Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

Just now, afc1903mad said:

A ludicrous comparison

Not really. 

Managers get credit for developing players when it suits your argument but not when it doesn't. 

Do you think all  young players are handed over to managers ready made for senior football or do they still need to be educated and nurtured during the transition to becoming regular senior players? 

Incidentally on your “no Motherwell fans chasing him out the door”

https://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/16444-stephen-robinson-resignation-discussion/

Just to bring a previous thread up to date, with Holt doing the honourable thing at Livi and them bucking up, albeit against Ayr, is it time for ROBBO to do the honourable thing and go. I think yes and also think Keith has to go to, he must have an input, but what is it because it's certainly not team selection or tactics. 

8 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Did he play them and help their development as senior players? 

Kids don't get handed over to first team managers as finished articles. 

Folk can't give McInnes a hard time for allegedly not developing youth players and then give another manager a hard time for doing exactly that. 

Chucked them in as he had to. 

McInnes gets a hard time as he's been at the club for long enough to have had plenty of impact on our youth setup - which appears to be bang average 

Another beuty

https://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/16444-stephen-robinson-resignation-discussion/&do=findComment&comment=564928

At last yer talking sense Smiddy but how long will it take the rest of the happy clappers tae wise up tae fact that Robinson knows SFA aboot fitba and wouldnae know a player if he bit him on the arse .I honestly believe that if the fans had been in the ground at the start of the season he would be away by now . At least Holt did the honourable thing and walked away but this wee clown will hold on for dear life cause he knows this will be his last gig ,but as sure as night follows day someone will post but he took us to cup finals and finished third last season .Want tae bet on that ?Anyway good tae have u back and talking sense 

4 minutes ago, DD1903 said:

Chucked them in as he had to. 

McInnes gets a hard time as he's been at the club for long enough to have had plenty of impact on our youth setup - which appears to be bang average 

Apart from bringing through a player who became our record sale , developing Wright who we are starting to see the positives of etc

On youth he also bought a 50k lower league player who turned in to a (at least) 2.7 million player.  Ferguson etc who he signed cheap and made much better players.

2 hours ago, afc1903mad said:

The question is out as to whether He had it in him to turn around Motherwell’s poor performance.

7th, 8th, 3rd(in a curtailed season) and now 10th (as it stands)

He hinted in his last press conference about the limitations of his squad, I reckon he’s went to the board (fan ownership) and told there is no magic budget for him to buy his way out of it, so jumped ship. Surely the captain of the ship (if he had the qualities) would have stayed to steady said ship.

He was fortunate to have some good youth in the ranks when he came on board and was forced to play them so they could be sold to clear the interest free  debts.

Lasley will likely get the job and if he manages likes he plays, it could be not good for Motherwell. People will then point to Robinson and the good job he did for 3/4 of one season. That’s not the full story though

Fully agree with this.

Check Motherwell forums anyone who believes the opposite. Plenty Motherwell fans didnt rate Robinson for much of his time.

9 minutes ago, afc_blockhead said:

Apart from bringing through a player who became our record sale , developing Wright who we are starting to see the positives of etc

On youth he also bought a 50k lower league player who turned in to a (at least) 2.7 million player.  Ferguson etc who he signed cheap and made much better players.

Ferguson was already a first team player with Hamilton. 

He wanted to get rid of McKenna. 

wright!? Pahahaha. C'mon now. 

14 hours ago, DD1903 said:

Ferguson was already a first team player with Hamilton. 

He wanted to get rid of McKenna. 

wright!? Pahahaha. C'mon now. 

Mckenna he put in the fucking team and kept him there. "Wanted to get rid of Mckenna" .

Ferguson had played less than 20 first team games.

By all means take apart someones record but shite like he "wanted to get rid of" someone who he chose to give his break and keep him in the team is clearly horseshit.

Also he is giving a decent amount of playing time to the likes of Campbell and Mclennan now (both very much have it all to prove) and the likes of Anderson who he got criticised for not playing is vindicating him by being horseshit at Ayr.

Maybe he plays the only decent ones coming through and spots the shite!

13 minutes ago, afc_blockhead said:

Mckenna he put in the fucking team and kept him there. "Wanted to get rid of Mckenna" .

Ferguson had played less than 20 first team games.

By all means take apart someones record but shite like he "wanted to get rid of" someone who he chose to give his break and keep him in the team is clearly horseshit.

