Rds Upper To Close

I can't be arsed going to this open day pish.

Having a look at seats I might be able to get.

I don't like the view in the RDL and the SS is a crumbling shut pile with poor facilities and little catering.

PATG for me.

Fuck em.

Haha... all very comical guys. Have a laugh at the expense of your fellow (long suffering) supporters.

The guy from Pittodrie wasn't laughing when I explained that 6 season ticket holders of some 20 years were planning on rebelling against this current plan.

Not renewing your season ticket because of years and years of mediocrity, below par performances, inept management, poor players and humiliating cup exits - fair enough.

Not renewing your season ticket because the Club request you sit somewhere else at a discounted rate - too pathetic for words.

TBH the main reason I probably won't be renewing is because the football I've been watching has been, what I can best describe as pish.

Being asked to select an available seat with a view I'm happy with of what's available is just another annoyance.

Lets be honest, all the seats with a decent view are more than likely taken and I don't particularly want to potentially have to give up a seat in the SS should the tims roll into town.

If the football improves under McInnes then I'll be paying at the gate on a regular basis and seek a half ST.

I hope I'm convinced to do so.

Haha... all very comical guys. Have a laugh at the expense of your fellow (long suffering) supporters.

The guy from Pittodrie wasn't laughing when I explained that 6 season ticket holders of some 20 years were planning on rebelling against this current plan.

Obviously that's combining all your ages to get to that number, due to the strop you've had.

Should all get a decent rate in the Merkland.

Got coerced into going to look at alternative seating.

We've reserved some seats in the crumbling SS should we decide to renew.

There were a few folk there, and the ticket office seemed to still be in one piece, so I guess TWL hasn't been down yet.

Mentioned the fact that I hadn't been phoned about the top deck closing or heard anything about any survey.

And also about the lack of decent facilities (catering, toilets etc) and no bookies (although that's no real biggie).

Was told that there was a price freeze on ST's next season, so if I renew during early bird time it's 25% off.

Ultimately I just want a decent team on the pitch which I'll enjoy going to watch be that PATG or ST.

Thanks to those that are looking at this without the blinkers on. For those that are either fishing or just too petulant to observe the implications and reasoning behind this situation - all I can say is, take yersels tae F**K (in the nicest possible sense of course).

This has nothing to do with other supporters (or armchair fans as I'm sure most of you who are having a nice wee dig or two over this). But it has everything to do with those who run the club. As the guy in the Ticket Office said to me, losing one ST holder is one too many, so I'd like to think they may be slightly concerned (ie, their pulses may rise by 1bpm), when we challenged them about the manner in which this has been done, the REAL reasoning behind it (obviously slightly more than the fabled 'improving the atmosphere at the fans request' bull), and the fact current ST holders might just think this is 'the final straw'.

See, I don't need to justify myself to anyone on here, sorry, I just don't. If it sucks, I'll vote with my feet, as I'm sure quite a few others would do. I've sat in every single other part of the stadium at some stage since my old man started taking me to games. Indeed, my fondest memories were formed from nights in the South Stand, recalling the pinnacle of them all, against Bayern back in '83. But times change. A fan base, which let's face it, is hanging by a thread, needs very little indirect negative persuasion from the very institution that seeks to galvanise that support.

Thanks to those that are looking at this without the blinkers on. For those that are either fishing or just too petulant to observe the implications and reasoning behind this situation - all I can say is, take yersels tae F**K (in the nicest possible sense of course).

This has nothing to do with other supporters (or armchair fans as I'm sure most of you who are having a nice wee dig or two over this). But it has everything to do with those who run the club. As the guy in the Ticket Office said to me, losing one ST holder is one too many, so I'd like to think they may be slightly concerned (ie, their pulses may rise by 1bpm), when we challenged them about the manner in which this has been done, the REAL reasoning behind it (obviously slightly more than the fabled 'improving the atmosphere at the fans request' bull), and the fact current ST holders might just think this is 'the final straw'.

See, I don't need to justify myself to anyone on here, sorry, I just don't. If it sucks, I'll vote with my feet, as I'm sure quite a few others would do. I've sat in every single other part of the stadium at some stage since my old man started taking me to games. Indeed, my fondest memories were formed from nights in the South Stand, recalling the pinnacle of them all, against Bayern back in '83. But times change. A fan base, which let's face it, is hanging by a thread, needs very little indirect negative persuasion from the very institution that seeks to galvanise that support.

