Frank Grimes Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 Couple of games versus various shades of Huns to get through this but wanted to get the ball rolling on this one after speaking to a Dandy I ken who lives up there for some pub suggestions Regardless of what happens against the diets and the full fats this game will be a refreshing change of pace from the league and it's our first competitive game against Elgin since 1971 and a first competitive visit to Borough Briggs since 1938 (!) Anyway, train station a five minute walk to town and the local recommendations for toon centre boozers Thunderton House Best bar in the town, serves food and will probably be the most welcoming to Dandies Granary Just next door to the Thunderton, also does food and shows all fitba but not sure how welcoming they'd be to loads of boozed up Aberdeen fans. Usually full of English football wallopers. Badenochs Decent boozer but it's massive and would only be a good place if it was really busy with Dandies Few shitehole pubs like the Ionic, White Horse and the Victoria. Rough around the edges but good fun. Avoid the Muckle Cross (Wetherspoons), always full of huns. Canna beat an away day in the cup Link to comment
NEM Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 7 minutes ago, Frank Grimes said: Couple of games versus various shades of Huns to get through this but wanted to get the ball rolling on this one after speaking to a Dandy I ken who lives up there for some pub suggestions Regardless of what happens against the diets and the full fats this game will be a refreshing change of pace from the league and it's our first competitive game against Elgin since 1971 and a first competitive visit to Borough Briggs since 1938 (!) Anyway, train station a five minute walk to town and the local recommendations for toon centre boozers Thunderton House Best bar in the town, serves food and will probably be the most welcoming to Dandies Granary Just next door to the Thunderton, also does food and shows all fitba but not sure how welcoming they'd be to loads of boozed up Aberdeen fans. Usually full of English football wallopers. Badenochs Decent boozer but it's massive and would only be a good place if it was really busy with Dandies Few shitehole pubs like the Ionic, White Horse and the Victoria. Rough around the edges but good fun. Avoid the Muckle Cross (Wetherspoons), always full of huns. Canna beat an away day in the cup Straight off the train into the Muckle Cross it is then 1 1 9 2 Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 Ionic is best bar in Elgin, Vic a close second. Proper Mannies pubs 1 1 Link to comment
TheRedPrawcess Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 The Vic if you're just wanting drinks. Badenochs or the Granary if you want food. Link to comment
REDRODDIE Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 I’ve a pal who’s got some connections in Elgin and has told me many a story of the Ionic bar. Sounds like a great boozer from what he has said. Link to comment
GeorgeStreetReds Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 Are there many Aberdeen fans in Elgin these days? Link to comment
DukEnthusiast Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 Tickets secured - feeling cautiously optimistic. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 £23.90 on the train my pal informs me. Day out on the sas to make it bearable. Link to comment
WesthillWanderersFC Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 This has the makings of a “smelly” tie the way things are going for us. Elgin top of the league & full of confidence. They’ll fancy this. We should win, but I’ll not be putting much on it. Link to comment
North East Loon Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 44 minutes ago, North East Loon said: The Vic is sound 👍 The Vic is sound 👍 Tickets secured should be good day out 🙏 Link to comment
Don Shula Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 I read somewhere we were meant to get 1800 tickets, logged on right at 5pm and said only 650 available, now less than 100. More than a thousand for family, friends, supporters club etc? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 30 minutes ago, Don Shula said: I read somewhere we were meant to get 1800 tickets, logged on right at 5pm and said only 650 available, now less than 100. More than a thousand for family, friends, supporters club etc? Supporters clubs getting the guts of 1100 is not impossible. A wee handful for players and sponsors making up a few. Link to comment
Pedge Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 It’s a broken system. Fucking pish from the club once again letting supporters clubs rape and pillage. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 1 minute ago, Pedge said: It’s a broken system. Fucking pish from the club once again letting supporters clubs rape and pillage. If a supporters club ran a bus to St Mirren, United and Killie and Motherwell then they deserve enough tickets to fill a bus for this one 2 Link to comment
TheRedPrawcess Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 40 minutes ago, REDRODDIE said: Johannas night club still open? It is. Couldn't say what it is like now however. Link to comment
REDRODDIE Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 1 minute ago, TheRedPrawcess said: It is. Couldn't say what it is like now however. I ken a chap from Buckie that got hospitalised for coming the cunt with some locals in that establishment. Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 2 hours ago, REDRODDIE said: Johannas night club still open? Give me hope, Johanna Give me hope, Johanna Give me hope, Johanna 'Fore de final whistle come Link to comment
Frank Grimes Posted January 7 Author Share Posted January 7 2 hours ago, Don Shula said: I read somewhere we were meant to get 1800 tickets, logged on right at 5pm and said only 650 available, now less than 100. More than a thousand for family, friends, supporters club etc? Jesus really? Glad I got a ticket in the elgin end Link to comment
REDRODDIE Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 The whole thing screams an Elgin win and unsavoury scenes at the full time whistle as our players try to escape the pitch. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 3 hours ago, REDRODDIE said: I’ve a pal who’s got some connections in Elgin and has told me many a story of the Ionic bar. Sounds like a great boozer from what he has said. It’s got the best Juker on the planet Link to comment
brunstanesheep Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 Tickets should be prioritised to the northern Shire/West Moray boys to get the partisan atmosphere to get us over the line. Toonsers wina get the rivalry with the skiters. 3 Link to comment
REDRODDIE Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 26 minutes ago, brunstanesheep said: Tickets should be prioritised to the northern Shire/West Moray boys to get the partisan atmosphere to get us over the line. Toonsers wina get the rivalry with the skiters. If the weather continues with this light dusting of sna majority of toonsers will turn back at Huntly. 1 Link to comment
Durrant Dived Posted January 7 Share Posted January 7 13 minutes ago, 1903Fitba said: 5-1 Peter Ambrose all five Well we've definitely lost this now. Cunts backing Ambrose to score and us to win for weeks and just jinxing us. Link to comment
Red Clive 1995 Posted January 8 Share Posted January 8 7 hours ago, Durrant Dived said: Well we've definitely lost this now. Cunts backing Ambrose to score and us to win for weeks and just jinxing us. Yep that’s the main reason for weekly pumpings. Link to comment