Films

On 9/3/2024 at 5:54 PM, manboobs109 said:

Trap - should be called Crap, a right load of old shite about some serial killer. 1/10 no tits.

Watched it a the weekend. The whole thing basically seemed to just be a showcase for Shyamalans daughter.

The first hour or so trying to figure our how he'd get out of the arena was watchable, after that just shite. How one man could constantly sneak past and evade 1000's of cops and FBI agents was just laughable.

58 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Watched it a the weekend. The whole thing basically seemed to just be a showcase for Shyamalans daughter.

The first hour or so trying to figure our how he'd get out of the arena was watchable, after that just shite. How one man could constantly sneak past and evade 1000's of cops and FBI agents was just laughable.

Agree with that. It was just a showcase for his daughter. I really enjoyed the first hour, then it went to shit as soon as they left the arena. 

Would have been better if his daughter was worth a poke, but she looks just like her fucking da. 

2 hours ago, zeroisgod76 said:

1 hour ago, styrofoamplates said:

Agree with that. It was just a showcase for his daughter. I really enjoyed the first hour, then it went to shit as soon as they left the arena. 

Would have been better if his daughter was worth a poke, but she looks just like her fucking da. 

I didn't even realise it's his daughter. Explains some of the ridiculous plot slightly. She's a funny looking wer thing. Like an alien 👽 

On 8/14/2024 at 3:22 PM, Clydeside_Sheep said:

What are our thoughts relating to "Alien: Romulus" which is out this weekend?

I tend to think that the films are all shit and forgettable, expect the first two which were excellent.

I think the last one I saw was Prometheus (?) and I have just learned it has its own sequel.

Romulus is (I understand) a stand alone movie, set after the original film (?).

So, will this be another desecration of what was once a golden franchise, or a pearl among the dung heap of the latter films?

Massively disappointed by Romulus. May fare better on a second viewing, where it doesn't have to live up to expectations based on the hype.

Felt like a homage to the original series of movies, broken down into three parts. Started as Alien, moved into Aliens and then finished as Alien Resurrection. Never really did it's own thing.

Lots of visual nods to the Alien Isolation game too, which was absolutely fantastic.

45 minutes ago, JamieMT said:

Massively disappointed by Romulus. May fare better on a second viewing, where it doesn't have to live up to expectations based on the hype.

Felt like a homage to the original series of movies, broken down into three parts. Started as Alien, moved into Aliens and then finished as Alien Resurrection. Never really did it's own thing.

Lots of visual nods to the Alien Isolation game too, which was absolutely fantastic.

really?

I thought it was much better than the first two

9 hours ago, JamieMT said:

I agree with your analysis of the content, but I still enjoyed it.  For the first time in a long time, I felt it we had a film worthy of cinema.

But yes you are right it was a homage, re-doing the selected best bits for an easy win.  And so (for those who have seen the originals) it lacked the captivating magic of an original film. Like watching a re-run of a good goal from seasons past, its nice to see but you know what's gonna happen.

I loved it how they kept the (what is now) "retro futuristic" style of the original movies.  Like having chunky keyboards and 1980s style text on computer screens.

I went to see it with my old man, in a rare bonding activity.  I have a vivid memory of him ushering me out of the room as a child, when I had walked (after getting out of bed one eve) just as John Hurt's chestbuster scene was happening in the original movie!  My Dad loved the CGI Ian Holm, the synthetic from the original film.

I would recommend it, it towers over most of the shite which is killing cinema now.

13 hours ago, Clydeside_Sheep said:

I agree with your analysis of the content, but I still enjoyed it.  For the first time in a long time, I felt it we had a film worthy of cinema.

But yes you are right it was a homage, re-doing the selected best bits for an easy win.  And so (for those who have seen the originals) it lacked the captivating magic of an original film. Like watching a re-run of a good goal from seasons past, its nice to see but you know what's gonna happen.

I loved it how they kept the (what is now) "retro futuristic" style of the original movies.  Like having chunky keyboards and 1980s style text on computer screens.

I went to see it with my old man, in a rare bonding activity.  I have a vivid memory of him ushering me out of the room as a child, when I had walked (after getting out of bed one eve) just as John Hurt's chestbuster scene was happening in the original movie!  My Dad loved the CGI Ian Holm, the synthetic from the original film.

I would recommend it, it towers over most of the shite which is killing cinema now.

My expectations were sky high, i'll hopefully take more away from it on a second viewing. There was a lot to like visually and the return of Ian Holm, even if only in CGI form was a treat. I didn't know about it going in, so it was a lovely surprise. And the actor who played Andy was excellent. Glad you & your Dad enjoyed it and had a great bonding experience together.

On 9/9/2024 at 9:12 PM, RAZOR said:

Goonies sequel oot in 2026.

Spielberg in the hot seat. Original cast.

Watched The Goonies in the cinema as a kid and love it to this day. 80s classic. Shame a sequel never happened during Richard Donner's lifetime. But you could do a lot worse than have the man who wrote the original story replace him.

On 9/9/2024 at 9:36 PM, Zeus said:

Happy Gilmore ina.

Step Brothers. Funny. 8/10

Fuck you Darak

Watched a bit o happy gilmore for first time inight we the loon,wisnae remotely funny until carl weathers appeared we the dodgy arm/hand 🤣🤣🤣

On 9/18/2024 at 12:01 AM, Jigsaw666 said:

Speak No Evil

Very watchable is this. Not without its faults - slightly cartoonish characterisations somewhat overplayed - but just roll with that and enjoy.

Better than See No Evil, Hear No Evil?

20 hours ago, alscotoz said:

Got it. Was thinking of something else.

ye wir hinkin o talk tae meh..yer a wee generic goon..some nick n a silly auld stoater o a man

dinna pipe up if yer ganna.mak a cunt o it eh..stick tae yer poofy britpop n fantasin aboot solo trips tae vietnam wi maddox jolie

spik nae evil best film o eh yr so far..tension rampd tae max..cunt ye cidna heard a pin drop in thon vue..eh sed since eden lake watkins wis a mester o eh macerbe

On 9/20/2024 at 12:36 AM, Arabian Knight said:

ye wir hinkin o talk tae meh..yer a wee generic goon..some nick n a silly auld stoater o a man

dinna pipe up if yer ganna.mak a cunt o it eh..stick tae yer poofy britpop n fantasin aboot solo trips tae vietnam wi maddox jolie

spik nae evil best film o eh yr so far..tension rampd tae max..cunt ye cidna heard a pin drop in thon vue..eh sed since eden lake watkins wis a mester o eh macerbe

Good to have you back AK