Cool.

Genuine Q to you here TWL, and this coming from a previous RDU ST holder - if the club was to come forward and say that by closing the RDU they would save £50k over the course of a season (heat & light, catering, stewarding, policing, cleaning, staffing) which could effectively increase the player wage budget, do you think this would appease any of those inconvenienced fans, yourself and your mates included, from the point of view that it is primarily a cost saving thing?

I'm glad that's all you've got to worry about.

Jesus

When i was a lad a Tiny Wee Lad, my father said to me

Come see the Dons the glorious Dons, down at pittodrie

I found me a seat that I consider my own

A loyal supporter it's really my throan.

Now the board have decided that i have to vacate

15% discount to help placate.

They call them the heathenly wankers,

A builder, accountant and bankers,

God speed the day when i'm on my way

To the Clansman on a Saturday.

What size discount is being offered?

Apologies if it's already mentioned.

15%

Decent. For every 7 who take that up they actually lose a season ticket + an additional 5%.

That's a brave move in itself.

Tinyweelad and his 5 professional friends not renewing theoretically saves us giving away 90% of a season ticket so therefore Tinyweelad you do the right thing and don't renew. Everyone's a winner.

I was told last night that its 15% as bripod stated.

That is at any stage of the offer.

So if you renew during the early bird period you're getting a 25% reduction in price, which isn't bad and like you say is actually hitting them in the pocket.

I've had a grumble, but like bri says I suppose its no real hardship in the grand scheme of things.

It's just the lack of decent catering and bog facilities.

My seat is reserved should I decide to go ahead and renew.

I'll give it some thought, as ultimately its the goings on, on the pitch which will decide if I renew, not where I sit.

Genuine Q to you here TWL, and this coming from a previous RDU ST holder - if the club was to come forward and say that by closing the RDU they would save £50k over the course of a season (heat & light, catering, stewarding, policing, cleaning, staffing) which could effectively increase the player wage budget, do you think this would appease any of those inconvenienced fans, yourself and your mates included, from the point of view that it is primarily a cost saving thing?

In many respects, honesty can go a long, long way in life. The club have been guilty of being two faced, and telling mistruths to us for years now. This is just one occasion in a long list that I can recall.

So yes, I and my other colleagues, would have been left feeling slightly less resentful, had they came out with a more valid reason for shutting the stand. That said, I would have to say that 50k in the grand scheme of things, when we're losing millions, is a drop in the ocean. Rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic is a phrase I use far too often with AFC.

Decent. For every 7 who take that up they actually lose a season ticket + an additional 5%.

Tinyweelad and his 5 professional friends not renewing theoretically saves us giving away 90% of a season ticket so therefore Tinyweelad you do the right thing and don't renew. Everyone's a winner.

The only slight flaw in your argument is that it costs nothing to allow people in to the stadium. The seats are there, the players, lighting etc, are on regardless. So there is no 'cost saving' to be made at all. The club only stand to make up a shortfall based on the overheads of players costs, staffing, etc, so the more that pay, the closer we are to break even/profit. Hence the reason why it does no harm to fill the stadium with kids given free tickets. The only people that grumble about this, as the ST holders who think their ST is being devalued.

But hey, here's a suggestion - if they were so hellbent on driving through change to try and 'improve the atmosphere', then why don't they allow current ST holders the chance to move, and those who take up the offer, get 15% discount. Those that don't want to move, can stay put. Therefore, the proof of the pudding is in allowing fans the opportunity to make the choice for themselves. If their calculations, based on surveys, are correct, the vast majority will move!!

Of course, that would never work as the club want the stand shut for reasons other than those supplied in a letter to ST holders, and lapped up by fat ex postie and others in the media.

15%

Pretty good point - when it all adds up are we realyl saving much money at all? 0 on turnstyles, 0 on food as outsourced, handful of stewards and couple of folk to clean up (who be doing rest of stadium anyway).

I'm in the South Stand and the noise from upper RD is non existent. Not being controversial just saying it is quiet.

What gets me though is that a guy sitting next to me next season moving from RDU gets his ticket cheaper than me which I think is pish.

If the team start playing properly then the deck will reopen so let's hope it does.