altogi Posted May 27, 2013 Share Posted May 27, 2013 If anyone has a Wikipedia account for editing articles can they please change his image in that hideous Celtic top for a more recent one of him in the Dons red please? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niall_McGinn think can change this line too. McGinn mainly plays on the left or right side of midfield but he can also be employed as a secondary striker. Link to comment
boboisared Posted May 27, 2013 Share Posted May 27, 2013 If anyone has a Wikipedia account for editing articles can they please change his image in that hideous Celtic top for a more recent one of him in the Dons red please? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niall_McGinn think can change this line too. McGinn mainly plays on the left or right side of midfield but he can also be employed as a secondary striker.He plays on the left. He plays on the right. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted May 27, 2013 Share Posted May 27, 2013 Me personally am glad Niall McGinn signed for the Dons, he's been a revelation, he must like it up here or wouldn't have signed a new deal. Stand Free Mr. McGinn. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Quite interesting piece here showing the league table with all non-Scottish player's goals omitted. As suspected, we could have been right in the shecht wi'oot Niall's goals. http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/aberdeen/229310-who-would-have-won-the-spl-if-only-goals-from-scottish-players-counted/? Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Amazing how they describe two contentious decisions in the article then come to two contrasting opinions in the exact same scenario pretty much... As for Aberdeen, it isn't just McGinn's goals, we didn't actually have a Scottish striker this season, unless we are counting Megginson. McGinn, Magennis, Vernon and Fallon all non-Scottish, plus the highest scorer from midfield, Hayes, is Irish. We would always then struggle in that table. Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Quite interesting piece here showing the league table with all non-Scottish player's goals omitted. As suspected, we could have been right in the shecht wi'oot Niall's goals. http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/aberdeen/229310-who-would-have-won-the-spl-if-only-goals-from-scottish-players-counted/?Has us as 6 Scots scoring for us - i can only count 6 in total. Rae x 3, Clark, Reynolds and Smith. Must still be counting OGs Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Amazing how they describe two contentious decisions in the article then come to two contrasting opinions in the exact same scenario pretty much... As for Aberdeen, it isn't just McGinn's goals, we didn't actually have a Scottish striker this season, unless we are counting Megginson. McGinn, Magennis, Vernon and Fallon all non-Scottish, plus the highest scorer from midfield, Hayes, is Irish. We would always then struggle in that table.Certainly should be getting more than 6 goals in a season with likes of Rae, Smith, Pawlett, McManus, Megginson, Masson, Low, Jack, Hughes, Fraser & Clark scoring just 5 in 154 games between them (defender Reynolds scored the other) Link to comment
boboisared Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Has us as 6 Scots scoring for us - i can only count 6 in total. Rae x 3, Clark, Reynolds and Smith. Must still be counting OGsA bit cheeky giving it to Reynolds anyway but the work he did to get in to position to shoot was fantastic. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Certainly should be getting more than 6 goals in a season with likes of Rae, Smith, Pawlett, McManus, Megginson, Masson, Low, Jack, Hughes, Fraser & Clark scoring just 5 in 154 games between them (defender Reynolds scored the other) Is that 154 games in their entirety, or is that appearances? I imagine you've got 4 or 5 in there for McManus, totalling about 1/2 of football. Not that it is relevant, we know we don't get enough goals from midfield. We know that McGinn scored over 50% of our league goals this year. We know that Brown was too negative and hence we ended up with a goal:game ration less than 1. I don't think we needed a bored Scottish journalist to devise a table to realise any of that. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Quite interesting piece here showing the league table with all non-Scottish player's goals omitted. As suspected, we could have been right in the shecht wi'oot Niall's goals. http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/aberdeen/229310-who-would-have-won-the-spl-if-only-goals-from-scottish-players-counted/? Look at the amount of draws. Only Hibs had more wins than draws. Link to comment
pol_1903 Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 Quite interesting piece here showing the league table with all non-Scottish player's goals omitted. As suspected, we could have been right in the shecht wi'oot Niall's goals. http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/aberdeen/229310-who-would-have-won-the-spl-if-only-goals-from-scottish-players-counted/?Really interesting to see it like that and not surprised we are bottom! 1 Link to comment
boboisared Posted June 14, 2013 Share Posted June 14, 2013 It's about as interesting as a night out with Bluto. 1 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 15, 2013 Share Posted June 15, 2013 It's about as interesting as a night out with Bluto.Hoorin interesting?Ye need ti spilll the beans. I've nae been on a night oot wi him.Recommended?Seems a decent sort. Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2 Link to comment
MMG Posted June 15, 2013 Share Posted June 15, 2013 Quite interesting piece here showing the league table with all non-Scottish player's goals omitted. As suspected, we could have been right in the shecht wi'oot Niall's goals. http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/aberdeen/229310-who-would-have-won-the-spl-if-only-goals-from-scottish-players-counted/?Interestingly, if only goals scored by Irish players counted then we'd be top. Also if only goals scored by useless 6"3 Kiwi's counted then we'd also have won the league. If only goals by Stephen Hughes counted then we'd be joint bottom. 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 15, 2013 Share Posted June 15, 2013 Interestingly, if only goals scored by Irish players counted then we'd be top. Also if only goals scored by useless 6"3 Kiwi's counted then we'd also have won the league. If only goals by Stephen Hughes counted then we'd be joint bottom.FFS min. That's completely aff the scsle "interesting"! Good work. Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 15, 2013 Share Posted June 15, 2013 Interestingly, if only goals scored by Irish players counted then we'd be top. Also if only goals scored by useless 6"3 Kiwi's counted then we'd also have won the league. If only goals by Stephen Hughes counted then we'd be joint bottom.Magic. Link to comment
Jack_Glass Posted June 15, 2013 Share Posted June 15, 2013 Interestingly, if only goals scored by Irish players counted then we'd be top. Also if only goals scored by useless 6"3 Kiwi's counted then we'd also have won the league. If only goals by Stephen Hughes counted then we'd be joint bottom.ROFL... class Link to comment
newcastlered Posted June 15, 2013 Share Posted June 15, 2013 Never realised he was one of the celtic players sent bullets, now i hope mccourt doesn't wash up at pittodrie - who knows what we'll get in the mail Link to comment
a don in oz Posted June 16, 2013 Share Posted June 16, 2013 Interestingly, if only goals scored by Irish players counted then we'd be top. Also if only goals scored by useless 6"3 Kiwi's counted then we'd also have won the league. If only goals by Stephen Hughes counted then we'd be joint bottom. Brilliant! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted June 16, 2013 Share Posted June 16, 2013 Never realised he was one of the celtic players sent bullets, now i hope mccourt doesn't wash up at pittodrie - who knows what we'll get in the mail What... you think McCourt isn't already here? Who else do you think those mingers who parked their manky caravans in Hazelhead Academy ground were? Link to comment