Proposed new stadium, by Aberdeen beach

2 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Its seen its day and is now a crumbling shithole.

Maybe, maybe not!! We won't be staying at Pittodrie though, thats an absolute certainty.

I'll bet you a grand we're still at Pittodrie in 5 years?

....and probably still be wasting money on feasibility studies and the like.

48 minutes ago, sooth_stander said:

No brainer. People say the proximity of the streets behind the Main and Merkland stands prohibits their replacement but look at Easter Rd, and how Hibs managed it? We've arguably got even more depth than they have, to build steep, even 2 tier, stands in their place.

Because they started their redevelopment in 1995 and finished it by 2010, thus managing to avoid the new regulations that Boofon mentioned in his answer. 

Remember also that redeveloping Easter Road wasn't Hibs' first choice. They really wanted to sell up and move to a new build stadium at Straiton and only abandoned that plan (eventually) when Lothian cooncil refused to let the rest of the proposed site be used for commercial development and couldn't be persuaded to relent.

Redeveloping Pittodrie will leave us with around a 12-13k sized stadium. It's time folk accepted that fact and move on from it. We need to move. 

6 minutes ago, NEM said:

I'll bet you a grand we're still at Pittodrie in 5 years?

....and probably still be wasting money on feasibility studies and the like.

No thanks as i've no confidence we wont still be at Pittodrie in 5 years, we will move eventually though. The whole thing has been a shambles for 20 years, Pittodrie should be executive flats by now.

12 minutes ago, Redtillimdead said:

Was never gonna happen at the beach. It's time to start looking at Kingsford again. 

If the council are not supporting this beach development after begging the club to go for it then fuck them and get Kingsford done.

It will make going to the game a bit harder for many and it will also benefit many. Swings and roundabouts.

2 hours ago, Ten Caat said:

Because they started their redevelopment in 1995 and finished it by 2010, thus managing to avoid the new regulations that Boofon mentioned in his answer. 

Remember also that redeveloping Easter Road wasn't Hibs' first choice. They really wanted to sell up and move to a new build stadium at Straiton and only abandoned that plan (eventually) when Lothian cooncil refused to let the rest of the proposed site be used for commercial development and couldn't be persuaded to relent.

Redeveloping Pittodrie will leave us with around a 12-13k sized stadium. It's time folk accepted that fact and move on from it. We need to move. 

So what about Tynecastle, who Hearts only finished their Slough style main stand a yr or so ago - although some say work is still going on? 
They are as similarly constrained as Hibs, in terms of proximity to the pitch from the stands and also outside, surrounding the stands. How have they got round regs if they’re new stand is not long completed?

2 hours ago, NEM said:

Ah well staying at Pittodrie it is then 😎

Fuck the council

Aye, get it rebuilt over a 10 year period, just like i suggested 15 years ago

2 hours ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Its seen its day and is now a crumbling shithole.

Shut up you bent shot teuchter.

Pittodrie is fucking brilliant due to its location.

Its somewhere we go for 2hrs once a fortnight to watch fitba in between meeting mates, drinking pints and having a laugh, its nae far you go for 2 wiks holiday. 

If you don't get that, you won't get football.

• Dildo 2
1 minute ago, Betty Swallicks said:

Its somewhere we go for 2hrs once a fortnight to watch fitba in between meeting mates, drinking pints and having a laugh, its nae far you go for 2 wiks holiday. 

Aye. 

Half the folk pushing for a new stadium won't even set foot in it. 

They just want something that looks good when they watch the games on TV as some sort of vanity project

• Dildo 2
14 minutes ago, Betty Swallicks said:

The location may be ‘brilliant’… that doesn’t change the fact it’s a neglected, crumbling dump. We can’t build a new stadium there or renovate it without dramatically reducing the capacity. We won’t be staying at Pittodrie no matter how brilliant the location is. Sorry to disappoint you Betty.

• Dildo 3
14 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Aye. 

Half the folk pushing for a new stadium won't even set foot in it. 

They just want something that looks good when they watch the games on TV as some sort of vanity project

I’ll set foot in it because I’ll support Aberdeen Football Club whether they’re in the city centre or a 5 miles out of it. All real fans will still go no matter where it’s built.

• Upvote 6
  • Dildo 2