Niall Mcginn - Signs Extension Until 2016

I think it's a strong possibility.

If a Championship club come in for him, I don't think we're in a financial position not to sell (by the bank)

£750k - gone.

To be honest, we should offer him an extension and if he refuses to sign it, we should maybe look to sell, as we can't afford to let him go for nothing at the end of his contract, or a pittance in January.

Sad, but that's where we are as a club

Rumour was that Leeds inquired in January for £500k, but player wanted to stay. given no money raised will be reinvested in the playing squad I see no benefit in selling him unless we get offered decent money (£1.5m+).

I reckon we'd sell for half that

He only has 12 months to go on his contract.

The bank will dictate that anyway - the board are not in a position to turn down £750k most likely.

McInnes should make it his first priority to give him an improved, extended deal that is commensurate with his goal scoring achievements this season.

But we all know that if a club comes in with a big enough offer, he will be allowed to go. That cycle will continue indefinitely. It is just the way things are.

Ridiculous to suggest that he's not worth about £2m in today's current climate. He would hold his own down in the EPL for sure. Every bit as good as Fletcher in my opinion.

Just because he plays in a shite league for a shite club, doesn't mean his worth should be devalued.

Put it this way, if he were at Hearts, Hibs, Utd or Celtic, his value would be infinitely more than most Dons fans consider.

His goals are worth more to us than 500-750k. Had it not been for Brown's pathetic defensive tactics of playing him up front on his own for half the season, we'd have been sitting comfortably in top 3, in line for European qualifiers.

Ridiculous to suggest that he's not worth about £2m in today's current climate. He would hold his own down in the EPL for sure. Every bit as good as Fletcher in my opinion.

Just because he plays in a shite league for a shite club, doesn't mean his worth should be devalued.

Put it this way, if he were at Hearts, Hibs, Utd or Celtic, his value would be infinitely more than most Dons fans consider.

His goals are worth more to us than 500-750k. Had it not been for Brown's pathetic defensive tactics of playing him up front on his own for half the season, we'd have been sitting comfortably in top 3, in line for European qualifiers.

I agree with the second half of your post, particularly the bit about Brown's tactics. If we went out in other games with the attitude we had today, we'd easily be top 3.

Don't agree with the first paragraph though

No way he's good enough for the EPL.

Championship but no higher IMO.

I agree with the second half of your post, particularly the bit about Brown's tactics. If we went out in other games with the attitude we had today, we'd easily be top 3.

No way he's good enough for the SPL.

I presume that's a typo and you meant the EPL?

Disagree. Outwith the top half sides, there's not really much to separate strikers and he is more than capable of scoring for the likes of Stoke, Reading etc.

Edit; christ look at the boy Snodgrass.... was playing for Livi not that long ago

No way he's good enough for the SPL.

I presume that's a typo and you meant the EPL?

Disagree. Outwith the top half sides, there's not really much to separate strikers and he is more than capable of scoring for the likes of Stoke, Reading etc.

Edit; christ look at the boy Snodgrass.... was playing for Livi not that long ago

Aye, sorted! :whistling:

Ludicrous that our board haven't offered an extension, if that is the case.

We would get a decent offer for him if he keeps up the form. Instead, we risk losing him on the cheap next year :angry2:

Hopefully the new manager will see it as a priority as part of the evaluating of the squad that he'll be undertaking just now.

If he refuses any extension, then I'd be surprised if he's around in August.

McInnes should make it his first priority to give him an improved, extended deal that is commensurate with his goal scoring achievements this season.

But we all know that if a club comes in with a big enough offer, he will be allowed to go. That cycle will continue indefinitely. It is just the way things are.

Agree. No point whinging it about it. We took one of Caley's best players last season for free and this practice just works its way down the food chain/pyramid. We all want him to stay and I'm sure an improved offer will be put it to him if for no other reason then it would generate a bigger cash sum on selling. He will mull it over and most likely not sign as his goals will have bumped up his market value and alerted a host of other clubs all of whom would be able to offer at least a doubling of his wage. He will then leave with us getting between half and one million which we will not spend on other strikers but we will have a similar wage to spend on another free transfer. Rather than Brown saying his legacy was leaving a good squad it could be argued his best legacy is leaving us with a real saleable asset as that is more than most other recent managers of ours have done. We mustn't get too despondent as it happens to every one of our rivals too.

Brooner was on Alba at HT saying the transfer fees he's brought in was the highlight of his time at AFC, or words to that effect.

Decent offer and he'll be gone.

Transfer fees is stretching it a wee bit most of the business received was compensation for under 24 yr olds. Aluko, McGuire etc. Fyvie and Fraser also similar story. They wanted to leave and he had no choice but to accept a decent offer. Other than Foster who exactly did he sell that the fans/club could regard as being a good bit of business. And re that offer prob best to mention that name any more in case he comes back again. Dreadful dreadful player right up there with Byrne as being one of the worst full backs i have ever seen. Byrne at least knew he was pish Ricky thought he was a player and that made him all the worse.

