Bluto10 Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 Nae worries tutu min. Food and drink ate one of my many specialities a d hobbies.Similar to architecture, history, literature and others. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 4, 2015 Share Posted February 4, 2015 We were in Lidl the other day and, as usual, we raided the "30% cheaper" freezer - various stuff which is on a short date and they are trying to punt. We got two fillet steaks for about £8 total. Wife estimated a single one of them would have been £10 out of Marks and Sparks. We had them tonight, twas effing delicious - I clearly know nothing about steak, but still steak seems so hit and miss, and I don't like gambling when it comes to food. Peoples lives, maybe, but never my own meals. Wife said mine was "well done" (no pink) yet it was still juicy and tender. Delicious. Much better than the raw meat ("roast beef" apparently) that her aunt served me at the weekend (I was disgusted). Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 We were in Lidl the other day and, as usual, we raided the "30% cheaper" freezer - various stuff which is on a short date and they are trying to punt. We got two fillet steaks for about £8 total. Wife estimated a single one of them would have been £10 out of Marks and Sparks. We had them tonight, twas effing delicious - I clearly know nothing about steak, but still steak seems so hit and miss, and I don't like gambling when it comes to food. Peoples lives, maybe, but never my own meals. Wife said mine was "well done" (no pink) yet it was still juicy and tender. Delicious. Much better than the raw meat ("roast beef" apparently) that her aunt served me at the weekend (I was disgusted). Mink. Link to comment
the_shrimp Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 I had a steak the night before the semi last Friday - canna mine the name of the place but it was next door to Slouch bar on Bath Street. ...had the ribeye - medium rare with triple cooked chips. Fine!! It came with a choice of either peppercorn sauce, smoked butter or bone marrow reduction. I'm 27 and I pick fatty bone gravy every opportunity. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 I bought some Jack Daniels haliberino sauce last time i was home in tesco affa fine Usually i just have it with Mustard or Pepper sauce Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 I assume you are single? Or a chef, maybe chefs do this?Debatable.Not a chef. Had a sirloin steak in "The Butchers Shop" restaurant in Glasgow Sunday night, it was great but the lidl fillet wasn't a million miles away. Also had a steak in some cafe/restaurant in Glasgow called "A Bar Crombys" chosen eatery while pished and it was getting late. The steak was mediocre at best. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Had a sirloin with honey and blue cheese sauce at Granite Park a couple of weeks ago. It was fantastic so that's now my favourite sauce with a steak. Great restaurant. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 I bought some Jack Daniels haliberino sauce last time i was home in tesco affa fine Aye you canna beat sauce from a bottle with a fine cut of meat like 3 Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 Choked on it when I was a kid and scared to eat it sinceSince dropping the pounds I'm guessing you chew your food now? 4 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 You need to lay off the steak and switch to corned beef to save for your house min. Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 You need to lay off the steak and switch to corned beef to save for your house min. My folks often have to watch the kids for an hour or so in between me finishing work and my girlfriend starting hers. I often get my supper/dinner/tea then. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 5, 2015 Share Posted February 5, 2015 My folks often have to watch the kids for an hour or so in between me finishing work and my girlfriend starting hers. I often get my supper/dinner/tea then. Top mooching. :trophy: Link to comment
Henry Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Logan, Hayes, Rooney, Anderson, Reynolds, McInnes and Milne cook steak at the Nick Nairn cookery school place: http://www.scotsman.com/video/entertainment-and-lifestyle/big-dinner-aberdeen-fc-cook-steak-4051331285001 Nick reckons we'll win the league Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2015 Share Posted February 13, 2015 Logan, Hayes, Rooney, Anderson, Reynolds, McInnes and Milne cook steak at the Nick Nairn cookery school place: http://www.scotsman.com/video/entertainment-and-lifestyle/big-dinner-aberdeen-fc-cook-steak-4051331285001 Nick reckons we'll win the league Welcome to last week Harcus Link to comment
360 Posted February 13, 2015 Author Share Posted February 13, 2015 Or as it's known as in Orkney... the distant future. Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 14, 2015 Share Posted February 14, 2015 45 respondents. and preference by total number of respondents. overwhelmingly medium rare. We need to talk about your graphing technique. Link to comment
Oregon Red Posted February 14, 2015 Share Posted February 14, 2015 f*ckin 50 and nae steak any mair. Nae reid meat. Mostly vegetarian diet wie a wee bit chicken and fish.Health reasons.F*ckin Doctors Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted February 14, 2015 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 14, 2015 f*ckin 50 and nae steak any mair. Nae reid meat. Mostly vegetarian diet wie a wee bit chicken and fish.Health reasons.F*ckin DoctorsWere you telt to cut back red meat or did you decide, OR? Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 14, 2015 Share Posted February 14, 2015 ah hud steak tonight. sirloin, with lots of fat through it and aged. like cutting a knife through hot butter, as one of bennet's goons might say. I find sirloin the tastiest. nothing will beat the T-bone a had at wolfgangs in nyc. that's a steak. I like it rare. medium rare is good as well. Link to comment
Oregon Red Posted February 14, 2015 Share Posted February 14, 2015 Were you telt to cut back red meat or did you decide, OR?Both..also the girlfriend had been bitchin about me staying healthy.So i kept the beer and dropped the red meat Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted February 14, 2015 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 14, 2015 Both..also the girlfriend had been bitchin about me staying healthy.So i kept the beer and dropped the red meatGood choice. Circa 1982 since I ate steak. Still drinking beer though Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted February 15, 2015 Share Posted February 15, 2015 Seared two steaks last night in my annual attempt at cooking.Mines was done to perfection, hers was as black as the Ace Of Spades. Only 364 days till I'm allowed to try again Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 2 Steak burgers for din dins tonight. Already can't wait. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 2 Steak burgers for din dins tonight. Already can't wait. Mink. Steak burgers? Nae a kick in the arse off a mock-chop thon. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 Mink. Steak burgers? Nae a kick in the arse off a mock-chop thon. Looked fine in the butchers. Will let you know tomorrow of course. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 Looked fine in the butchers. Will let you know tomorrow of course. What you having with them?I ordered a steak burger the other week at a pub when out for lunch. Imagine my disappointment when it came back and it was just a bit of frying steak in a bun, nae a burger at all. Won't be back. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 What you having with them?I ordered a steak burger the other week at a pub when out for lunch. Imagine my disappointment when it came back and it was just a bit of frying steak in a bun, nae a burger at all. Won't be back. Undecided in all honesty. Perhaps some potato salad. Any advice? Since you love talking about food and all Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 Get some of your male neighbours round and have a game of "spunky steak-burger," a bit like the "spunky biscuit," urban myth of yesteryear. At least I hope it was a myth and no-one actually played it. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted February 16, 2015 Share Posted February 16, 2015 Get some of your male neighbours round and have a game of "spunky steak-burger," a bit like the "spunky biscuit," urban myth of yesteryear. At least I hope it was a myth and no-one actually played it. A video was doing the rounds a few years ago of said game unfortunately. The loser said he lost deliberately Link to comment
Studebaker-90 Posted October 8, 2019 Share Posted October 8, 2019 Sirloin. 10 oz. Medium Rare with chunky chips and peppercorn sauce (veg optional). Like so Link to comment