Also he is giving a decent amount of playing time to the likes of Campbell and Mclennan now (both very much have it all to prove) and the likes of Anderson who he got criticised for not playing is vindicating him by being horseshit at Ayr.

Maybe he plays the only decent ones coming through and spots the shite!

McKenna would have been fired to Livingston if he'd had his phone on.

ferguson had still played first team games

ive never rated Anderson, but he's barely played him. 

3 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

Needs to go. Won't happen, but needs to happen. 

The fact we're third is because if how shit the league is. It is isn't a noteworthy achievement. 

This ^^^
But it’s the ceiling of the clubs ambitions.

All this garbage about entertaining football that was put on the website in pre-season...... absolute bollocks

There’s been very little for 2 years now. 

Bit if we finish 3rd then he’ll be here next season too. 

30 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

This ^^^
But it’s the ceiling of the clubs ambitions.

All this garbage about entertaining football that was put on the website in pre-season...... absolute bollocks

There’s been very little for 2 years now. 

Bit if we finish 3rd then he’ll be here next season too. 

The football in the main has been terrible since the 2017 cup final, we had a couple of months this season where it looked Ok with Watkins in the team but has now returned to the garbage we are used to. We can only hope Cormack can get rid of Mcinnes in the summer but I doubt it

8 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

He’ll stay because we’ll probably finish 3rd. 

If we finish 3rd and a top three team win the scottish cup then we'll be putting the flags out which delays any manager worries for 6 months and takes us nicely in to affording to sack him territory. 

Fingers crossed for a hibs implosion and the top three dont make an arse of the scottish cup

6 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

It's painful.

We have plenty good creative players and he cant organise them to do anything. Our strikers are shite but i'm not convinced thats the problem

I'm totally with you on this one Tord. 

He just can't put together a creative team even when he has creative players at the club. . Wouldn't matter how big a budget or how many players he has. 

Even his best team here was essentially a (pretty good admittedly) counter attacking team. 

3 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

It's painful.

We have plenty good creative players and he cant organise them to do anything. Our strikers are shite but i'm not convinced thats the problem

It absolutely is. Since Watkins got injured performances have dropped drastically. Cosgrove and Main are at times like playing with a man down. Its that bad.

If we finish 3rd and a top three team win the scottish cup then we'll be putting the flags out which delays any manager worries for 6 months and takes us nicely in to affording to sack him territory. 

Fingers crossed for a hibs implosion and the top three dont make an arse of the scottish cup

Yay... Go AtlantaDeen for a QR3 exit in Europe

8 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Yay... Go AtlantaDeen for a QR3 exit in Europe

Scottish Cup winner is guaranteed european fitba july-december. 

Probably will be gretna knowing our luck but surely the bookies would guess it'd be one of the ugly sisters and we are there in third place to lap it up

Scottish Cup winner is guaranteed european fitba july-december. 

Probably will be gretna knowing our luck but surely the bookies would guess it'd be one of the ugly sisters and we are there in third place to lap it up

It doesn’t.

it gives us two play-off opportunities to get to the group stages

we’d need to win one of those rounds

6 minutes ago, afc1903mad said:

It doesn’t.

it gives us two play-off opportunities to get to the group stages

we’d need to win one of those rounds

Nae you again. Trust me the Scottish cup winner will be bumped up to PO europa, lose it and enjoy the delights of the other tournament

Its a racing certainty it ends up being someone like Gretna

Nae you again. Trust me the Scottish cup winner will be bumped up to PO europa, lose it and enjoy the delights of the other tournament

Yeah, you keep saying the same error, so I point it out

To be guaranteed group stage football, Scotland need to be ranked 12th. For the 2021/22 season Scotland are ranked 14th.

There is one spot available to be bumped because there in no Europa conference League winners, but that will go to 13th spot.

Currently were trending in 11th spot as a nation, so that would mean in the 2022/23 season, the SC winners / 3rd would be guaranteed European Group Stage football

2 minutes ago, afc1903mad said:

Yeah, you keep saying the same error, so I point it out

To be guaranteed group stage football, Scotland need to be ranked 12th. For the 2021/22 season Scotland are ranked 14th.

There is one spot available to be bumped because there in no Europa conference League winners, but that will go to 13th spot.

Currently were trending in 11th spot as a nation, so that would mean in the 2022/23 season, the SC winners / 3rd would be guaranteed European Group Stage football

Do you see bert kassies has now updated his site to show the scottish team in PO round?

it's not certain but its what a lot of the boffins (not boofon's) think will happen