Redeveloping Pittodrie - Options

3 minutes ago, Red Clive 1995 said:

I was more about the techt engineering space rather than the public purse chief!

Hearts managed to expand their main stand on pretty much exactly the same footprint. As did Hibs. 

If we wanted to do it, then engineering wise, there's nothing to stop us. Financially is different. 

Btw, I fucking hate the RDS. Iain Donald's folly, and anyone with any vision at that time should have been thinking about the ground as a whole, not just chucking tens of millions at one massive carbunkle.

26 minutes ago, pocrawred said:

Aye, some achievement like kain? 

Was enjoying the show until I seen a weemin site manager, threw a can off the tv and switched on Clarksons ferm.

21 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said:

Hearts managed to expand their main stand on pretty much exactly the same footprint. As did Hibs. 

If we wanted to do it, then engineering wise, there's nothing to stop us. Financially is different. 

Btw, I fucking hate the RDS. Iain Donald's folly, and anyone with any vision at that time should have been thinking about the ground as a whole, not just chucking tens of millions at one massive carbunkle.

We should have been buying all the grun surrounding pittodrie instead of building the RDS.

20 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said:

correct, too close to the pitch and all that space at the back. Makes any future stadium modifications far more difficult and expensive. If some of that space at the rear was used then it would have created flexibility for south stand and main stand upgrades.

They must have been planning to rebuild the other stands one at a time after the RDS was built.Was there not something then about clearing the Smc debt by selling Pittodrie for flats?No doubt Stewart Milne or Ian Donald could give us the whole story. A 30 year saga anyway.Pretty poor when other smaller clubs have all managed either to rebuild or build new stadiums.

38 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said:

Both redevelopments in Edinburgh are pish. We can do better

26 minutes ago, Schapenneuker said:

the other thing about the RDS is that Kilmarnock built 3 new stands and refurbished there main stand for the same cost. I understand the Fairhurst project management team had no one with any experience of football stadium projects, and neither did the main contractor Stewart Milne construction, 

33 minutes ago, ERNIE said:

They must have been planning to rebuild the other stands one at a time after the RDS was built.Was there not something then about clearing the Smc debt by selling Pittodrie for flats?No doubt Stewart Milne or Ian Donald could give us the whole story. A 30 year saga anyway.Pretty poor when other smaller clubs have all managed either to rebuild or build new stadiums.

My recollection is after it was built the board couldn't afford it and Milne joined the board. He then began immediately talking about how we'd have to leave pittodrie.

I also recall a fan event where a board member said the land behind south was not available for sale and couldn't be built on.

So I don't think there was anything behind the new beach end other than it needed replaced and the board over extended themselves.

37 minutes ago, RUL said:

I think my post may have caused this thread and it's definitely been taken out of context if so 😂

It's more a development the club will invest in that they feel can bring in returns than a new roof etc 

Stop teasing us! Spill the beans....

For what it's worth, I think the physical redevelopment of Pittodrie is a non-starter and kinda what I was suggesting about doing small things to tart it up a bit.

The costs for knocking down existing stands and replacing them probably outweighs the concept of building from scratch. Plus you're limiting your attendance income whilst the stand is out of commission. Add to that the RDS which would still stand out like a sore thumb and in terms of usable space in the middle tier, is pathetic.

Unfortunately, I think it's as RUL alludes to - a few new pie stalls and maybe building a supporters bar. Things to generate revenue as we pass time in a holding circle waiting for a local authority who'll be understanding to our needs and what the club brings to the city.

2 hours ago, ERNIE said:

It was an Iain Donald vanity project. 

These big individual stands were all the rage at the time, so he wanted one. 

It's a breeze block Paul Bernard...also a vanity project.

4 hours ago, Red Clive 1995 said:

Just take down the souther, then the merky can finish up on the Mainer. One by one replace the stadium and within 5 year pittodrie is a northern star in the stadium league. 

I watched a show about the erection of the Elizabeth line for the underground in London the other week, if they can manage thon in London in yon confinements, surely we can do similar up here. 

I Ken mare than a puckle folk that can operate a slew under pressure. (4muck cairts to een slew) that would thrive in this situation. 

Now now min would need  teuchters to yoke the slews and cairts,  can you imagine asking a toonser to hook on a pick up hitch,  or be waiting  for days for them to hook on a bucket on a slew then they would  throw a track start to bubble and ffuck off home.

Also would need a some manitous and loadalls

16 hours ago, Topi Kat said:

Has been suggested in the new stadium thread

Aye by you!

2 hours ago, RUL said:

I think my post may have caused this thread and it's definitely been taken out of context if so 😂

It's more a development the club will invest in that they feel can bring in returns than a new roof etc 

Aye, so the corporate bit basically.

Delete the thread.

4 hours ago, Schapenneuker said:

lol

1 hour ago, ericblack4boss said:

Now now min would need  teuchters to yoke the slews and cairts,  can you imagine asking a toonser to hook on a pick up hitch,  or be waiting  for days for them to hook on a bucket on a slew then they would  throw a track start to bubble and ffuck off home.

Also would need a some manitous and loadalls

Toonsers only Ken 9 till 5 and only yoke 5 days a wik. Tuechtars could get the stadium sorted in a month nae bother.