New Car Chat

fine-n-dandy

Mrs has come to the end of her current deal on her Audi A1 and is looking at a new motor a Honda Civic SE plus, has anyone on here got one or know anything about it, any good??

Also, are the extras worth the money:

Autoglym Lifeshine: £300 - They have told her that if she disna get this done whilst car is in showroom she'll have to get her paintwork decontaminated first before anyone else can apply the stuff, is this true??

Gap insurance £299

Rubber boot lining: £150

Service plan: £555

She says they are nae keen on giving her anything for free, price is what it is kinda offer.

My thoughts are that you can get everything cheaper yourself apart from maybe the service plan.

Cheers

Mrs has come to the end of her current deal on her Audi A1 and is looking at a new motor a Honda Civic SE plus, has anyone on here got one or know anything about it, any good??

Autoglym Lifeshine: £300 - They have told her that if she disna get this done whilst car is in showroom she'll have to get her paintwork decontaminated first before anyone else can apply the stuff, is this true??

Gap insurance £299

She says they are nae keen on giving her anything for free, price is what it is kinda offer.

My thoughts are that you can get everything cheaper yourself apart from maybe the service plan.

Cheers

I don't even know what any of those extras are. Let's be honest, she's probably only going to have it 3/4 years so why would it

need life shine?

What a fucking con buying a car is.

Gap insurance £299

Cheers

We have a 2013 Honda Civic EX 1.6 diesel and its a cracking wee car. Main reason we bought it was for the MPG which for us living in the shire is outstanding. We are getting 60 to 65 mpg easy. It's also £0 for road tax which is a plus. One thing i will say is reversing can be a bit of a pain due to the way the rear windscreen sits. if you can afford to upgrade to a model with the rear facing camera then do so or at the very least get one with rear sensors. Our model has the camera and front and rear sensors and they are really handy.

I wouldn't touch the lifeshine at that price. You should maybe call a local detailer and ask their opinion and get prices for alternatives if you want additional protection.

Gap insurance. Again its a risk. I never take it because i don't plan on writing off the car any-time soon but it might happen.

£150 for a boot liner sounds a bit steep. Can get genuine or even after market ones online for half that price easy.

£555? Is that a 3 year plan?

I'd be trying to pushing the dealer to get as much as possible included especially things like floor mats and boot liners. It pisses me off that floor mats always seem to be an extra cost.

We have a 2013 Honda Civic EX 1.6 diesel and its a cracking wee car. Main reason we bought it was for the MPG which for us living in the shire is outstanding. We are getting 60 to 65 mpg easy. It's also £0 for road tax which is a plus. One thing i will say is reversing can be a bit of a pain due to the way the rear windscreen sits. if you can afford to upgrade to a model with the rear facing camera then do so or at the very least get one with rear sensors. Our model has the camera and front and rear sensors and they are really handy.

I wouldn't touch the lifeshine at that price. You should maybe call a local detailer and ask their opinion and get prices for alternatives if you want additional protection.

Gap insurance. Again its a risk. I never take it because i don't plan on writing off the car any-time soon but it might happen.

£150 for a boot liner sounds a bit steep. Can get genuine or even after market ones online for half that price easy.

£555? Is that a 3 year plan?

I'd be trying to pushing the dealer to get as much as possible included especially things like floor mats and boot liners. It pisses me off that floor mats always seem to be an extra cost.

Aye it's the 1.6 Diesel version she is looking which has the camera and sensors which is needed as it's a good bit longer than her wee Audi A1.

Hahaha no the 555 plan is 5 years servicing, warranty and AA cover for £555 and the cover stays with the car should you flog it within the 5 year term .

My mates are saying I should get a detailer to do the Autoglym paint job as they will do a fart better job for less money, anyone recommend a detailer?

Aye they are trying to make her pay around £300 for mats and mud flaps which is a right con for bits of plastic and a wee mini carpets!! haha

She's got a test drive the day so if she likes it then I'll be there this time to try and get her some freebies!!

Aye it's the 1.6 Diesel version she is looking which has the camera and sensors which is needed as it's a good bit longer than her wee Audi A1.

Hahaha no the 555 plan is 5 years servicing, warranty and AA cover for £555 and the cover stays with the car should you flog it within the 5 year term .

My mates are saying I should get a detailer to do the Autoglym paint job as they will do a fart better job for less money, anyone recommend a detailer?

Aye they are trying to make her pay around £300 for mats and mud flaps which is a right con for bits of plastic and a wee mini carpets!! haha

She's got a test drive the day so if she likes it then I'll be there this time to try and get her some freebies!!

