Sartorial Advice (Need New Winter / Rain Jacket)

Clydeside_Sheep

Neither boofon, nor you nor mini from this conflab are in any place to come the high ground on posting stuff here.

Mini using the word mongo. For a start.

You plus 1ing him.

A fat waste of space adult mocking a down syndrome kid is well out of order.

I'm glad you have finally admitted that you have downs, spuggy!!

Great choice CS and I agree with DD1903. I'm in the market for a Greenland Winter and am waiting for feedback from the states from where I hope to get one for £150..

Thanks Hulk!

£150 would be a great price for the fleece lined version! What site is that from? I think about £240 was the best UK price I saw.

I went for the non-lined version just now, as there is enough strain on my bank account for the minute! (Also I overheat easily and think the fleece would be "too much" for me right now, although it would be really great in the winter months.)

Is the fleece lining detachable?

Cheers!

Thanks Hulk!

£150 would be a great price for the fleece lined version! What site is that from? I think about £240 was the best UK price I saw.

I went for the non-lined version just now, as there is enough strain on my bank account for the minute! (Also I overheat easily and think the fleece would be "too much" for me right now, although it would be really great in the winter months.)

Is the fleece lining detachable?

Cheers!

Out of stock at the £150 ($245) place, shockerooney. There is a light blue one on sale from a Canadian place on ebay for £111.

Fleece is not detachable, that's why I wanted the Dunderdon J83, whose fleece was detachable but I think they must be discontinued.

Saw a small and medium in black in Cotswold in Union square yesterday for £230, was tempting. Definitely get a size smaller than you normally do, meant for plenty layers under so are on the big size.

Surely if a winter jacket is worth its salt then you wouldn't have to wear any extra layers underneath it? You should by rights be able to go naked under said jacket, LGIR style.

I would just like to draw attention to the fact that Tiso and/or Fjallraven are lying bastards.

On buying the jacket, I was told it came with two coats of wax on it already. Was there f*ck two coats of wax on that.

Sunday afternoon I set off, striding towards the town centre and the rain starts. Great I thought - "do your worst rain" etc.

And it did - I was f*cking "drookit" to use Oor Wullie terminology.

The rain came through the jacket, like a hot knife through butter. The hood / neck, forearms and a large circle around the mid-torso were the worst affected areas - my pot belly was soaked.

Raging. I would have been far drier, had I quickly fashioned a crude shelter using my own pubes.

So I can only deduce that the pre-applied wax is a brief automated spray, a token gesture, in no way a proper application.

Last night I decided to wax it myself - and what a tedious and fiddly job that was. However, the texture of the material now feels far more "waterproofy" and I await the next rain to see how good a job I have done.

(Actually think ive overdone it slightly, as the jacket is a wee bit streaky looking, but I dont give a damn as long as it keeps the rain oot!).

I would just like to draw attention to the fact that Tiso and/or Fjallraven are lying bastards.

On buying the jacket, I was told it came with two coats of wax on it already. Was there f*ck two coats of wax on that.

Sunday afternoon I set off, striding towards the town centre and the rain starts. Great I thought - "do your worst rain" etc.

The rain came through the jacket, like a hot knife through butter. The hood / neck, forearms and a large circle around the mid-torso were the worst affected areas - my pot belly was soaked.

Raging. I would have been far drier, had I quickly fashioned a crude shelter using my own pubes.

So I can only deduce that the pre-applied wax is a brief automated spray, a token gesture, in no way a proper application.

Last night I decided to wax it myself - and what a tedious and fiddly job that was. However, the texture of the material now feels far more "waterproofy" and I await the next rain to see how good a job I have done.

(Actually think ive overdone it slightly, as the jacket is a wee bit streaky looking, but I dont give a damn as long as it keeps the rain oot!).

I'd have taken it back personally.

At 240 quid I would have been back at tiso looking for my cash back and buying something else.

Ah, mine didnt cost nearly that much - thats for the greenland winter jacket, mine is just the basic greenland.

(The "winter" version has sheepskin lining, but I understand its not removeable, and so for this time of year I prefered just the basic version).

I dont think I would have been able to take it back anyway - that the factory applied wax wasnt brilliant doesnt actually constitue a fault with the item, and I would have needed to wax it myself at some point anyway.

(you are supposed to apply/remove wax as you will, to suit the weather - it comes off if you wash it at 40 C).

Ah, mine didnt cost nearly that much - thats for the greenland winter jacket, mine is just the basic greenland.

(The "winter" version has sheepskin lining, but I understand its not removeable, and so for this time of year I prefered just the basic version).

I dont think I would have been able to take it back anyway - that the factory applied wax wasnt brilliant doesnt actually constitue a fault with the item, and I would have needed to wax it myself at some point anyway.

(you are supposed to apply/remove wax as you will, to suit the weather - it comes off if you wash it at 40 C).

Aye it does. If you've not washed it and it soaks through then the wax is not good enough.

Well, 175 then! I'd still be taking it back for at least a replacement. If it's sold for rain proof/resistant and it leaks, then it's faulty. Get them

'telt'!