aberdeen1970 Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 3 minutes ago, RDS said: Wouldn't say it's easily achieved with rebuild of 2 stands would but certainly possible but at end of day always going to be driven by relative costs rather than engineering possibilities. I was replying to post that simply moving the Main Stand would be a remedy which it isn't Aye, which is why I suggested targeting the south instead. Pitch only needs to be 6 feet wider. The irony is that most of the stadia around the country had to reduce the width of their pitches to create fucking 'technical areas' for managers to stand in and have cameras pointed at them to enhance the 'show' for tv companies. Link to comment
RDS Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 Just now, Topi Kat said: Very touchy? You just accused me of being a hun. Read again and improve your comprehension. I asked if you were a Hun which isn't an accusation but a question. Link to comment
maryhilldon Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 1 hour ago, Ke1t said: C'mon... no-one's working 5 days a week anymore, surely? What, apart from tradesmen, teachers etc? Not everyone sits in front of a computer for a living. Link to comment
Topi Kat Posted October 28 Author Share Posted October 28 21 minutes ago, RDS said: Read again and improve your comprehension. I asked if you were a Hun which isn't an accusation but a question. F*ck off yeah. 1 Link to comment
milne_afc Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 Nothing gets the juices flowing like stadium redevelopment discourse 😂 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 Just now, milne_afc said: Nothing gets the juices flowing like stadium redevelopment discourse 😂 You know it's getting there when folk start labelling each other a Hun 1 1 Link to comment
ERNIE Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 38 minutes ago, Topi Kat said: Hardly a decent argument for us to stay put is it. Sure, it's got loadsa nostalgia and memories, is a bit quirky. But as a means of generating revenue for us, and that it's a wee bit of a dump (our dump I'll admit), a new build does make sense. I can't see any way we stay put and redevelop by knocking down 3 stands and building new ones. Footprint is an issue. Well a new build can't make that much sense cos after 30 odd years it hasn't been done. 1 1 Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 "its easy to move a stand back 6ft" "all you need is willpower" "everything about this is easy, my gran could do it" no it isnt, its difficult, difficult, lemon difficult Link to comment
RDS Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 6 minutes ago, ERNIE said: Well a new build can't make that much sense cos after 30 odd years it hasn't been done. Stewart Milne still had (someone else's) hair when stadium saga started with Bellfield site many moons ago Link to comment
Dunty Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 3 hours ago, davieb said: So there hasn't actually been a cost analysis done? Not entirely convinced "economies of scale benefits" really come into it when the proposed project is £80 million plus and selling Pittodrie wouldn't cover a quarter of the cost and working in "partnership with the council" will never happen. Dave Cormack said building at the beach would cost £80-£90m, but that at Kingsford it would be £50m. Dunno why it's a £40m difference at the beach. I get there would be extra works needed on the foundations, but not as much as £40m surely? He's either talking out of his hole or the council are expecting us to build them an ice rink while we're at it. Link to comment
Topi Kat Posted October 28 Author Share Posted October 28 4 minutes ago, Dunty said: Dave Cormack said building at the beach would cost £80-£90m, but that at Kingsford it would be £50m. Dunno why it's a £40m difference at the beach. I get there would be extra works needed on the foundations, but not as much as £40m surely? He's either talking out of his hole or the council are expecting us to build them an ice rink while we're at it. Cathodic protection for the battering the steels would get from the North Sea!! Link to comment
Dunty Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 14 minutes ago, Dunty said: Dave Cormack said building at the beach would cost £80-£90m, but that at Kingsford it would be £50m. Dunno why it's a £40m difference at the beach. I get there would be extra works needed on the foundations, but not as much as £40m surely? He's either talking out of his hole or the council are expecting us to build them an ice rink while we're at it. Actually, quoting myself here, went down a rabbit hole of googling what's been said about the stadium and the construction cost was estimated at £61m, but the total cost would be between £74.2m and £92m. That's for a 16,000 capacity stadium. So expect it to be more for 20,000. https://x.com/aberdeenstadium/status/1603074608206413825?s=46 Link to comment
Tord31 Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 i'll worry about a new stadium or stadium redevelopment when we are a year or two out from making the decision. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 1 hour ago, madjockmcferson said: "its easy to move a stand back 6ft" "all you need is willpower" "everything about this is easy, my gran could do it" no it isnt, its difficult, difficult, lemon difficult We do not choose to go to the Moon because it is easy, MJM, we choose to go there because it is haaaad." I'm not suggesting we build a new stadium on the Moon, to be clear. 2 Link to comment
Hoofball Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 9 minutes ago, Tord31 said: i'll worry about a new stadium or stadium redevelopment when we are a year or two out from making the decision. So never then Link to comment
Tord31 Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 3 minutes ago, Hoofball said: So never then Exactly. 2 more posts in this type of thread than I needed to bother with Link to comment