Get the mats/ flaps in autosave. Christ almighty that's outrageous prices.

Gap insurance £299

Cheers

Just polish it yourself, have a quick search on internet to find out what to use, think it is something like £30 for the exact same bottle they use, you are just paying for a monkey to do it instead, think salesman gets a cut too.

You can get gap insurance yourself through your own insurance policy for a few pound extra a month.

Not sure how many miles she is planning on doing but I told Specialist Cars to stuff it. I will get my new thing serviced every 10,000 miles, and this last year I drove 5,300 miles so no need for me to get the service plan.

There I just saved you £1154. :cheers:

Just polish it yourself, have a quick search on internet to find out what to use, think it is something like £30 for the exact same bottle they use, you are just paying for a monkey to do it instead, think salesman gets a cut too.

You can get gap insurance yourself through your own insurance policy for a few pound extra a month.

Not sure how many miles she is planning on doing but I told Specialist Cars to stuff it. I will get my new thing serviced every 10,000 miles, and this last year I drove 5,300 miles so no need for me to get the service plan.

There I just saved you £1154. :cheers:

Polish it myself.....what like manual labour??? These hands are pen pushing hands!!! haha

The 555 deal covers servicing, extended warranty and AA cover, I actually think this is a pretty good deal since servicing and AA cover alone would be over £100 a year if done by yourself.

I just think cars are a massive con, you get fleeced for everything especially the finance!!!!

Polish it myself.....what like manual labour??? These hands are pen pushing hands!!! haha

The 555 deal covers servicing, extended warranty and AA cover, I actually think this is a pretty good deal since servicing and AA cover alone would be over £100 a year if done by yourself.

I just think cars are a massive con, you get fleeced for everything especially the finance!!!!

Anything "extra" a dealer tries to sell you is not worth it.

The lifetime polish. Load of shite.

Likewise them selling you gap insurance. Do you take out the extended warranty from Dixons when you buy a new telly? Do you fuck. You're house insurance covers it. Likewise as stated the gap insurance can be added to your car insurance for far less money.

The servicing sounds too good to be true. Most of the time the things that go wrong are not covered with this. Vauxhall are incredibly bad for this.

Forget the AA cover extra. You'll get that along with mobile phone insurance and travel insurance through a bank account for a few quid a month.

My Golf bought last week is going like a fucking dream.

Just bought a load of equipment to service the car myself now. Spanner and socket sets, axle stands, trolley jack etc.

Everything you ever need to know about servicing a car is now on YouTube.

Managed to whip off the alternator on my Discovery last week and change it out for a new one in 30 minutes.

My Golf bought last week is going like a fucking dream.

Just bought a load of equipment to service the car myself now. Spanner and socket sets, axle stands, trolley jack etc.

Everything you ever need to know about servicing a car is now on YouTube.

Managed to whip off the alternator on my Discovery last week and change it out for a new one in 30 minutes.

Golf. :thumbup1:

Indeed.

Engine oil.

Where is best in Aberdeen to buy and please don't say Halfords as I have no intention of going there.

Preferably Fuchs Titan Pro race and/orlong life or Castrol Edge Titanium 5w30 or 5w40 if any petrol heads want to get down into specifics.

Thanks.

You tried Autosave, or do you have beef with them too? Or Euro Car Parts doon St Mâchar?

You get free engine oil at Arnold Clark. They do free health checks on all vehicles including top ups.

I took out the Gap Insurance on my newest car. I was £1200 short when my car got written off between the insurance payout and the value left on my finance on my old car. So I'd basically paid £3,000 (16 months finance + £1200 shortage) with absolutely fuck all to show for it. Annoying thing was that the other person admitted liability so it wasn't even my fault.

The £2800 I got from the Personal Injury claim softened the blow :trophy:

You'll only ever buy a car from Arnold Clark once. Wait until something goes wrong with the car and you will see them for what they are. A bunch of fucking muppets. I sold the wifes car after less than a year of owning so i wouldn't have to deal with them. Never again. I buy all my parts online. Just bought some philips x-treme headlight bulbs for my car preparing for the dark nights. The oem ones fitted are pretty rubbish. Got the wife winter tyres off ebay so will get them fitted over the weekend. Autoparts in Inverurie good for Oil etc.

Nice one. Will check them out.

Tommo you're making a fool of yourself on here.

Be off with you.

Far's best to get the maist dough for my current car? Can't be arsed selling privately so just want to pop somewhere and leave with the dough in my pooch so I can go and see what I can get for cash elsewhere.

I sold my last one to webuyanycar.com. Got a better price from them that I was offered for a trade-in.