vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/editors-choice/2011/11/07/rich-aberdonians-charter-plane-to-follow-hero-alex-ferguson-man-utd-86908-23544122/ thoughts?? I've had the odd email from people I know asking me to go to this, usually when its a meaningless group game in the CL when they have already qualified. I'm with Roberto when it comes to the fergie excuse for following MAn Utd. Would these same aberdeen fans do the same if he'd gone to Rangers? Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 well he didnt go to Rangers or Port Vale, he went to Man United. no issue with it, if people want a day oot and back for 250 quid to OT, then who am I to judge? I know a few boys who have went on this trip, supporters and non supporters Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 Not my scene but know a few folk who do that flight, usually unfortunate enough to be stuck at the airport bar with them, flashing their season tickets at every other oppertunity and if you didnt know they were season ticket holders before meeting them you certainly did after. Not my cup of tea. Each to their own, most folk i know have an english team but zero reason for supporting them, one of my mates goes to watch leeds, spurs and watford on a regular basis. Dont see the problem if it keeps folk happy. Link to comment
minijc Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 Rich Aberdonians Read that part then gave up, I doubt many of them are rich, also don't see the problem with it. Link to comment
Marty13479 Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I have been on a chartered flight to OT through my old job. It was a great day out. Fly down sat morning, get picked up from airport and taken for lunch and then a canal boat to OT. We took 4 of our top clients and they loved it. I have no effection for Man Utd but enjoyed my free day out. Don't agree with guys who do this rather than support Aberdeen though. Think they need a slap. Link to comment
Monkey Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I'm aware of some guys from Dundee who had season tickets at the San Siro. Season ticket was around Link to comment
minijc Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I'm aware of some guys from Dundee who had season tickets at the San Siro. Season ticket was around Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Author Share Posted November 7, 2011 I'd like to know what constitutes value for money. Sure they get to see pretty football but is that all fans look for now? Maybe stoney and others who have been can confirm but I've heard OT can be as dull as dish water most saturdays and the games aren't exactly end to end entertaining affairs? :dontknow: Link to comment
Henry Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 Read that part then gave up, I doubt many of them are rich, also don't see the problem with it. Me too, I read the headline from the Daily Record, and I immediately knew the wages of the fans concerned. Anyway, surely the phrase "more money than sense" was invented for folk who do this on a regular basis. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/editors-choice/2011/11/07/rich-aberdonians-charter-plane-to-follow-hero-alex-ferguson-man-utd-86908-23544122/ thoughts?? I've had the odd email from people I know asking me to go to this, usually when its a meaningless group game in the CL when they have already qualified. I'm with Roberto when it comes to the fergie excuse for following MAn Utd. Would these same aberdeen fans do the same if he'd gone to Rangers? Thats the way football has gone. 75000 at Old Trafford on Saturday. there will have been this plane from Aberdeen as well as planes from Norway, Denmark, loads of Asians all over for a game. It's sad. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Author Share Posted November 7, 2011 Thats the way football has gone. 75000 at Old Trafford on Saturday. there will have been this plane from Aberdeen as well as planes from Norway, Denmark, loads of Asians all over for a game. It's sad. it is quite sad that the modern fan can only latch themselves to successful clubs. obviously its always been the case theat bigger teams have larger followings but its at a larger scale now. these lads are no different than some of the OF fans some of us like to slag off., Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I'd like to know what constitutes value for money. Sure they get to see pretty football but is that all fans look for now? Maybe stoney and others who have been can confirm but I've heard OT can be as dull as dish water most saturdays and the games aren't exactly end to end entertaining affairs? :dontknow: Believe it or not in all my travels watching united i cant recall there being a time when i was there on a saturday as was always at an aberdeen game. From memory champions league games were quite good but that was helped a lot by the away fans. Out of the league games they were all midweeks or sunday afternoons and always quite big games (arsenal, chelsea, spurs etc) depended on where i was sitting, east upper is a fucking joke of a stand, where all the day trippers are, zero atmosphere, also quite poor on the south stand where its mostly old timers. And north stand tier 2 was always a bit dissapointing. I was lucky enough to always be sitting with a group of guys who liked a song. I had a few up for the testimonial a few years back and they couldnt believe how shit the atmosphere was up here. