Sonoftherock Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 As the subject title states... does anyone know if he's likely to be fit for the start of the season. Also, how long does he have on his current contract? This is going to be a big season for the lad I reckon. He's looked very promising, in flashes, over the past couple of season however, if he can't keep himself fit then questions are going to be asked whether he's cut out for the rigours of a career in professional football. Thoughts? Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 If he is he will be injured after a couple games anyway. I really rated him when he first appeared and thought he had a good future but would appear to be made of balsa wood held together with elastic bands. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I have only seen him have two good games in his time at Aberdeen. His debut at Ibrox and a home game against St Johnstone. I'm not convinced he will be as good as many people think, hopefully he proves me wrong although I have my doubts. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 If he is he will be injured after a couple games anyway. I really rated him when he first appeared and thought he had a good future but would appear to be made of balsa wood held together with elastic bands. 1 2 Link to comment
Crossbow Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I thought last season was important for him to progress in but no real signs as always injured/recovering. This season for me is a make or break (perhaps not a good choice of words) - he needs to step up and be both consistent in the team and good or it's a disappointed goodbye from me. I fear we cannot afford a passenger. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Yes, he will be fit. There was talk of him going on loan to a league that played over summer in order to get match fit, but that never materialised. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 i love the wee guy pacey, direct and nastyonce he grows properly and stays fit, he'll be the best youngster to come through our youths since super kev...easy even if he constantly gets injured...means he'll no want a big wage so ill keep him anyway Nasty? What you basing that on? Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Nasty? What you basing that on? He's nae feart of putting in a crunching challenge. Its probably not a good thing as he is so injury prone, but MT is right. 1 Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 He's nae feart of putting in a crunching challenge. Its probably not a good thing as he is so injury prone, but MT is right. I seriously must have missed that as I have never once seen Pawlett put in a 'crunching' challenge. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I seriously must have missed that as I have never once seen Pawlett put in a 'crunching' challenge. Honestly? Every game I've seen him play (pretty much all of them, its not too difficult) he lunges into a tackle. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I remember seeing him get sent off against Hibs when he went sliding in, although he was about 2 yards away from the guy and just trying to block the clearance. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I just don't view him as being a nasty player but we are all entitled to our opinion. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I just don't view him as being a nasty player but we are all entitled to our opinion. I wouldn't say nasty either. He is an over-enthusiastic young player, who doesn't actually know how to tackle that well. Wouldn't put it down to nastiness. Certainly wouldn't class his tackle against Izaguirre as nasty, it was well timed and strong. Bad luck to Izaguirre (who was nae out 9 months anyways, he was back well before the end of the season). Link to comment
a don in oz Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I don't think he's nasty, but he's certainly not afraid to throw himself around. Shame he's balsaboy as that tendency works against him at times I'm sure. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I don't think he's nasty, I seen him wedgie Ryan Fraser and make fun of him for being small. That was nasty 1 Link to comment
GK55 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 In all honesty, i dont highly rate Pawlett - but will give him this season to prove me wrong - if he cant stay fit and hit form, then out he goes. Link to comment
zander Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 The guy seems to be perma injured sadly as I think hes a good player. Link to comment
sooth_stander Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Entering the final year of his contract, so massive season for him. Agree with everyone above, nasty wee edge to him game, that all good players have. would love to see him succeed here, but..... Not convinced he has enough in his locker, other than pace and that dirty edge, but Mackie had that too, and it ain't enough. Needs to be able to pass the ball, and cross a ball. 1 Link to comment
OddJob Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 I hope he takes his chance this season, but sadly i think he's never going to get over his injuries which is a shame as there's something there. Let's hope Ryan Fraser gets plenty of chances too. 1 Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Entering the final year of his contract, so massive season for him. Agree with everyone above, nasty wee edge to him game, that all good players have. would love to see him succeed here, but..... Not convinced he has enough in his locker, other than pace and that dirty edge, but Mackie had that too, and it ain't enough. Needs to be able to pass the ball, and cross a ball. I thought he had another year. Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 The lad is only 21, he is still to improve, and I would be hoping the club are looking to keep him for another couple of years. Has potential, not had the best of luck with injuries, but he could be our best young player we've had come through in a long time! I hope he pushes on this season, and the fans are patient with him Link to comment
Johnny Mac Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 against celtic he put Izaguirre out for 9 months! Nonsense, Izaguirre went over his own ankle and put himself out for 9 months. Pawlett hardly made a 'crunching challenge'. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 From what I've heard he doesn't have a nasty streak. Mate got a trim off of Fyvie's Mum and she reckoned he was too 'lovely and polite' to make the cut, whereas her own was a cocky little runt. There is some logic in that. Definite potential, he tore Dundee apart in the opening stages of a cup tie last season. Pacey and direct, his ability is there to see. We all know what his achilles heel is though. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 More to the point, is Milsom going to be fit. We really need Rob back as he's an absolute class act who we really missed! Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Yes, Brown has said Milsom will be fit. On Pawlett, hopefully he can stay fit. He is a good player that can provide a cutting edge and could be a regular - IF fit. Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Yes, Brown has said Milsom will be fit. On Pawlett, hopefully he can stay fit. He is a good player that can provide a cutting edge and could be a regular - IF fit. ideally, next season we can start with hayes, milson, ozzy, pawlett. maybe a 5 man midfield if fyvie is still here which i doubt. definately need to buy a striker tho i say. Link to comment
OddJob Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Brown (although more likely Clangers ) Jack Anderson New CB? New LB? Hughes Ozzy Milsom Pawlett Vernon Hayes Possible starting 11 for Tims game? Seeing as though Consi is suspended for first 2 games we obviously need a new centre -half, especially after getting rid of McArdle, and Robertson won't be fit in time for then either. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Brown Osbourne Anderson Considine NEW LB Jack Rae Milsom Hayes Vernon NEW #10 other keeper - Langfieldother defenders - Robertson, Shaunessey, NEW CBother midfielders - Hughes, Pawlett, Low, Massonother strikers - Magennis, Megginson, NEW Striker reckon Paton and Fyvie will leavereckon Masson will be only one of the youngsters to firmly grasp the chance they'll all get in pre season not sure if jack and osbourne will be other way round Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Brown Osbourne Anderson Considine NEW LB Jack Rae Milsom Hayes Vernon NEW #10 other keeper - Langfieldother defenders - Robertson, Shaunessey, NEW CBother midfielders - Hughes, Pawlett, Low, Massonother strikers - Magennis, Megginson, NEW Striker reckon Paton and Fyvie will leavereckon Masson will be only one of the youngsters to firmly grasp the chance they'll all get in pre season not sure if jack and osbourne will be other way roundI'd give the wee fella Ryan Fraser a run...looked decent enough from what I saw of him last season... Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 27, 2012 Share Posted June 27, 2012 Entering the final year of his contract, so massive season for him. Agree with everyone above, nasty wee edge to him game, that all good players have. would love to see him succeed here, but..... Not convinced he has enough in his locker, other than pace and that dirty edge, but Mackie had that too, and it ain't enough. Needs to be able to pass the ball, and cross a ball.Aye - burst onto scene with massive potential then injuries again and again and when came back inbetween has looked poor. Needs an injury free season and progress or be out the door. Link to comment