Mark Mcghee In The Sunday Herald

McGhee did this article to help Celtic. Why now, on the morning of our clash, in a Glasgow shitrag?

He did NOT understand Aberdeen football club in any way.

He's a prick, loudmouth, I dinna give a fuck about his playing career, he's worse than Strachan, putting the boot in.

Drainers my arse, the problems were all his own making, sacking Leighton etc HE did it, take some responsibility for that you square faced tool.

:applause:

Nail on head with the Leighton sacking - and what did Mr Brown do as soon as he arrived? Re-instate Jim.

McGhee is sore because he will never be a manager again - what puts a smile on my face is that he has to sit and watch his beloved Brighton soar in their new stadium with crazyman Gus a legend, that will really piss him off :)

• Replies 300

:applause:

Nail on head with the Leighton sacking - and what did Mr Brown do as soon as he arrived? Re-instate Jim.

McGhee is sore because he will never be a manager again - what puts a smile on my face is that he has to sit and watch his beloved Brighton soar in their new stadium with crazyman Gus a legend, that will really piss him off :)

apart fae the fact leighton is dons legend, what has he actually done as a goalkeeping coach? he's never improved any senior goalkeeper and there's never been a young goalkeeper come threw the ranks under his tutelage.

Yes you have put up an interesting question there.

what has he actually done as a goalkeeping coach?

Far more than Colin Fucking Meldrum min.

That interview was baffling

It was but Bryan Cooney is an old sage and the subtle piss takes were pretty good, especially the bit about being ordered by McGhee to meet him outside a sex shop, then waiting, until McGhee arrived wearing his designer sunglasses.

With kids it's all about the stature of the player.

Leighton has this, he's done it all, at the highest level.

Meldrum had hundreds of goals flying past him constantly for shit teams, and had an HNC in Sports Science, probably attended just to keep the broo off his back and the broo money coming in, to put, to quote Peter Grant, 'breed on the table for his weans'.

Leighton is an iconic figure. Disna matter if he's slightly feel with legs you could drive a double decker bus through. His presence is enough.

Meldrum had hundreds of goals flying past him constantly for shit teams, and had an HNC in Sports Science, probably attended just to keep the broo off his back and the broo money coming in, to put, to quote Peter Grant, 'breed on the table for his weans'.

Leighton is an iconic figure. Disna matter if he's slightly feel with legs you could drive a double decker bus through. His presence is enough.

hud the bus tup, i'm not comparing him to that clown meldrum. all i'm saying is i don't think leighton has improved any senior goalkeeper he's worked with at the club and we've never had a youngster a manger has felt confident enough to even have on the bench. look at langfield, i think he's declined year on year since he arrived. one aspect in particular, his distribution. he used to be able to drop a ball onto a 2p 70 yards away and was comfortable with both feet. i'm surprised no-one at the club has picked up on this especially with the amount of money apparently being pumped into the youth set up and not a sign of an able keeper in 12 or so years?

Roberto give me strength, meldrum was brough in to shout at players and make then do a lot of running.

The same reason why I am happy ot have Willie Miller at AFC - although i dont' want to open that pandora's box on this thread.

Slightly feel!!....He's started to resemble a cross between Steven Hawkins and Joey Deakinpost-4329-0-49834800-1319456777_thumb.jpg

He was aye feel, even as a player, socially inept, severe ricketts as a loon probably.

Slightly off topic but Is Milne so insecure that he must surround himself with punters that are a degree worse off than himself?

Leighton even more of a social spastic than Milne

Miller even less hair than Milne

Broon even older than Milne

Just a thought

Meldrum was brought in to keep them / make them fit then yeah?

Do what a coach would do?

Running normally gets players fit in my view, I've stopped my running - I feel unfit as fuck nowadays.

Leighton is a goalkeeping coach and that is it. Meldrum was more than just a goalkeeper coach.

No, I would argue that a goalkeeping coach should focus on the technicalities of goalkeeping, not fitness. So as Tup points out Meldrum is fucked from day 1 there as he was a very very shite goalkeeper.