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I met a random "Dundee United Supporter" who did this on a fairly regular basis in the local one day. His excuse was the quality on show at Tannadice was poor. I didn't argue with that, but he did take exception to me pointing out that perhaps the fare wouldn't be quite so poor if gloryhunters like him chose to spend the same money on their local team - perhaps hiring a box for his pals to have a jolly etc. I was pissed at the time, so don't have a great deal of recollection, but my pal who was there thinks he was extremely upset at my less than diplomatic language. ---- As I said to him, I don't mind what you spend your money on - just don't call yourself a [insert Scottish club} fan - because you're not. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Author Share Posted November 7, 2011 Believe it or not in all my travels watching united i cant recall there being a time when i was there on a saturday as was always at an aberdeen game. From memory champions league games were quite good but that was helped a lot by the away fans. Out of the league games they were all midweeks or sunday afternoons and always quite big games (arsenal, chelsea, spurs etc) depended on where i was sitting, east upper is a fucking joke of a stand, where all the day trippers are, zero atmosphere, also quite poor on the south stand where its mostly old timers. And north stand tier 2 was always a bit dissapointing. I was lucky enough to always be sitting with a group of guys who liked a song. I had a few up for the testimonial a few years back and they couldnt believe how shit the atmosphere was up here. well it was a testimonial. not exactly going to be bouncing Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 Thoughts are so fuck - its a story from the DR designed to antagonise us, so lets adopt a teflon approach here gents. COYR Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Author Share Posted November 7, 2011 Thoughts are so fuck - its a story from the DR designed to antagonise us, so lets adopt a teflon approach here gents. COYR the source of the story doesn't matter. what matters is that its happening. Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 what matters is that its happening The fact the west coast press is diliberatly antagonising us? Aye, you're spot on VDA. So like I say the best approch is ignore the cunts and nae get wound up about it. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Author Share Posted November 7, 2011 The fact the west coast press is diliberatly antagonising us? Aye, you're spot on VDA. So like I say the best approch is ignore the cunts and nae get wound up about it. nobody is being wound up and we should put aside the reasons behind the article and who printed it. we should be looking at why its happening and why fans don;t want to go any more. Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 well it was a testimonial. not exactly going to be bouncing Think it was fairly standard for our home support if im being honest. The atmosphere is grim up here at the best of times. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 7, 2011 Author Share Posted November 7, 2011 Think it was fairly standard for our home support if im being honest. The atmosphere is grim up here at the best of times. its never been fantastic unless it was a big game but even now the bigger matches are poor. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 fucking pathetic Says it all really when its a dick head like Wilson thats organising it as well. There isnt a football bandwagon this cunt wont jump on. He's the one responsible for the rangers videos in the urinals at Paramount. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 nobody is being wound up and we should put aside the reasons behind the article and who printed it. we should be looking at why its happening and why fans don;t want to go any more. I'd say for this lot at least vda it has more to do with bragging rights over their friends on a Monday than anything else, saying you went to Old Trafford sounds better in the office than PIttodrie. They'll go to Old Trafford 4, 5 or even 6 times a year at an average price of Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I'd say for this lot at least vda it has more to do with bragging rights over their friends on a Monday than anything else, saying you went to Old Trafford sounds better in the office than PIttodrie. They'll go to Old Trafford 4, 5 or even 6 times a year at an average price of Link to comment
GK55 Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 No issues with this whatsoever. Been offered this a few times (not through the boy Wilson - seems a right arsehole). Would do it once or twice a season if the finances allowed. However, my money is better spent elsewhere. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted November 7, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted November 7, 2011 They've been doing it for years. They ain't Dons fans, simple. Link to comment
tup Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 I know 2 people who have stopped supporting the Dons full stop and have thrown all their eggs in the Man United basket, clowns. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted November 7, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted November 7, 2011 I know 2 people who have stopped supporting the Dons full stop and have thrown all their eggs in the Man United basket, clowns. Funny as fuck if City win everything going for the next five years. Link to comment
tup Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 Surely when Fergie leaves all these delusional folk will wake up with the mother of all English football hangovers? I don't think the folk who go on these trips even like or understand football. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted November 7, 2011 Share Posted November 7, 2011 Surely when Fergie leaves all these delusional folk will wake up with the mother of all English football hangovers? I don't think the folk who go on these trips even like or understand football. there were a few women in the pic so you maybe right Link to comment