan was to knock down the Merkland and build a smaller version of the south stand, but Dick decided to go for a much cheaper refurb option. RDS needs painting to get rid of the fecking awful murals. Link to comment
starryfish Posted October 27, 2024 Share Posted October 27, 2024 More a match day experience thing but reckon they are missing a trick not using the front of the RDS and the area where the Broadhill Bar was for pre match food and drink trucks Link to comment
Topi Kat Posted October 27, 2024 Author Share Posted October 27, 2024 17 minutes ago, Footballs coming Rome said: Safe standing for pissing is a must for redevelopment Safe standing, with a piss trough at your feet and a Yo! Sushi beer/pie conveyor belt. I can see the future!! Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 9 hours ago, wicker83 said: Can the back of the South be extended to increase bogs / food areas? Awfa tight at the back when there's queues for both toilets and food at HT. We're not needing new seating but just expanding the footprint would be a good change. Maybe even new entrances at the back too. Thought it was apt in your post you ask for new entrance ar the back and your profile pic is Hans Gillhaus, he loved a back entrance Link to comment
Red Clive 1995 Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 Just take down the souther, then the merky can finish up on the Mainer. One by one replace the stadium and within 5 year pittodrie is a northern star in the stadium league. I watched a show about the erection of the Elizabeth line for the underground in London the other week, if they can manage thon in London in yon confinements, surely we can do similar up here. I Ken mare than a puckle folk that can operate a slew under pressure. (4muck cairts to een slew) that would thrive in this situation. Link to comment
Footballs coming Rome Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 Knock down Main stand. Build it back up over pittodrie street to the car park behind. Divert pittodrie street onto that gravel car park or keep it as it is going under the new stand. 1 Link to comment
AFC19031983 Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 A jumbo tv screen on the inside of the RDS stand that the away fans can’t see. 1 Link to comment
Red Clive 1995 Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 27 minutes ago, Footballs coming Rome said: Knock down Main stand. Build it back up over pittodrie street to the car park behind. Divert pittodrie street onto that gravel car park or keep it as it is going under the new stand. Good plan. You need a place on the board. 1 Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 Perfectly safe to stand in the South Stand already, and absolutely no need to add a roof for the premium seats in the corner. Link to comment
milne_afc Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 11 hours ago, Topi Kat said: Main Stand: I'm sure they've mentioned the roof being an issue in the past. Other than rebuilding it, which they told us is not really possible due to it being a listed building I think that debunked as SMG horseshit. Link to comment
pocrawred Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 1 hour ago, Red Clive 1995 said: I watched a show about the erection of the Elizabeth line for the underground in London the other week, if they can manage thon in London in yon confinements, surely we can do similar up here. Dinna want to turn this political, but the costs spiralled by billions in most of the new stations built and DC disna hae that type of money to fuck aboot wi. Link to comment
Footballs coming Rome Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 15 minutes ago, milne_afc said: I think that debunked as SMG horseshit. Aye was he going to incorporate the main stand into the new flats he was wanting to build in pittodries place 😂 Link to comment
Red Clive 1995 Posted October 28, 2024 Share Posted October 28, 2024 11 minutes ago, pocrawred said: Dinna want to turn this political, but the costs spiralled by billions in most of the new stations built and DC disna hae that type of money to fuck aboot wi. I was more about the techt engineering space rather than the public purse chief! Link to comment