Agree. No point whinging it about it. We took one of Caley's best players last season for free and this practice just works its way down the food chain/pyramid. We all want him to stay and I'm sure an improved offer will be put it to him if for no other reason then it would generate a bigger cash sum on selling. He will mull it over and most likely not sign as his goals will have bumped up his market value and alerted a host of other clubs all of whom would be able to offer at least a doubling of his wage. He will then leave with us getting between half and one million which we will not spend on other strikers but we will have a similar wage to spend on another free transfer. Rather than Brown saying his legacy was leaving a good squad it could be argued his best legacy is leaving us with a real saleable asset as that is more than most other recent managers of ours have done. We mustn't get too despondent as it happens to every one of our rivals too.

Good post.

With our budget being 3rd or 4th best in the SPL, we should be in a good position to take a few decent players from the likes of Motherwell, Killie, St Johnstone etc

If McGinn is to go, then let it be the summer to maximise the fee. Don't fuck about and wait until December before offering him a new contract.

Agreed, McGinns contract is a priority [Along with searching for a GK who doesn't brick it at every corner]

Unfortunately for us, a selling club, we aren't very good at selling for decent money.

Hopefully we can take a leaf out of Dundee Utd's book - because it appears that we have a good few young players coming through the ranks. We must learn our lesson from the Fyvie, Grimmer and Fraser fiascos.

Agreed, McGinns contract is a priority [Along with searching for a GK who doesn't brick it at every corner]

Unfortunately for us, a selling club, we aren't very good at selling for decent money.

Hopefully we can take a leaf out of Dundee Utd's book - because it appears that we have a good few young players coming through the ranks. We must learn our lesson from the Fyvie, Grimmer and Fraser fiascos.

Hibs as well - they sold the likes of Thomson, Brown & Fletcher for fortunes

The secret was Rod Petrie's stubbornness in insisting on the right fee, and selling at the right time.

Offer the likes of Cammy Smith appropriate wages and contracts (I appreciate there are maximum length of contracts you can offer young players).

I would be surprised if we got more than £500K-£600K if we decided to sell. He's only got 1 year left on his contract and has hardly set the heather alight in England previously which may put some teams off. Some of the figures being bandied about are ludicrous. Saw some boy on Mad saying we should be looking at no less than £3 million, living in a dream land.

I think he has a release clause in his contract(he'd be dumb not to) that if a Chamionship side come looking he can move on fairly cheaply...it should be remembered that Broon only signed him after a chance meeting...this was not the result of scouting or Broons "eye for a player"...I know...the way the Brooner was talking yesterday you'd have thought he was a Broon pick that he'd advised the club to go after...I think there are only 3 players directly down to the Brooner...Hughes, Rae and Naismith...how exactly have they turned out

I think there are only 3 players directly down to the Brooner...Hughes, Rae and Naismith...how exactly have they turned out

So Hayes and Anderson were nothing to do with him at all then???

You really do speak the most unbelievable amount of absolute shit, to support your own pathetic agenda. Fuck off and support the Huns you prick - obnoxious, brain dead numpties are more suited to them.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk 2

• Upvote 6

I think it's a strong possibility.

If a Championship club come in for him, I don't think we're in a financial position not to sell (by the bank)

£750k - gone.

To be honest, we should offer him an extension and if he refuses to sign it, we should maybe look to sell, as we can't afford to let him go for nothing at the end of his contract, or a pittance in January.

Sad, but that's where we are as a club

Dumb to sell him.

He should be offered a new contract for sure, but we should keep him this coming season even if he leaves on a free at the end of it.

Can we nae sell langfield instead? :(

Don't care how many people "believe" that Clangers has saved us in some games, he's cost us a lot more than he's saved us.

Utd & Celtic to name but two.

He's basically cost us top six. Now that in itself means fuck all but the money that it's cost us is basically a years wage per position & would easily have covered a new keeper.

So that cunt has to go next season (or at most be number two) because he will cost us at least one position again next season if not more.

Folk may say it's a waste on money releasing him cos he has a year to go but I say it's wasting more money to keep playing him.

I hope the new manager realises this also.

Get Clangers tae fuck is the main priority after securing McGinn on a new deal.

We have to accept that we are a selling club, therefore the time to sell McGinn is end of season when he's done well, hopefully we can pocket a good amount of cash for him.

Nope. This is one player we got for nothing. We should take the minimum two seasons from him and let him go if he wants to at the end of the season after this.

He could be the difference between winning and losing a cup final so far more valuable than the £500K we would get for him.