Itsagoal Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 I’ve heard it said that the main stand is a listed building. Is this true? And if yes, I understand that this would limit what renovations or improvements that the club can do to it. Again, if it is a listed building, I would imagine that this lessens the chance of us staying at an improved and enhanced Pittodrie, as opposed to building a new stadium elsewhere. And if we build a stadium elsewhere, Pittodrie become a decaying relic with a listed building main stand. Is my understanding correct? And if so, what is the point of having the listed building status? apologies, if all of that comes across as an incoherent ramble. I know what I’m trying to say. I just don’t think I’ve explained my thoughts very clearly. Link to comment
RDS Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 10 minutes ago, Itsagoal said: I’ve heard it said that the main stand is a listed building. Is this true? And if yes, I understand that this would limit what renovations or improvements that the club can do to it. Again, if it is a listed building, I would imagine that this lessens the chance of us staying at an improved and enhanced Pittodrie, as opposed to building a new stadium elsewhere. And if we build a stadium elsewhere, Pittodrie become a decaying relic with a listed building main stand. Is my understanding correct? And if so, what is the point of having the listed building status? apologies, if all of that comes across as an incoherent ramble. I know what I’m trying to say. I just don’t think I’ve explained my thoughts very clearly. The Main Stand isn't a listed building. 1 Link to comment
Hoppy Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 19 minutes ago, Itsagoal said: I’ve heard it said that the main stand is a listed building. Is this true? And if yes, I understand that this would limit what renovations or improvements that the club can do to it. Again, if it is a listed building, I would imagine that this lessens the chance of us staying at an improved and enhanced Pittodrie, as opposed to building a new stadium elsewhere. And if we build a stadium elsewhere, Pittodrie become a decaying relic with a listed building main stand. Is my understanding correct? And if so, what is the point of having the listed building status? apologies, if all of that comes across as an incoherent ramble. I know what I’m trying to say. I just don’t think I’ve explained my thoughts very clearly. It’s not a listed building. Knock the fucker down. Link to comment
G man Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 18 minutes ago, Hoofball said: So never then The issue with the continual delay about a new stadium is that it gives the club the excuse for not spending any money on the present stadium. Athletic Madrid used to have a stadium which had a dual carriageway running under their main stand so why could the same not be done with our main stand.? Certain parts of the ground are in a dreadful state. The roof in the main stand leaks, the facilities for fans is dreadful and they even have dozens of seats covered in yellow plastic to hide the fact they have used the seats to replace broken seats elsewhere in the ground.! The club cannot simply ignore this issue any longer. Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 38 minutes ago, Tord31 said: i'll worry about a new stadium or stadium redevelopment when we are a year or two out from making the decision. We’ll all be long gone & it'll still be being debated 🙄 Link to comment
Itsagoal Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 11 minutes ago, RDS said: The Main Stand isn't a listed building. Thanks. All my rambling was for nothing then. 😀 Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 2 hours ago, milne_afc said: Nothing gets the juices flowing like stadium redevelopment discourse 😂 Ken, sma amount of pish written by folk without a clue. It only cost £3million to build a 25,000 seater in Bucharest in 1994, so the new Pittodrie should cost £22.5 million. Link to comment
dave_min Posted October 28 Share Posted October 28 11 minutes ago, G man said: The club cannot simply ignore this issue any longer. Definitely can ignore it, but are not. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted October 29 Share Posted October 29 4 hours ago, Topi Kat said: Cathodic protection for the battering the steels would get from the North Sea!! What about the hun protection as well? Link to comment
woohoo Posted October 29 Share Posted October 29 Since the Merkland has been transformed into the singing section, Pittodrie is one of the best stadiums in the country for atmosphere. The woohoo thinks we should be doing all we can to stay there. The woohoo is dead against Kingswells. 🦡 Mind you, the woohoo does not pretend to know the ins and outs of the maintenance costs - just basing it on vibes alone. 😎😎 2 Link to comment
Red Clive 1995 Posted October 29 Share Posted October 29 1 hour ago, woohoo said: Since the Merkland has been transformed into the singing section, Pittodrie is one of the best stadiums in the country for atmosphere. The woohoo thinks we should be doing all we can to stay there. The woohoo is dead against Kingswells. 🦡 Mind you, the woohoo does not pretend to know the ins and outs of the maintenance costs - just basing it on vibes alone. 😎😎 The fuck, you a badger shagger? Link to comment
Broken_Glass Posted October 29 Share Posted October 29 With the current upsurge and Thelin feel good factor it wouldn't be the worst decision for the council or a private investor to reassess and invest. Pie in the sky I know. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted October 29 Share Posted October 29 11 hours ago, madjockmcferson said: "its easy to move a stand back 6ft" "all you need is willpower" "everything about this is easy, my gran could do it" no it isnt, its difficult, difficult, lemon difficult Easy is being used here in comparison to building a completely new stadium. So yes. It is easy. Demo a stand and build a new one is easier than building an entire new stadium and all the infrastructure. If you disagree with that you are an idiot or a fantasist. 1 Link to comment
davieb Posted October 29 Share Posted October 29 11 hours ago, Dunty said: Actually, quoting myself here, went down a rabbit hole of googling what's been said about the stadium and the construction cost was estimated at £61m, but the total cost would be between £74.2m and £92m. That's for a 16,000 capacity stadium. So expect it to be more for 20,000. https://x.com/aberdeenstadium/status/1603074608206413825?s=46 Cormack needs to start a regular saver account for all those add-ons we'll be getting! Link to comment