Secondly I'd argue that we didn't require Meldrums "extra" coaching. We last had a dedicated fitness coach in Stuart Hogg (who was Scotlands athletics coach at some point) so if he and his fitness role were deemed surplus to requirements then we certainly didn't need a pseudo goalie/running coach in big Melders, as he was called.

:sherlock:

No, I would argue that a goalkeeping coach should focus on the technicalities of goalkeeping, not fitness. So as Tup points out Meldrum is fucked from day 1 there as he was a very very shite goalkeeper.

Secondly I'd argue that we didn't require Meldrums "extra" coaching. We last had a dedicated fitness coach in Stuart Hogg (who was Scotlands athletics coach at some point) so if he and his fitness role were deemed surplus to requirements then we certainly didn't need a pseudo goalie/running coach in big Melders, as he was called.

:sherlock:

I mind seeing Hogg and Ilian Kiriakov tucking into full English Breakfasts in the Inversnecky a few years back....before Kiriakov lit up a fag....I know it was a few years ago... fags,fry ups,fitness coach......Hello!!

McGhee is saying that the tinks at Motherwell were better than us, mainly because they are so thick that a man who can speak actual words in comprehensible fashion is treated like royalty, they bought into his waffle, education is more popular in the north and the canny folk fae up here seen through this chancer a mile off with his hankering for Celtic, a club hated in our domain, Milne should have sacked him in the press conference, we simply spent so much getting him that this option was delayed for ages.

Your not even willing to consider the prospect that some of what he says has merit??

How long and for how many managers has Aberdeen been floundering for? Are every one of these managers diddies??

You talk about Motherwell, they finished 10th, sacked Malpas and brought in McGhee, then finished third! I don't know about you, but if your not willing to attribute that success to McGhee, then it can only really be because there is something better about the club.

Saying all that, I notice that at no point does McGhee accept any blame himself. Its always someone elses fault!

Your not even willing to consider the prospect that some of what he says has merit??

How long and for how many managers has Aberdeen been floundering for? Are every one of these managers diddies??

You talk about Motherwell, they finished 10th, sacked Malpas and brought in McGhee, then finished third! I don't know about you, but if your not willing to attribute that success to McGhee, then it can only really be because there is something better about the club.

Saying all that, I notice that at no point does McGhee accept any blame himself. Its always someone elses fault!

A club is entirely dependent on the manager. The whole atmosphere of the place is his department.

So if what he is saying is that there was a poor atmosphere at the club, yet he is blaming others for that, then he is basically saying that it's not his responsibility. So was he even a manager? Did he manage?

No is the answer. He had no interest in immersing himself in the Dons. He's a Celtic fan, and was willingly complicit with a Celtic hack in releasing such drivel on the morning of a game they were concerned about winning.

I hate the cunt.

Is that Father Jack Crilly?

That's what he does now, at the time he was Dons fitness coach, with drills such as he and Kiriakov leading the rest on a run up to the Shell garage on King Street for 200 fags and 8 half-bottles of vodka, followed by a sprint back to the ground to smoke the fags and tan the drink.

Immense team spirit was fostered by this policy, however Hogg became something of a shambling alkie in the process.

Haha was looking for a picture of Hogg but couldn't find one-! He totally is the boy from Father Jack.............never understood why he was at AFC that old gadgie.....

Meanwhile, I have narrowed the Sex Shop that McGheee uses as a meeting point down to a few locations in Brighton - can anyone narrow the search? i spent most of my downtime after the friendly last year down at the beach drinking pints in the sun post-match...

First of all, I agree with some of the comments on the convenient timing of the article. Also, you can tell that the interviewer doesn't really like him, so there will be some spin...

But for any valid points he has, the scattergun approach to blame without turning it on himself at the end is quite pathetic. No acceptance or suggestions of shortcomings on his part. His job was to shape the playing side of AFC, and he failed at that. He can blame player resistance all he wants but he made a considerable amount of changes for the second season and things got worse. He can criticise the stubbornness of the players, but he seems equally stubborn and the process is a two way thing. Finally, he based himself out of Brighton at the other end of the country. How does he influence as manager when he spends half the week away from the city?!

Bingo! It's a "jobs for the boys" appointment. Leighton himself had no need for a F/T gk Coach, neither did Snelders, Kjaer or any great keeper we had. A wage we can ill afford.