Best Meal/restaurant

barassie_afc

I think it does, I read somewhere that Alcohol gives you the munchies! Plus i've experienced it first hand for years when I used to have 10+ pints then head for a pizza...glad i've kurbed my drinking / eating habits!

I used want eat after every night out and I'd always head for a pizza once I couldn't get any more booze. I can't remember the last time I had something after a night out nowadays. I think its been almost 3 years since I eat a kebab.

• Replies 194

No. My diet is mince and tatties every week or two, stovies once or twice a month, haggis neeps and tatties a few times a year and the times when I'm not eating good old Scottish fayre, I feel dirty and unloyal. Never macro fitever - don't even understand it - and not a textbook diet but I do eat fruit. Lots of stir fry's. Never see a fat b*stard chink, or at least we never until they became obscenely rich and the next superpower. Maybe obesity is a sign of affluence? You're loaded sploots. On a couple of levels.

your like tup min. mr little scotlander.

get out an see the world.

even america has tasty food.

Collectively spikkin'.....has there ever been a more affluent time for our people(UK) than the decades between the late '70s and the start of the current recession ; naebuddy was fat in the '50s/'60s/70s.

Now everybody and their aunt will have their own ideas about why obesity has become an epidemic , relatively speaking 'overnight' . My reaction is - worra waste of affluence( and the corresponding lack of self respect ) ; I think obesity and the recession are connected.....and the recession is Nature's Way of helping us get slim again.

Quite like watching Man v Food.

Some of the sh*t looks fine as f**k but watching the teenage 20 stone plus kids whooping with delight as the boy finishes off a 3 kilos of meat and cheese just sums the yanks up perfectly.

i didnt know you were american cheesey.

I spent a few weeks in Houston recently, and I have to say, the food in the states was outstanding, portions as normal were big and bigger but if you keep away from the KFC, Mcdonald, Wendy chains of sh*te, their are some top eating houses, especially their prime bar-b-q eateries.

I flew up to El Paso and the same experience, travelled up to New Mexico and went to a Mexican, and it was superb.\

Though the Yanks are a bunch of lazy, fat bstards....their food is under-rated big time

Just eat normal food, dinna go over the score, and you'll be brand new.

I dinna go in for all that fancy sh*t, foie gras and all that jazz, give me f**king strength.

Mince and tatties, canna go wrong, easy made, and you can make sandwiches for your piece with the last of the mince.

Rare.

Mince soup is also lethal.

I dinna go in for all that fancy sh*t, foie gras and all that jazz, give me f**king strength.

Mince and tatties, canna go wrong, easy made, and you can make sandwiches for your piece with the last of the mince.

Rare.

a cheap f**kin date TUP, good man

:applause:

Rare.

jeez min.

i like m&t and 'normal' food as much as the next man but christ on a bike.

you need to get out more.

life is too short to miss out on the delights of fancy sh*t.

Also, the likes of a black pudding supper fills you up, good style. On the other hand,

A plate of f**king guinea fowl, or poisson, or any other pretentious fowl, akin to a f**king sparrow, with a dod of foie f**king gras, how in the f**k is that going to keep a working man going? You'd need a whole flock of the c**ts.

It's fine if you're posh, and sit on your arse all day doing f**k all while the proles keep your cuppeth running over, for the rest of us, it's inadequate and dangerous for your health. Not to mention a c**t to source and make.

f**k Gordon Ramsey and all these other c**ts born with silver spoons rammed down their throats. I'd kick his melted face to f**k if he ever swore at me like he does on the telly.

you know, I didnt bother trying...but noted for future visits.....any names of ones I should try?

nae really sure.

as i said you dont often see it over here in europe.

i think some breweries are so small they dont often get out of the state itself. same with canadian micros.

i've had flying dog a few times and goose island. and anchor steam beer, which is pretty famous.

but just in general try any ones you see and avoid the coors, miller, bud etc.

Tup, if i could remember the rest of the menu you'd be sickened but as i say i ended up pretty mangled. Scallops with Pea Puree was certainly one and Crab Mousse with caviar seems to ring a bell.

It was one of those seven course jobs but the dishes were so small a plate of stovies could have saved us time and money.

We sat down at half seven and never got out till one in the morning. f**king speeches about the region the wines came from and of course different wine for every course, we got a 45 minute speech on the history of the f**king building. History of the f**king cheese.

Get me f**king out of here!

I'd have done a Michael Douglas Falling Down style maneouvre. Just flip, start turning tables upside down, screaming at them that you don't give a f**k about the history of any of it, and f**koff with your overpriced pish, c**ts.

Maybe if it was a works do you couldna get away with that of course.

DInna get me wrong, i enjoyed the vino. A few Reds, couple of whites, a dessert wine and port i think all made an apperance. It would have just complemented a White Pudding Supper and a plate of tattie soup just fine.

quality.

all you needed was a fine irish coffee or an amaretto to round things off.

That rings a bell!

Yes indeed the boozy coffee rounded off the night c/w not mints like you would expect but handmade bon bons, time now half past midnight.

I was almost nose down on the table.

ha ha.

its ace having a big meal and boozing throughout it.

its basically sitting in the same spot drinking and eating.

why not? they're just another drink.

as i said you're missing out.

the world is full of tasty spirits, from a top quality malt to proper russian vodka.

Because I have better things to do than get mentally drunk.

Whisky is rank.

If pushed on a night out I'll take a vodka and lemonade, that's it, very rare.

Because I have better things to do than get mentally drunk.

Whisky is rank.

If pushed on a night out I'll take a vodka and lemonade, that's it, very rare.

you are aware that its possible to drink and not get ''mentally drunk'' arent you?

i know its possible cause i'm slowly learning it.

whisky isnt rank, its your uncultured tastebuds.